We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent birthday dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Station Cafe and Restaurant

The Station Cafe and Restaurant
Findlay St, National Park Village 3948, New Zealand
+64 7-892 2881
Improve this listing
Price range: $2 - $26
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Napier, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“excellent birthday dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We spent my partner's birthday dinner at the Station restaurant.i had let them know beforehand and when we walked in we were seated by a lovely decorated table. The service was excellent all night and the food was amazing. Generous servings, we had chicken, beef and venison.
They also made a yum birthday cake as a suprise.
We will be definietly back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    52
    11
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Our host at the motel recommended we go here for dinner and booked us in. All mains were $20 for Queens Birthday weekend. Roast pork or lamb is $16.50. A great meal warm welcoming atmosphere and excellent service. Thoroughly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Always good good and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

We had our Xmas function there and had great food and a great time. Staff and owners always friendly and efficient. Reasonable prices and a good selection on the menu

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“make a point of stopping”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

I love this place and wish I'd found it sooner as I drove back and forth from Auckland. It's only a minute from the highway. During the day, it's a great, inexpensive cafe with counter food and meals from the menu. The coffee is great, as is the food and the atmosphere is lovely. I discovered last year it turns into a classy restaurant at night, with mains $30-$40+. In May (the quiet time for them, in between the summer and winter seasons), all mains are $20 which is EXCEPTIONAL value. Frankly, I would have been happy to pay $42 for the venison I ate last night! Of course the meat was a standout, but I can't believe how good the chef made steamed vegetables taste. When we stopped last year, still with hours of driving ahead of us and a five-year old in tow, we were an hour before dinner service started but the kitchen didn't hesitate to feed us. I really appreciated that.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Great service, cosy restaurant, easy walk from town. The food was delicious, especially the salad starters.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Station Cafe and Restaurant also viewed

National Park Village, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
National Park Village, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
National Park Village, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Tongariro National Park, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to The Station Cafe and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Station Cafe and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.