We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay before setting out on the Tongariro Crossing or Circuit.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howard's Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Howard's Lodge to your Saves list
Howard's Lodge
2.5 of 5 Lodge   |   43-45 Caroll Street, National Park Village, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Crossing Packages
colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay before setting out on the Tongariro Crossing or Circuit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed here for one night before setting out on the 3 day Tongariro Northern Circuit. Town was very quiet. I stayed in the dorms and it was only me and one other person their. We each had our own 6 bed dorm. Staff was friendly and it has a nice lounge. Needless to say, there were no noise problems and I was well rested for my hike in the morning!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    114
    32
    9
    18
See reviews for
57
56
27
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

The Lodge is a really nice place to stay with friendly staff comfortable rooms and an awesome lounge and spa.a plus are friendly cats alway visiting you the national park right at the doorstep and the supermarket around the corner.
The option of buying breakfast and lunch is awesome and the cooking area for dinner is really big

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

we arrived on a rainy day and were met by a very friendly host. the rooms were lovely and well accuiped, the kitchen facilities were great and there is also a private spa available upon request. great value for your money.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I stayed here with 2 others in March prior to doing the Tongariro Crossing. The room was a decent size and the beds comfy. The place was quiet and enabled us to get a decent night's sleep before embarking on our long trek. We paid extra for transport to and from the Crossing which was reasonably priced and gave us adequate time to walk the path without rushing. The guy who dropped us at the start was also really helpful and full of good advice on how to stay safe and summon help if required.
All of the staff were very approachable and helpful when I needed to rent some walking gear. Again reasonably priced and much cheaper than buying it for myself when I'd only use it once or twice.
Breakfast was basic but filling. We went out into the village for dinner and found somewhere nice to eat. The only problem was how busy everywhere was, so advice to others would be to plan where you're going to eat early and book ahead!
Would go back and stay here, nothing bad to say about the place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

rooms are basic but good facilities : kitchen, lounge, hot tub. friendly helpful staff. didn't spend much time at hotel, too busy exploring beautiful tongariro national park. i recommend eating at the station

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant A, Owner at Howard's Lodge, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Good call regarding the station, they really do a great job ! Glad you enjoyed your stay with us also and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Howard's Lodge over a wet Labour weekend so we made good use of the lounge/games room which was warm & inviting.

The rooms are quite small but super clean and all the shared facilities are fantastic.

There was no problem storing our bikes & Grant and his team were always super helpful.

It was a really affordable and enjoyable stay. Howard's Lodge would definitely be my first pick for accommodation in National Park next time!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant A, Owner at Howard's Lodge, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to post a review. It seems summer has - finally - arrived so hope to see you again soon for some other cycle tracks or perhaps the Crossing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Had booked here for the weekend and had to cancel as my husband had to have unexpected surgery to remove his appendix. No refund at all which is in there booking policy but thought it was pretty harsh in the circumstances and considering they didn't have to outlay for cleaners and electricity etc because we didn't use the room. Most places would take 50% not 100%. But the worst part was the attitude of the guy on the phone who was pretty rude about it.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annie C, Owner at Howard's Lodge, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Sorry about your medical problems and I am happy to see you understand that we have a policy regarding cancellations which we enforce equally on everyone, not just you.

You attempted to cancel the day prior to coming. While you think I should give you a break please attempt to see things from my point of you. Obviously there is the fact that since you had booked the room then no one else was able to book it. Yes you used no elecricity etc but this is a tiny fraction of the cost of having a guest. This is more than compensated for by the fact that your room most likely sits empty for the weekend when not only could someone else have been paying for it but they could also have been ordering breakfasts, renting skis, buying drinks etc.

While I should give you a break do you think the electrcity company, the gas company, my insurance company, my employees .... will give me a break. No, they all want to be paid and frankly don't care why guests don't come.

I do care and offered you (A) a refund should we be able to resell the room and/or (B) a credit to a stay another time in leiu of a refund (neither of which I am required to do) but this was unacceptable to you for some reason. You would only accept a refund of some kind which I was unable to grant and therefore might have appeared rude to you but I assure you that wasn't my intention.

Hope all medical issues ahve worked out for you. Grant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard's Lodge

Address: 43-45 Caroll Street, National Park Village, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > National Park Village
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in National Park Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard's Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the secrets of the volcanic plateau. Walk the legendary Tongariro Alpine Crossing. Bike the popular 42 Traverse track. Canoe the wilderness of the Whanganui River. Ski the slopes of Mt Ruapehu. Howard's Lodge is the ultimate start for all outdoor adventure in Tongariro National Park, Ruapehu Skifields and Whanganui National Park. The lodge offers a broad variety of accommodation ranging from budget rooms to en-suite rooms. Daily transport to the Tongariro Alpine Crossing and the 42 Traverse Mountain bike track, Rental of ski equipment, tramping boots and walking poles and mountain bikes. Enjoy a fantastic summer experience or an exhilarating winter getaway; we have just what you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Howard's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard's Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.