We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great Tongariro Crossing experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adrift Outdoor Guided Adventures

Adrift Outdoor Guided Adventures
3 Waimarino-Tokaanu Rd, National Park Village 3948, New Zealand
64 7 8922751
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Expedia
Book a Tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Adrift Outdoors is an outdoor adventure company specialising in guided adventures through the Whanganui and Tongariro National Parks, including the Tongariro Alpine Crossing, we are a personal and professional organisation that can tailor our guided adventures to suit individual needs.At Adrift, we have vast experience in working with people of all ages and abilities. Adrift provides qualified, experienced and personable guides whose sole purpose is to ensure a safe, enjoyable and memorable adventure.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“A great Tongariro Crossing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We booked through The Chateau hotel as part of a room and trek package. We were not at all dissapointed with Adrift and the service we received.

It started with Stuart (the owner) convincing us to delay our trek by 1 day. He was not wrong as the weather was atrocious on our original trek day, but good (although very windy) on our re-scheduled day. Adrift made sure we had all the right kit and enough layers, and could sort out any additional items. They provided a pack lunch and snacks (which was excellent), along with transport to and from the Crossing.

There were 12 in our group and we had Stuart and Tom guiding us. They are full of information about the Crossing, the lava fields, the terrain, and other facts you soon forget. Very importantly they could adjust the speed of the group to the weakest, and give advise on when to rest, add layers, or take on fuel.

They knew all the best vantage points, and we even did the odd minor detour. Lunching beside one of the Emerald Lakes was a highlight. And then right at the end there was even a cold beer or Coke to celebrate completing the trek.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    2
    2
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A very professional company to complete the Tongariro Crossing with”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

I completed the Tongariro Alpine Crossing with Adrift on a very wet and windy day and am very glad I chose this company.

The two guides were very patient and encouraging with a rather unfit customer (me!) and did a great job of completing the crossing with 3 customers on a day when most other guides gave up and returned to base with their customers.

I've reviewed the walk itself separately. However, it is well worth doing (even in bad weather), but is a long day in the hills.

As another plus point to Adrift they were very good at ensuring their customers were suitably kitted out from their stores before commencing with the day. By contrast we saw other guided groups who were giving up and returning to the starting point, on a very wet and windy day, because they were ill equipped. I was glad to be with a professional company..!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Two awesome adventures! Book this now!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We have just completed 2 days of action packed adventures with Adrift. The first being the half day Alpine crossing with Sam which was fantastic- we were guided off the beaten track and experienced an unforgettable hike on volcanic rock in the most stunning of scenaries. It felt like we were on the top of the world!

The second adventure was a 1 day kayaking experience on the Whanganui river which was fully guided by Stu. We thoroughly enjoyed this day and felt very safe and relaxed kayaking down the beautiful NZ river.
I would 100% recommend Adrift for those who want some action, adventure and NZ charm. The whole service was superb.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

I booked the Tongariro Alpine Crossing with Adrift Outdoors and I am so pleased that I did. The days leading up to the walk, the weather was atrocious. Adrift Outdoors advised to change the day but my circumstances didn't allow. So the morning on the walk, when we met at the office, it was surprising to find that there were only 2 of us walking with our guide Catherine. She made sure we had all the necessary equipment that was required. We were advised that the weather forecast was for the weather to turn terrible so that the possibility of completing the crossing was slim. Turns out, mother nature is full of surprises. It had snowed the previous night so the scenery was picturesque. A real novelty to walk in snow. The weather conditions were pretty good that we did complete the crossing. Catherine was an excellent guide with her knowledge and motivation. An unbelievable wonderful experience.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Absolutely amazing! Worth every penny, I couldn't have done it without them.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I haven't done much hiking before and therefore thought that a guided tour for the Tongariro Crossing would be a good idea. Turns out that I was right and picked the right ones for the job! Our guide Tom was always there with information, motivation, a cheerful mood and a helping hand when things got tough. But even if you're an experienced hiker I really recommend Adrift because of all the things I learnt. Tom told us a lot about the history of the vulcanoes, the National Park, the history of New Zealand and the Maori culture, and it just maximized the whole experience. Thank you so much for a wonderful hike!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adrift Outdoor Guided Adventures also viewed

North Island, New Zealand
Tongariro National Park, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Tongariro National Park, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Tongariro National Park, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to Adrift Outdoor Guided Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adrift Outdoor Guided Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.