We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very basic housing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Park Hotel Ruapehu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Park Hotel Ruapehu to your Saves list
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
3.5 of 5 Hostel   |   2/6 Millar Street, National Park Village 3948, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
237 hotel reviews
Reviews in 179 cities Reviews in 179 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
“very basic housing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

this place is really more of a hostel than a hotel. i stayed in a small single room with an uncomfortably saggy soft twin bed. the lights were extremely dim. the only heat was from a portable heater that inadequately heated the space. there was no tv or phone. bathroom sink was extremely tiny- almost unusable. the hottubs are in the yard outside the rooms so it was often noisy. very rudimerntary accomodation.
the restaurant and bar and fireplace room are nice.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    75
    28
    15
    5
See reviews for
26
48
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012 via mobile

Booked two rooms for one night (for the wrong day), they changed the booking with no problem. The lodge was well appointed and the rooms were very clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Food was good and the continental breakfast is good value for 10 bucks so is the unlimited Internet for 10 bucks a day.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts, UK
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

I stayed here for one night - the staff were welcoming and friendly and the rooms were nice. In the communal areas there is a lovely real fire and it felt very homely. The food in the bar/cafe is delicious - big portions and really tasty.
The only downside was that it can be quite noisy outside the rooms - they are around a courtyard and you can hear people talking whilst walking to their rooms at night.
Overall a great stay though, and I would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

I stayed 6 nights with my 9 yo daughter. Staff were very friendly & helpful. We loved the charm of the restaurant area and the food was great. The view of the snow covered volcanoes from the restaurant and bar area is really beautiful. We booked a self contained loft apartment for our 1st night, as this night booked out with our cheap deal for a twin room. First night in our Loft apartment went pretty well, it was Saturday night, so it was noisy til midnight, but then it quieted down OK. All of the rooms surround a central spa area and the dining/lounge area also opens into this area where the smokers sometimes gather til late. The next day we had to move to a twin room, but I can't recommend the twin/double rooms at all. The walls are so thin that you could hear everything from both rooms either side! One side they were having a domestic which didn't quieten til midnight. This room was also very close to the central spas, where large groups enjoy themselves shouting out over the jets . There was no TV in the twin room, so we had no chance to drown out all the noise. The next day we paid extra to move back to a loft apartment, which was much quieter, as it was tucked away in the corner.

We did really like this lodge, but it isn't the best if you are a light sleeper. Guests walk by the rooms on two levels on a wooden decking, which is really noisy. The lounge area is open 24 hours, so there are quite often people continually stomping by all hours of the night. Management/staff do not stay on the premises, so you are at the mercy of other guests behaviour. We did have 3 good nights sleep out of 6. We had 5 great days skiing at Whakapappa, which is an easy 20 minute drive.

Room Tip: Recommend the self contained loft apartments. This would be good value for four people, 2 twin beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

We stayed one night here in a 6 bed dorm. The staff at check-in were helpful and friendly. The room was a good size and the beds were super comfortable, much better than most other places we’ve stayed. The bathroom was clean and the shower was good. Each bed has its own reading light. The only thing the room was missing were lockers, there was no where secure to put your valuables. There was a fridge and a heater in the room.
The kitchen was large and well equipped, although the frying pans had lost their non-stick properties some years ago. The dining area is shared with the restaurant there so it was nice.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

This place has all you could ever want from a family trip to the snow or a couples or singles weekend. Travelers from around the world to share stories. With in the cozy lounge with a roaring fire .the rooms has all you need and if not you will be helped by the friendly staff who make you welcome.The food in this place in the restaurant is top notch .we took our own to cook in the huge communal kitchen but. When we saw what was on offer we abandoned that idea.I really had a relaxing time with travel to the snow only 20 mins away this was perfect for excited children and parents and close to drag back to at the end of the day.Can't rate this place high enough for staff facilities or food.no wonder the tourists are happy.A great asset to NZ tourism.Congrats to you all. The Dixons Room 77

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkTraveller, Manager at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review, September 17, 2011
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Park Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011 via mobile

The four of us stayed in a 4 bed room which was like a maisonette with a private bathroom. Great size and the facilities in the place were just what we needed for a skiing weekend at Mount Ruapehu.

Would totally suggest people stay here for easy access to the national park - families, couples and groups of friends or single travellers would like it here.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Park Hotel Ruapehu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Hotel Ruapehu

Address: 2/6 Millar Street, National Park Village 3948, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > National Park Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Specialty Lodging in National Park Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Park Hotel Ruapehu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable accommodation in a stunning alpine setting with easy access to the Tongariro Alpine Crossing, Mt Ruapehu and Whakapapa Ski Area. Spacious hotel style rooms, self catered family rooms and premium dorm style bunk rooms. On-site restaurant & bar open daily for breakfast., lunch and dinner. We also have a large self catering kitchen, guest lounge with Sky TV & wireless internet, laundry and free parking. Complimentary outdoor hot tubs, courtyard hammocks & open fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Park Hotel Ruapehu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park Travellers Hotel National Park Village

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Park Hotel Ruapehu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.