We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Park Hotel Ruapehu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Park Hotel Ruapehu to your Saves list
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
3.5 of 5 Hostel   |   2/6 Millar Street, National Park Village 3948, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Hamilton
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I stayed here for one night for a function at National Park. It was a pleasant and convenient place to stay. The room was clean and tidy though the key for the lock was a bit bent, and at times the door was a bit difficult to open. There was a small ensuite which was clean and tidy, with a very good, hot shower. There were two spa pools which I enjoyed. Some of the outdoor furniture needs a repair, as someone fell off the plastic chair as they didn't realise one of the legs was broken off. The staff were friendly and helpful and I enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    75
    28
    15
    6
See reviews for
26
49
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I stayed here for one night so I could walk the Tongariro Alpine Crossing. The room was basic with a very small ensuite. It was warm, clean and tidy. The bed was comfortable. I highly recommend ear plugs as the walls are paper thin and you hear everything!

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Beds were cheap, you could feel the springs in the mattress. Walls are paper thin and I could hear people talking and coughing next door. No TV in room and the bathroom is small, really small.

The breakfast dining area wasn't ready at 7am in the morning and the dining area was cold. They obviously only roll out a couple of oil filled heaters just before opening time.

The pub that is attached does serve decent food, but I would stay elsewhere to get a decent night's sleep.

Overall, it shows that it's been built on the cheap and I won't intentionally stay again.

Room Tip: This is a large establishment, all rooms will be noisey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkTraveller, Manager at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at The Park. We appreciate your feedback and would like you to know that we strive to provide an enjoyable stay for all of our guests.

We are sorry to hear that your bed was uncomfortable and would like to advise that we are currently in the process of checking all of our beds for wear and tear. Our Executive Chef would also like you to know that we have addressed the breakfast problem at the beginning of this week and now open the café an hour earlier in order to adequately prepare for our guests.

Once again we thank you for your feedback and we have passed the necessary information to the appropriate Heads of Departments so that these matters can be addressed.

Kind regards,

Rooms Division Manager
The Park Travellers Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these National Park Village hotels

new zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The place is great and the facilities are very good. Although, during the winter season The Park makes money thanks to RAL staff who work in Whakapapa (ski resort) and stay there for 5 months... it is a shame to realise the managers of the place don´t care about anything.

It is OK that everybody pays a bond which is returned at the end of the stay but every single person from RAL staff should pay $190 as well. it is not returned when they leave and nobody knows what it is for. What is more, if someone wants to move to the Park for only 1 month, they still have to pay $190...that is very unfair!!!

It would be great if the managers and owners of the lodge realise that they have permanent guests for 4 or 5 months and they should receive the same treatment as any other guest who stay only for one night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed at the Standard Loft Room (4 adults) and can't fault it really. The lodge has everything you need for an affordable and fun holiday at the Tongariro National Park. The Loft Room is pretty small (a queen bed on the mezzanine level, a single bunk bed downstairs, with a tiny ensuite as well as a tea/coffee making area with a mini fridge) but it is more than adequate for a short trip, seeing as we hardly spent any time in the room anyway. Room was very clean and the beds were nice and comfy. But the best thing about the room was definitely the heating, we were kept warm the whole time we were there which we really appreciated.

We were lucky to be offered complimentary meals at the hotel restaurant due to room overbooking. I must say the food was of high standard and we were all very impressed. The prices were very reasonable, considering the quality of the meals. Portions were also incredibly generous. Drinks were cheap at the bar too.

Staff were all very friendly and courteous and helpful.

All in all - a wonderful place to stay at the National Park. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Was very dissapointed in this place, not worth the money paid for, my room had obviously had a very quick tidy as there was still a pair of socks and a tshirt at the side of the bed which were easily noticeable made me feel unclean for the rest of the time there, its a shame though as the place is in a nice spot next time i will surely stay somewhere different.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastleton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night so I could do the Tongariro Alpine Crossing. Was very well equipped and managed not to feel like a hostel despite the number of rooms it had. Got a cheap dinner since I was traveling on the Stray bus, the rooms were clean and had on-suite bathrooms, and it had 2 Spa pools, which, after coming down from the Alpine Crossing, was exactly what i needed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Park Hotel Ruapehu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Hotel Ruapehu

Address: 2/6 Millar Street, National Park Village 3948, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > National Park Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Specialty Lodging in National Park Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Park Hotel Ruapehu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable accommodation in a stunning alpine setting with easy access to the Tongariro Alpine Crossing, Mt Ruapehu and Whakapapa Ski Area. Spacious hotel style rooms, self catered family rooms and premium dorm style bunk rooms. On-site restaurant & bar open daily for breakfast., lunch and dinner. We also have a large self catering kitchen, guest lounge with Sky TV & wireless internet, laundry and free parking. Complimentary outdoor hot tubs, courtyard hammocks & open fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Park Hotel Ruapehu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park Travellers Hotel National Park Village

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Park Hotel Ruapehu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.