We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wet weekend in November” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saronsberg Vineyard Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Saronsberg Vineyard Cottages to your Saves list
Saronsberg Vineyard Cottages
3.5 of 5 Cottage   |   Waveren Road, Tulbagh 6820, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
“Wet weekend in November”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

While accommodation was very good... even though it is totally self-catering tea coffee and milk or creamer would have been nice. One sachet of coffee and two tea bags with no creamer was a little sparse.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah n, Manager at Saronsberg Vineyard Cottages, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Pam

Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate your comments! The Saronsberg team wishes you a merry Christmas and hopes to be able to welcome you again in the new year.

Kind regards
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    37
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
40
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Very, very basic accommodation. Got blasts of cold water in the shower, I think that the "neighbours" were trying to shower at the same time.
Coffee provided but no creamer. I don't like black coffee.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah n, Manager at Saronsberg Vineyard Cottages, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Meryl

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. My apologies for not providing creamer in your cottage. It normally is provided by us and it should have been in your cottage on arrival.
Kind regards
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Relaxed atmosphere with real farm life experience. Staff was helpfull and friendly, we also booked/bought a couple of bottles of wine, which our hostess Sarah place in the fridge to be chilled for our arrival.
Staying amongst the vineyards has a special atmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah n, Manager at Saronsberg Vineyard Cottages, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you Herman & Desiré for the positive review! We hope to be able to welcome you back soon. Kind regards Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

loved the place, Graig Bryant and I had such a wonderful relaxing time we were very impressed by how all the cutlery glassware and crockery was there the bed was really comfy and the sitting area is perect. we will definitely come back again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah n, Manager at Saronsberg Vineyard Cottages, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Graig

Thank you very much for staying with us. We are delighted that you had a lovely stay and hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The cottage was very nice just the bugs an flies in and around cottage was unpleasant .for entertainment maybe a tv .I would come again nice place
To recommend to people .me and my gf will surely be visiting again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah n, Manager at Saronsberg Vineyard Cottages, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your review Ashley. We hope to be able to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We travelled as a couple of friends for a wedding in Tulbagh.

The cottages were very good value for money. Service was excellent. We had the option of double or single beds for the rooms. Its close to Tulbagh.

The rooms were neat and beds incredibly comfortable.

The living area and kitchenette also has a fireplace.

Overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah n, Manager at Saronsberg Vineyard Cottages, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you Anja for taking the time to post a review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. See you again soon.

Kind regards
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This is great accommodation in a wonderful setting. The cottage is well equipped and very spacious. This is real value for money and we will return.
We enjoyed walking in the vineyard and watching the sunset.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah n, Manager at Saronsberg Vineyard Cottages, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for the kind words. We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saronsberg Vineyard Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saronsberg Vineyard Cottages

Address: Waveren Road, Tulbagh 6820, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Tulbagh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Tulbagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Saronsberg Vineyard Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated, cosy and well-equipped 1 or 2 bedroom self-catering cottages, most with en-suite bathroom, spacious open plan kitchen, lounge and dining area with a high, arched ceiling invite to relax and unwind with friends and family. All units are fully equipped and have their own built in fireplace/BBQ that makes both winter and summer the ideal place to enjoy the breathtaking views of our stunning valley over a glass of award winning Saronsberg wine. We provide all linen and towels as well as complimentary amenities. Most beds can be changed from King-size to single beds to best suit your individual needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Saronsberg Vineyard Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saronsberg Vineyard Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.