We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week of bliss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Tarentaal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Villa Tarentaal to your Saves list
Villa Tarentaal
4.0 of 5 Villa   |   ext Van Der Stel street, Tulbagh 6820, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Howick, South Africa
1 review
“A week of bliss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Normally people stay here for a night or two as they pass through Tulbagh in the Western Cape.
Do yourself a favor and give yourself the pleasure of an extra day or two here. Graham Brandi and his excellent staff go all out to give you the experience of a life time. Absolutly excellent accomodation with aircon for the heat and open fires on the cooler nights. Graham cooks the breakasts himself and you will not find better. Go on. Don't just stop and go. Book in to Villa Tarentaal and take time to enjoy Tulbagh.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
125
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Every time we go to South Africa we also visit Villa Tarentaal. We have stayed there now at least 4 times in the cottage Blue Crane. Brandi and Graham make you feel very welcoming. They help you with whatever you wish. Every morning we have our beautiful and tasty breakfast on the verandah looking at the stunning view with the garden and the mountain and having a good conversation with Brandi or Graham. This is a place to just relax, look at the wonderful views, stroll in the nice city and visit some vineyards where you also can get very tasty meals.
YGG

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I can't recommend Villa Tarentaal enough as a romantic gettaway. This long weekend we actually christened their brand new Peacock room - what a privilege! Their cottages were all booked when I enquired, but Brandi let me know that they were putting the finishing touches to this new addition, a large en-suite room with luxe touches, if we'd be prepared to take a chance. Wow! King-size bed, fireplace, mountain views, DSTV, huge bathroom with double shower and sinks, massive bath, candles, flowers. From the start our hosts couldn't do enough to make us welcome and comfortable - even through a stormy night and power failure. Thanks Brandi & Graham! Breakfasts were the most delicious and beautifully presented ever! The mountain views are just lovely as well. We are looking forward to a return soon!

Room Tip: The new Peacock room is very luxurious and great for couples. If you'd like to self-cater then a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We spent a lovely weekend at Villa Tarentaal, and wished we could have stayed there longer. We were two couples, and stayed in the Blue Crane Cottage, which was ideal for the four of us. Brandi was very welcoming and friendly and really made us feel at home! The braai and fireplace were already laid when we arrived, and there was plenty of wood to get us through the winter evening. Breakfast was served on the verandah of our cottage - Brandi's breakfasts are delicious! Brandi was very helpful and informed us of the activities and wine farms in Tulbagh. I highly recommend Villa Tarentaal!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

The reviews helped us decide to stay here and we were not disappointed.
Great cottages with a roaring log fire, full DSTV and nicely equipped throughout.
Brandi & Graham are great hosts, who couldn't do enough for you to make it a great stay.
Agnes looked after the cottage cleaning up behind us and keeping us stocked up on wood etc.
Breakfast is served in your cottage or on your terrace.

The views are stunning from the pool terrace.

If you enjoy a massage, be sure to treat yourself to one in the Spa, it will set you up for the day.

We will be certainly be returning, as we now have found a great weekend getaway only an hour and a half away from home.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladismith, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Our first time to Villa Tarentaal was in 2008, since then we've been there another 6 times: by motorbike, by car, with friends, only the two of us and everytime you find a peace of heaven on earth while you are there. Graham and Brandi always go the extra mile to make our stay special and we'll be back again and again and again......

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Brandi and Graham have Villa Tarentaal a place of tranquility where every whim is catered for. Stunning views, cosy accommodation, attention to detail, amazing food and good conversation! ( The dogs are good company too!) A very relaxing atmosphere - we highly recommended Villa Tarentaal!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Tarentaal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Tarentaal

Address: ext Van Der Stel street, Tulbagh 6820, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Tulbagh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Tulbagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Tarentaal 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulbagh accommodation with a special touch. Villa Tarentaal offers boutique style accommodation, every detail has been personally attended to, from throw cushions to the extra length beds, with guest comfort in mind. Enjoy privacy, stunning Tulbagh mountain views, meandering gardens, breakfast served to you at your cottage each morning, and extreme hospitality. Our three private cottages offer space to relax. All cottages are equipped with kitchenettes, living areas, modern bathrooms and spacious bedrooms, flat screen televisions and aircon. Looking for romantic Tulbagh accommodation. Our new Peacock Suite is the ultimate retreat. We are located 1km from Tulbagh village. Come enjoy outdoor and indoor splendor at its finest and the most unique bed and breakfast in Tulbagh! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Tarentaal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Tarentaal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.