We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Park Hotel Ruapehu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Park Hotel Ruapehu to your Saves list
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
3.5 of 5 Hostel   |   2/6 Millar Street, National Park Village 3948, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

A lovely lodge, laid out very well with nice garden, a huge profesional style kitchen and dining/chilling area. The restaurant food was also very good. Staff were extremely friendly.

Stayed in one of the smaller 6 bed rooms for one night, was quite small but good enough. Another night I stayed in one of the 4 beds with the mezzanine floor, a lot bigger and brighter. One of my favourite places to stay in NZ! Def give it a go!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    75
    28
    15
    5
See reviews for
26
48
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

We were traveling from Rotorua to New Plymouth and needed an intermediate stop along the way. We stopped at the i-site at Taurangi and they were able to book us into a Regular Double Room with ensuite, at $120 per night. We expected the simple but adequate accommodations we'd booked elsewhere in NZ in this price range. The room was clean, but small, dark, and noisy, without TV or hairdryer (hairdryer available at the reception for a $20 refundable deposit). The rooms are arranged around a central courtyard that has a couple of hot tubs, so it was noisy until 10pm. The common areas, including the kitchen, were large, clean and adequate. This lodge may be a good choice as a backpacker option, in the shared rooms. It was way overpriced at $120 for a double ensuite. We had a better double ensuite room in a Backpackers Lodge in Wanganui for half the price. A wooden walkway in front of all the rooms made it impossible to sleep after 6am, as people with luggage clack-clacked over the wooden decking walkway on their way out. On the plus side, it had a bar and simple restaurant with adequate food, as well as a central kitchen for the guests to use.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkTraveller, Manager at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
Hi there, thank you so much for your review! We really appreciate the feedback. It sounds like the noise level was one of your main concerns and for that we do apologize. We do our best to ask guests to keep the noise level to a minimum, especially after 10:00pm. Our spas close at 9:30pm in hopes to reduce noise levels as well. In the future please feel free to use the overnight phone posted at reception if you need assistance after reception closes. Also, we do have other room types that are more spacious than the standard double and that have a television in the room. Please contact us at any time to inquire further.

Cheers,
The Park Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these National Park Village hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
302 reviews 302 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 161 cities Reviews in 161 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

Brilliant location for walking, overlooking the mountain range and on the main road. Good self catering facilities, plenty of space and comfy chairs to sit on...Bar offers good selection of bar type foods...Out door seating area, although it can be quite windy. Room had all the basic amnities with the exception of a hairdryer. Bed comfortable, TV sounds fixed so as not to disturb other guests. Outdoor jacuzzi, childrens play area, ample car parking facilities, public toilets included showers.Mixed accommodation meeting all types of travellers, we would use again...

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

I stayed with my partner for 2 nights to walk the Crossing in a premium room with ensuite. Unfortunately we could hardly sleep at night because we could hear everything from the room next door. The rooms also had only one very small window because of which the room was very dark and no views at all. We did ask for a different room but apparently they all have such small windows.
We were lucky that we had a discounted rate because it sure wasn't worth the full rate of $140 per night.
The guest lounge is very nice but filled with loud backpackers. This place is great if you like to go backpacking in style but not for anything more upmarket.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkTraveller, Manager at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
Thanks so much for your feedback! We just wanted to address some of your concerns. We are sorry to hear that your room was noisy- in the future please feel free to use the overnight phone number that is posted at reception if you have any concerns after reception is closed. We are glad that you got to enjoy our common room area; our lodge is quite dynamic in that we get a great mix of guests ranging from back packers to families- all are welcome!

Cheers,
The Park Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010 via mobile

For $95 per night, this is a very expensive option. The rooms are miniscule, bed was way too soft, no tv or hairdryer. No phone either, so you have to leave the room to contact reception. Noisy backpackers right outside all evening and early in the morning. Walls are so thin we could hear the person in the next room snoring!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

The Park Travellers Lodge is a very nice, albeit a bit expensive, place to stay when visiting the national park. We wanted to do the tongariro crossing, but unfortunately this was not possible due to the weather conditions. We therefore only stayed for a single night, but still enjoyed it very much. As it was cold we had a good meal next to the fire place. We even dipped into the outdoor hottub (as long as we stayed in the water, that was nice).

The lodge offers anything you might need, but as there are dormatories on the first floor above the private rooms, this can be noisy when youths are running around. However, I guess that probably isn't always the case.

In short, a very good place to stay and as the restaurant is on-site, you don't have to look for anything else.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

It'd been 10yrs since last skiing Whakapapa and while the mountain itself hadn't really changed (funnily enough what with it being an ancient volcano 'n' all) the development around National Park and The Park in particular was a welcome change.
There now seem to be about four decent bars / restaurants you could choose from, each with a bit of nightlife to sink your teeth into too.
The best for food is possibly The Park although they are all quite good but The Park probably tries a bit harder to be adventurous.
The accomodation itself is modern and lodge style. Wouldn't look out of place in North America or Japan. As ever with lodges, the walls could do with some sound deadening, no idea why the developers don't bother with this, but I guess you could wear ear plugs or get drunk and pass out to avoid your neighbours.
There are two massive spa pools with modern jets, head rests and beer holders. Nice.
Location is spot on for getting up to Whakapapa and you could head round to Turoa too if you fancied a different day.
Service is very good, welcoming and they'll help you out booking activities etc if need be.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Park Hotel Ruapehu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Hotel Ruapehu

Address: 2/6 Millar Street, National Park Village 3948, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > National Park Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Specialty Lodging in National Park Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Park Hotel Ruapehu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable accommodation in a stunning alpine setting with easy access to the Tongariro Alpine Crossing, Mt Ruapehu and Whakapapa Ski Area. Spacious hotel style rooms, self catered family rooms and premium dorm style bunk rooms. On-site restaurant & bar open daily for breakfast., lunch and dinner. We also have a large self catering kitchen, guest lounge with Sky TV & wireless internet, laundry and free parking. Complimentary outdoor hot tubs, courtyard hammocks & open fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Park Hotel Ruapehu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park Travellers Hotel National Park Village

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Park Hotel Ruapehu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.