We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shopping and relaxing weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Tarentaal

Save Saved
You added Villa Tarentaal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Tarentaal
4.0 of 5 Villa   |   ext Van Der Stel street, Tulbagh 6820, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ladismith, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Shopping and relaxing weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Still our favourite sleepover with the best hosts Graham and Brandi and their lovely kids Kate and James to assist the welcoming .The Swallow room was excellent and the breakfast our favourite with stunning view included.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    145
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
117
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
cape town
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

An amazingly beautiful place. You heart, mind and soul rest at Villa Tarentaal. The Villa is beautiful and lacks absolutely nothing. The little special touches of the handmade chocs on the bed, the lavender brings a smile. Graham and the lovely ladies provide service with a SMILE. The breakfast so conveniently served in your villa is a work of art, so beautifully plated and scrumptious in taste. The "French" croissants and omelette are a must. We would definitely love to go back. Moira & Barend Hamman

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is the 3rd time we have stayed at the amazing Villa Tarentaal in Tulbagh and we will definitely be back again. The rooms and cottages are all stunning, cosy and luxurious. The breakfasts are incredible (particularly the french toast croissants ;). The overall atmosphere is homely and inviting and most of all Brandi and Graham are such wonderful hosts who treat us both like guests and really good friends! This is clearly not just a job for them, but a passion. We are already looking forward to our next visit! Ings and Lin

Room Tip: All the rooms and cottages are wonderful, but the honeymoon suite is definitely the most special!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

A gift from a friend took us to definitely one of the most beautiful parts of our country and an exceptionally well run establishment.We were made to feel totally at home, occupied a suite which had everything we needed to make our stay a memorable one and were served a delicious hot breakfast in the morning. It is evident that the staff have been professionally trained and their helpful , friendly assistance was much appreciated...............along with Graham they even pushed our car to start it .We intend going back .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The perfect getaway. Wonderful setting as Villa Tarentaal is close to the town but not in the buzz. Graham & staff were always there to help & really friendly. We had the perfect view from our cottage. Villa T focuses on the small things and gets it right. Breakfast in the mornings were great, tasty and more than enough.The gardens are beautiful and very neat. Will recommend to anyone - value for money indeed!

Room Tip: The Blue crane cottage is perfect for 4 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

What a warm welcome we received for our one night stay!!! Breakfast on the patio with wonderful view of the mountain, friendly staff, excellent accommodation, stunning garden .........you can feel the love!

Thanks Graham - will definitely return and hopefully for longer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Close to the majestic Ceres Mountains with breathtaking views from our quiet sarene cottage. This was a worth while trip with me and my other half. As we arrived we were greeted with a friendly smile by one of the ladies. She helped us carry our luggage to our Blue Crane cottage. The overall experience was just lovely!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Tarentaal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Tarentaal

Address: ext Van Der Stel street, Tulbagh 6820, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Tulbagh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty lodging in Tulbagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Tarentaal 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulbagh accommodation with a special touch. Villa Tarentaal offers boutique style accommodation, every detail has been personally attended to, from throw cushions to the extra length beds, with guest comfort in mind. Enjoy privacy, stunning Tulbagh mountain views, meandering gardens, breakfast served to you at your cottage each morning, and extreme hospitality. Our three private cottages offer space to relax. All cottages are equipped with kitchenettes, living areas, modern bathrooms and spacious bedrooms, flat screen televisions and aircon. Looking for romantic Tulbagh accommodation. Our new Peacock Suite is the ultimate retreat. We are located 1km from Tulbagh village. Come enjoy outdoor and indoor splendor at its finest and the most unique bed and breakfast in Tulbagh! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Tarentaal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Tarentaal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.