We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No nonsence, just good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Schnapps Bar

Schnapps Bar
State Highway 4 | Findlay Street, National Park Village, New Zealand
(64) 07 8922 788
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“No nonsence, just good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Ok, you (should) know where you going to and hey, that's exectily what you get!
Therefore just good.
Nice hang out and a simpele, but fair menu.
Dinner was ready in an eyeblinck and well cooked!
Like I Said: not fancy, but no bull too!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    38
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Haddonfield, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere, TVs and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

A bit pricey but Good selection of booze and food. Try the fish and chips! The staff was really friendly.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Brilliant value for money and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

All small Kiwi towns should have a place like Schnapps Bar! I went here with a friend to grab some dinner and a drink. We were met with a very warm welcome, we got our drinks and ordered a rack of ribs and the fish and chips. For just over $20 each we got a hearty serving of tasty food.

It's definitely pub grub, probably not going to the greatest meal you ever eat in your life, but it was great value for money in a lovely setting overlooking the mountains. The drinks weren't too expensive and they stock the downright delicious Brambles cider - can't go wrong!

I'd definitely go back, especially for the tasty ribs!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, relaxed atmosphere, friendly service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

The venison pie was great. The Kiwi pavlova exactly as suggested. The beer was great and the barman/owner attentive and friendly.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quiet but nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Don't expect to find a lot of entertainment in the village. Pool table available for customers and nice fish and chips! Closed by 10pm !!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schnapps Bar also viewed

National Park Village, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
National Park Village, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
National Park Village, Manawatu-Wanganui Region

Been to Schnapps Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schnapps Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.