We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Links (back in August)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Links Lady Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Links Lady Bay Resort to your Saves list
Links Lady Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   73 St Andrews Boulevard, Normanville, South Australia 5204, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Normanville
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Loved the Links (back in August)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2008

Stayed there just as it opened, and felt very priveleged to be one of the first guests, they were still doing the gardens....got a good price with a spa, and the staff were most helpful (back then)

I guess being there in the heat of summer probably would be different but try Carrakalinga/ Normanville beaches - the Bakery in Normanville is yumalicious.....

I would love to go back.....its disappointing to see the other reviews...

  • Liked — balcony views
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    98
    20
    7
    6
See reviews for
36
146
7
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2008

I was interested to see 3 reviews of this hotel, 2 favourable and 1 not. My own experience here was not favourable, and I do agree that the hotel does not measure up to the impression given on the Accor website.

When I stayed the hotel was still in the building process with no swimming pool etc completed. This is despite the hotel being open for 3 months. The grounds round the hotel were very raw with no shade or planting. The balcony was unusable because of dust and smells.

I agree with the lack of service. Reception and check in or out seemed to be an afterthought. A major issue was the lack of a compendium in the room, detailing the hotel facilities, and surrounding attractions.

There is no radio reception at all in the hotel rooms, and given the isolation of the hotel some Foxtel channels would have been nice to have.

I also noted the absence of a waste bucket in the bathroom, and towel and toiletry replacement in the room wasn't up to standard.

Overall very disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2008

I have not left the hotel yet and i wait until holiday end, before a review. However. The last review was 4 a "terrible" rating score and in defense of the Links.
We arrived as refugees from the cyclone hitting Brisbane and faced with limited hotel availability we ran into the links by accident.
This hotel is great, Its new, Clean, Antiseptic, and mostly modern!!! Hint Hint. It's great. If you get a good price, its a bargain.
Maybe its not for everyone but if your into golf, looking at wineries,or lazing in some affordable comfort, this is a welcome respite.
We are discriminating clients and i added 3 days to my stay.
The bed's are great.
Shower's at full presure ( water recycled )
easy drive to a great beach.
Pizza and restraunt 5 minutes away or quality dining within 40 minutes drive.
Or great bar and restraunt at the hotel. ( 5.30 a small pint )
Internet is 15 bucks ( a steal in oz ) Bring your own lan cable and try it for free)
Pool is in front of hotel but from the deck u can watch your kid swim, while enjoying a bottle of local brew.
The hotel is new and staff somewhat inexperienced (but helpfull and great )
The hotel itself does not really know what it wants to be in terms of a Time Share, service apartment or Hotel.
But the rooms are large and divide like a one bedroom ( seperate lanai type area, on one level though ) with 2 entrances to bathroom. Liked it!! large dining table, sitting area.. 1st floor units had hot plates and washer dryer, top floor had fridges and nuke only)
They have an assortment of units including 3 bedroom condos.
try whotif.
That being said i suggest the hotel to anyone who likes new and undiscovered bargains.

  • Liked — new, clean modern
  • Disliked — Will wear fast
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2008

The advertising for this hotel overrates the views, services and facilities and is misleading about the proximity to the beach.
The hotel is a big ugly new development which looks out over other ugly appartment developments on the golf course - it is not a relaxing or romantic place to stay and is NOT close (ie not really walking distance) to the sea/beach.
The decor and design is souless - the bar, restaurant and rooms are like conference facilities. There's no imagination or passion in this design.
The pool, tennis courts and childrens playground are slap bang in front of the hotel rooms in full sun all day -not great for the little ones; and the views from the bar and restaturant are blocked by tacky shadecloths in the evening due to the poor architectural design.
The room itself is flimsy, I could hear the occupants above going to the toilet, and the occupants below generally chatting and going about their holidays.
The aircon is noisy and blows straight out over the bed in the bedroom, more poor design.
There was a reasonably well equipped kitchen but no knives and there was no bin in the bathroom. However the two plasma screen TVs are perhaps indicative of the demographic this hotel is targeting.
The service was laconic, the reception were not very interested in helping us with two enquiries, promising to call back but never doing so. The reception is only staffed until 7pm and no information about local restaurants etc is provided.
To eat out, you need to drive into Normanville, probably the closest place to eat - about 2.5km.
The bar, when we went, was overrun with customers and understaffed - and the lack of ambience put us off and we went back to our room - where we had the pleasure of hearing the TC downstairs all night.
The promotional material reminds you frequently that this is a mulit million dollar development - what a sadly missed opportunity to create a great place to stay in favour of the generic.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — The thoughtless design
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2007

My husband and I stayed at this new hotel on the Fleurieu Penisula about an hour south of Adelaide for two nights. We really enjoyed the modern, spacious and very comfortable suite and the friendly staff. The hotel itself is also modern and comfortable with the only disconcerting feature perhaps the reception area where all the staff plus lots of boxes and mess sort of gather behind a wall behind the counter. Okay if its hidden out of view but all the guests could see it through a glassed wall so this doesnt necessarily give a good first impression. We ate at the hotel the first night and the food was of a high standard and reasonably priced. All areas of the hotel have great views over the links golf course, complete with roaming kangaroos, to the sea. The second night we sat on our balcony with the organic goodies we had purchased from the Willunga markets about 40 minutes drive away. We also bought some wine from the many lovely wineries at nearby McLaren Vale. The suite was equiped with cultery, crockery and glassware so we had no trouble setting up our balcony picnic. We had asked for the globe in the bathroom to be changed as it had blown. Unfortunately they were short of these special globes and my husband assisted the staff member to change it from another room. (They had offered to upgrade us for our inconvenience but we didnt want to move.) Instead they gave us a voucher for a bottle of wine which we thought was very generous. The location of the hotel in the middle of the penisula makes a great base for a weekend or evening longer stays and golfers will not only love the links course but the special cupboard outside your suite for your clubs.

  • Liked — The spacious, comforatable suite and the views
  • Disliked — Nothing not to like.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Links Lady Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Links Lady Bay Resort

Address: 73 St Andrews Boulevard, Normanville, South Australia 5204, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Normanville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Normanville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Links Lady Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Fleurieu Peninsula in the outskirts of Normanville, Links Lady Bay Resort is the perfect weekend retreat. A scenic one hour drive along the Southern Highway from Adelaide, Links Lady Bay is your gateway to the amazing Kangaroo Island. Surrounded by picturesque Lady Bay and a PGA rated links golf course, the hotel features 28 apartments of pure indulgence, the divine Peninsula Bar and Restaurant and modern conference facilities. Ideal for both business and pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Links Lady Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Links Lady Bay Hotel Normanville
Mercure Hotel Normanville
Links Lady Bay Resort Normanville, South Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Links Lady Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.