We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest place in Espanola” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pinewood Motor Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Espanola
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pinewood Motor Inn
Save
You added Pinewood Motor Inn to your Saves list
378 Centre St, Espanola, Ontario P5E 1G3 , Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Wi-Fi
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Espanola
Toronto, Ontario
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nicest place in Espanola”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Good quality hotel in small-town Northern Ontario. Rooms are pretty nice and staff were pleasant. Overall a good place to stay. We had rooms on the main floor with access to parking out back. There is a decent restaurant as well but we decided to try another place down the street which was probably a mistake.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    21
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
19
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wallaceburg, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The Pinewood was clean the rooms were large and the breakfast was hot and filling. It was was not exceptional in any way but if you need a place to lay your head you could do a lot worse. I would recommend this hotel for a quick overnight stay. The town of Espanola reaked due to the paper mill.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Our stay began on an accommodating note when we arrived before the normal check-in time but we were given early check-in to Room 51, ground floor, on the front of the Hotel. There were only 2 pillows and a request at front desk brought us 2 more. The room is quite large with an outside door. We parked within a few feet of it. There is also a door at the back of the room to a hallway that leads to the restaurant, bar and main lobby. That is great in inclement weather.

The room itself is well appointed with lots of wood and green. There is a large TV and a fireplace. The furniture gives the room a cozy lodge effect. It is very clean. The washroom seem a little dated, but again, it was very clean.

We would have given the property an excellent rating except for a few issues, the most serious of which is the room's lighting. We entered at mid day but the room was totally dark. There are no overhead lights. With the drapes closed for privacy and all lights on, we found the room very dark.

The room's door locks were temperamental and are still key activated rather than card activated. I haven't used a key in a hotel in years. Although there is internet, the hotel does not have a business center. There is good in-room coffee but no complimentary onsite continental breakfast as most hotels now have. And... senior travelers, forget about a senior's discount here. There isn't one. This is Espanola. They are clearly the best choice in town and they do offer decent value at the price. We would stay again if we come this way in the future.

Room Tip: This is a pulp mill town. Sometimes you may smell it. Keep the door closed. It isn't particular...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We attended a golf tournament in Espanola and always stay here. Our past experiences have been very positive-great food , good rooms, very friendly service, clean, reasonable rates. The owner-Mario-even took time to come out and say hello. There were 6guys in two rooms and everyone was totally pleased. For 3 of the guys, this was their first time and all said they would stay again and also recommend

Room Tip: The even numbered rooms are on the back so it is quieter but the front is good as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We were looking for somewhere to stay on our road trip from Toronto to Sault Ste Marie, but most of the places on the way had terrible reviews on TripAdvisor! We chose this as the best reviewed one, and were really impressed. It looks much like any motel from the street (though most motels in this area look very run-down), but inside, the rooms are large and well-furnished, spotlessly clean and nicely decorated. We had dinner in the motel's restaurant, and it was really excellent. The decor and atmosphere are very nice. My husband had the prime rib, the house speciality, and it was both enormous and succulent, also cooked to perfection. I had the walnut crusted trout, which was delicious and served with a delicately flavoured rice and lovely fresh vegetables. The apple pie dessert we shared was to die for! The staff here are very friendly, our waitress was really helpful in explaining the different dishes (there are lots of different steaks to choose from). Also it is excellent value for money. We paid $105 inc tax for our room and $60 for the meal including drinks. We would recommend this place very highly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timmins
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Was Very Impressed with our room and the Price! We were in Espanola Aug 3rd for Antique car show in Little Currant that weekend. Motel was on the Main street, and they were Very helpful in letting us Park 2 Car Haulers in the parking lot in our plain view. Reserved 2 rooms,both rooms were very tastfully decorated AND Very clean. Our room had 2 queen Sleigh beds a Big Leather chair and Ottoman, fire place and some antique furniture, And a Keurig coffee maker!.VERY Nice! All for under $100 including tax. Wow!

Room Tip: Room 23 main floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

stayed at the pinewood aug 2 3 4 5 2012 myself and boyfriend did not get the right room the room we got was ok but the cleaning was terrible we actly had to go to office on the 4th and ask what they do when they clean a room. garbage can overflowing ashtray not emptied did not vaccum carpet was not inpressed at all. not sure if i would stay there again . main office staff was very pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pinewood Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinewood Motor Inn

Address: 378 Centre St, Espanola, Ontario P5E 1G3 , Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Espanola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Espanola
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Espanola on Hwy. 6, the Pinewood Motor Inn is a modern full-service motor inn with 51 rooms. The restaurant and lounge features a beautiful fireplace setting and offers a wide variety of foods to please the family palate and the family budget: Prime Rib is our house specialty. We have meeting rooms and banquet facilities for small and large groups, including weddings. For your outdoor enjoyment, we have some of the best snowmobiling and quad trails in Ontario. We are situated close to a golf course and the beach.Free high speed wireless is available in all rooms.We have a registered massage therapist on site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pinewood Motor Inn Espanola, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pinewood Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.