We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really interesting menu!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Readers Restaurant

Readers Restaurant
12 Church Street, Tulbagh 6820, South Africa
+27 232300087
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Tulbagh
Price range: $6 - $12
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Continental, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The oldest house in Church Street , Tulbagh – Readers. Offering simple, outstanding local and global cuisine, has been able to maintain a standard of excellence that has created a notable reputation with both locals and tourists. The cuisine varies on a daily basis depending on the availability of fresh produce. This provides Carol Collins – Silwood trained Cordon Bleu Chef -a certain challenge in ensuring the creation of dishes using imagination, flair and superb presentation. Certain dishes have become trademarks at Readers but the focus remains on variety, fusion of flavours and combination of unusual ingredients.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Really interesting menu!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We loved the South African flavours and meats on the menu - we had Kudu carpaccio starter with asparagus and then the Wildebeest fillet in Amarula and gooseberry sauce and a Pulled Pork with apple and vegetables for main. The service by Karlina was excellent and all the courses were very good (the pork dish needed a touch gravy for the veg which were a bit dry, but I might have brought that on myself as I asked for a non-dairy meal, so possibly the kitchen had to remove the usual butter or sauce).
The dining area is very elegant - beautiful old wood tables with white linen runners and lovely cutlery.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolJCollins, Owner at Readers Restaurant, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you for writing this review - always great to get positive and negative feedback. Please let me know when back in Tulbagh so can plan a non dairy menu and meal specially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    34
    8
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chorley
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“So disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

After all the good reviews we had read we were looking forward to eating in this restaurant. However from the outset it was disappointing. It was a warm evening and we were unable to eat inside as it was too hot. The service was pleasant, but amateurish. The wine list bore no relationship to what was actually available. The starter was good, but there really was not a lot of it, especially in South African terms. As for the main course this was really spoilt by the badly balanced sauce, in which the amarula was totally dominant.
Altogether we could not recommend this restaurant especially as we had two excellent meals just a little further down the road.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolJCollins, Owner at Readers Restaurant, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time write and review and give us negative and positve feedback. Constructive criticism is always welcome. This gives me the chance to chat to the staff and bring these points re the service and wine to their attention, and will look at the recipes. thank and kind regards Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Owner / Chef Carol makes the most outstanding combinations...personal favourites were the Beef Fillet and the Lamb Shank! The live cats were too cute and the memorabilia was fascinating...everything you could imagine about cats! Had such a wonderful atmosphere and food that we returned the second night. Was a special time, we will never forget!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolJCollins, Owner at Readers Restaurant, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thanks for writing this review and for coming twice to Readers during your stay in Tulbagh. The shank is also one of my favourite dishes and will have it again soon on the menu. Look forward to seeing both of you again soon. Thanks kind regards Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“As I good as I remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

This was the second highlight of our road trip - been here many years ago and it was better than I remembered
We were a biggish table and all the food was divine, beautifully presented and the flavour combination amazing. Fantastic and friendly service - we all agreed the kudu carpaccio with asparagus as a starter was a definite winner, and the bobotie as good as my granny made it.
Ice creams of course need a mention. – excellent. PS Love the cat theme

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolJCollins, Owner at Readers Restaurant, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review and it was great to see you after so many years. The kudu carpaccio is produced by the local butcher and the bobotie is one of those traditional recipes that has been past down to me by one of the locals of the Valley. -She also thanks you for these kind words about her bobotie recipe. Hope you managed to do a little wine tasting while in town as well as see some of this amazing valley. thanks kind regards Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zambia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“IN ANOTHER CAT-AGORY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We had a fantastic evening, nice wine, excellent service, and very good food all round. I’ll be back for the awesome Trout!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Readers Restaurant also viewed

Tulbagh, Western Cape
Tulbagh, Western Cape
 
Tulbagh, Western Cape
Tulbagh, Western Cape
 

Been to Readers Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Readers Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.