We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect fit for the perfect trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Discovery Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in National Park Village
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Discovery Lodge
Save
You added Discovery Lodge to your Saves list
State Highway 47, National Park Village 3948, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect fit for the perfect trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

We travelled in a group of three and stayed at Discovery Lodge in National Park. They were the PERFECT place to stay. Up tp date weather conditions for going up Tongarario, expert advice and the earliest shuttle company made the trip amazing. We stayed in the backpackers option and it was great. Communal kitchen and lounge were awesome, lots of room around the place and also toileting/shower facilities were nice and hot after a long walk up Tongarario. I wouldn't of stayed anywhere else. It cost us $170 for three people for two nights. Great bargain! We also got lunch and breakfast (extra charge) to prepare us for going up Tongarario. One last thing, the reception girl was GREAT! Put up with my partners awkward jokes and gave us amazing advice!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    56
    19
    3
    5
See reviews for
29
95
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

I stayed overnight in a powered campervan spot. The check-in was quick, and well-priced (35$ for 2 people). The location is amazing if you want to do the Tongariro crossing, as you're the first people on the mountain.
However, the quality of the facilities for campers and campervans is below par - the toilets were all blocked, and the shower facilities were basic.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Discovery Lodge Chalet.
Lovely new room in 1/2 of stand alone cabin. Nice cooking facilities, lovely bed - very
convenient to Mt. Tongariro. Great place for two.

Room Tip: The Chalet is totally different to the Motel or camp ground - in both price and quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

My family stayed at the motel for one night for $255 and it was just a nightmare for all of us. There were cockroachs, dead bugs, mosquitoes everywhere and there were some on the beds so I was so disgusted. The showers were just terrible and the toliet smelled bad when no one used it. I'd rather sleep outside. I wouldn't recommand this to anyone!

Room Tip: the new rooms would be better but still there are bugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallumHarland, Owner at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Dear hkgvhkv,
How did we get it so wrong for you? For all the reasons I am deeply sorry you had such a bad time with us. If there is more to this than you are saying please call me on 0800 122 122 or email me at info@discovery.net.nz I am also very sorry you did not speak to us during your stay. Had you done so, I am very confident you would have departed Discovery happy. I have been at Discovery 10 years and have never seen a cockroach inside or outside. Also very rare to see mosquitos. We are surrounded by nature so there can be bugs coming and going from time to time - some cute, some not so cute. Not sure about the smell in the toilet. All rooms are cleaned to a high standard and checked. If you feel inclined, please contact me. Once again, I am terribly sorry you had such a bad time. Kindest regards, Callum Harland, Owner Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

Unfortunetly when we arrived at Tongariro we were advised that the whether was unsuitable to do the Tongariro Alpine Summit crossing as we had planned. The lady at reception was very helpful and provided some alternate options. She also let us cancel our second night of accomodation without penalty since the whether was poor and we were better off moving on.

We stayed in a studio chalet. It was beautiful, clean, cosy and warm, and on a clear day would have views of the mountains. This was the nicest accomodation on our two-week long New Zealand road trip.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

My partner and I have stayed at Discovery twice in the past year, and we have been really pleased with both visits. We stayed both times in the basic cabins, and it was great both in winter and summer. Very private and clean. Staff was friendly as well.

Our only complaint was the hot plates in the kitchen. Both times we visited, only a handful were working, so we had to be patient in boiling our water.

We loved the peacefulness of the place, and loved activies in the area. We'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

Discovery's new bungalows at the front of the lodge are lovely. They were toasty, warm and nicely furnished. I was disappointed that we didn't have a porch or a view of the surrounding volcanoes. We were also a stone's throw away from the highway - not a relaxing spot at all.

I would recommend this lodge to people who are tramping in the area and who need a comfortable bed to sleep in for the night. It was unfortunately, not the mountain retreat we were hoping for.

We tried the lodge restaurant on our first night and we were very disappointed. Although the bungalows have a self catering facility, we were far away from any supermarkets. Had we planned better we would have bought our own food.

The people working at the lodge were very friendly and obviously have a passion for the area - a great resource when planning an epic tramp. For me, the new bungalows are fairly pricey for a spot right beside a highway.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Discovery Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Lodge

Address: State Highway 47, National Park Village 3948, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > National Park Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in National Park Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalets & Motels. Surrounded by nature with spectacular panorama of the Tongariro Volcanoes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Discovery Hotel National Park Village

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discovery Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.