We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Severn Trow

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jackfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Severn Trow
Save
You added The Severn Trow to your Saves list
Church Road, Jackfield, Ironbridge Gorge TF8 7ND, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Jackfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Go for it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Sara persuaded us to choose the Severn Trow for a business trip over a couple of nights for four of us.

It was a very pleasant change from boring chain hotels. The rooms may be slightly smaller but they had loads of character complemented by mod cons such as wi fi, digital TV and power showers.

A warm welcome on arrival accompanied by tea and scones with birthday cake, card and fizzy for one of our team's birthday set the tone for the rest of our stay.

With a huge breakfast to set the day up, the large dining table, guests kitchen and mountains of homemade baking and bread on offer washed down by gallons of tea and coffee made for one of the most enjoyable and relaxed business meetings I have ever had.

Didn't see much of the local sights but there appeared to be a lot on offer and the recommended local pub's beer and food were pretty good.

I don't remember many places I have stayed in with business but I certainly will not forget the Severn Trow.

Highly recommended for business or leisure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    18
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
91
8
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stokesley
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My colleagues and I stayed here for two nights whilst in the Midlands on a business trip. We booked into all four rooms so had the place to ourselves and with good wi-fi speed and limited distractions, got through our workload in private and pleasant surroundings.

Ken and Sara are fantastic hosts, our breakfasts were wonderful and there was a constant supply of home made breads, cakes and beverages....a lovely change from the corporate business suite approach..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed here with my boyfriend to celebrate his birthday. To be honest, I am a natural cynic, so was sceptical of the huge number good reviews on here, however, all the good ones are true! Ken and Sara are magnificent hosts. They definitely go the extra mile to ensure their guests have a fabulous break (to mark my boyfriend's birthday, they supplied us with a free bottle of bubbly on our first morning, which was shared around all guests. So kind and thoughtful).
We stayed in The Boatman's room. It's a great size for a cozy romantic break, looks over the garden and has what has to be the world's comfiest (and truly beautiful) king sized bed in it. Had a quick peek in the neighbouring Rover's Den, which is also a great size and light and airy.
The breakfasts are sublime. Ken and Sara really know how to cook a delicious, not swimming in oil, English breakfast! And if that doesn't set you up for the day, then fabulous fresh cakes and freshly baked bread are always readily available in the guest kitchen (a great idea to have a separate kitchen that guests can use for tea/coffee/late night "I've enjoyed the local pubs a bit too much" toast).
The location of the B&B is excellent, too. Right next to the Jackfield Tile Museum, it is a gentle 20 minute stroll into the heart of Ironbridge (along a disused railway track, so very flat), but also has four good pubs within a 5 minutes walk in varying directions (see above note about toast).
Basically, if you are going to anywhere near Ironbridge or are looking for an idea of somewhere to stay for a weekend, like good food, excellent accommodation, congenial hosts and an all-round relaxing time, stay here! It's fabulous!

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room. Go for whatever your money will buy. Even the cheapest room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We have just arrived back from a really special weekend at The Severn Trow. We felt at home as soon as we walked through the door. The bedrooms were beautiful - we had booked the Boatman and Rovers Den, but did have a peak at the other two bedrooms while there (all fantastic). The bed in the Boatman is amazing - we have never had such a good nights sleep. Breakfasts are the best ever and really set you up for the day. We love the communal table (what a great idea) and had such good company at breakfast in the mornings. We took our welsh terrier Robbie and he was so welcome - he even had breakfast cooked for him each morning! The mini kitchen is another brilliant idea. Everything is done to make the guests stay extra special.
Ken, Sarah and Debs are such lovely people and can't do enough for you. I would definitely recommend a stay at the Severn Trow. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We hadn't had a recommendation. We were simply looking online for a place that would take our dog, a small, well-behaved Jack Russell, and we found the Severn Trow in Jackfield on a 'dog-friendly' site. My partner and I had business in the area and needed to stay two nights. We figured that as long as we had accommodation that was clean and quiet, we wouldn't be in the room much anyway.

The welcome was warm and put us... and the dog... at ease. There were fresh cakes from the oven and a pot of steaming tea within minutes of our stepping through the door.

The property is historic, characterful and comfortable. Clean and fresh, and not overly 'tarted up'... which is an underlying fear I have with guest houses. (I should make it clear that I don't require potpourri, scented candles, elaborate drapes, knick-knacks or baskets of artificial or dried flowers.) Our room was lovely, not large but homely and looking over a back-garden where chickens pecked in a run. There were vintage books scattered around for reading, and I got sufficiently absorbed in an old volume of ghost stories to take the time to finish it. The half-tester bed was incredibly comfortable, with plump pillows and crisply laundered cotton bedlinen. In our bathroom the shower had a good flow (unlike the shower in an extremely large 'chain' hotel I'd stayed in recently, under which I'd had to run around in order to get wet) and I came out refreshed. A good supply of soaps and shampoos in dispensers was on offer, all pristine and newly replenished. We slept peacefully. This is a quiet house in a quiet neighbourhood. The following morning we left the car parked outside the Severn Trow, and walked to Ironbridge, which took us about fifteen minutes. (So this is a good base for sightseeing.)

Breakfast was first rate. Even the dog got a plate of bacon and sausages!

Would we go again? You bet. We felt well cared for. The service was friendly and attentive, though without any sense of being watched over. It was a perfect balance of hospitality and informality, and the entire experience was a pleasurable one. A surprise too, given that we'd not spent a lot of time looking for accommodation. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We recently stayed at this B&B with our 3 year old and were made to feel very welcome. A real home from home. Excellent large room with a proper bed for the little one and very large bathroom, all well equiped. A great advantage was the breakfast/sitting room with proper tea/coffee facilities and plenty of space. Breakfast was excellent with freshly baked bread and the owners went the extra mile for our toddler. Hopefully we will get another trip there soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

It's well worth going the extra mile through Ironbridge to stay at this lovely B&B in Jackfield. It's within walking distance of all 10 museums and having parked up outside the B&B on Friday, we didn't have to use the car again until we left on Monday!
Sara and Ken really go the extra mile for guests. From the tea and scones on arrival, to the beer and wine in the room and fizz for breakfast (it was a birthday!) they really know how to make guests feel at home.
We were upgraded at no extra cost, to a lovely room... fresh flowers, fluffy towels and great toiletries.
The lovely singing from the floor below was an additional treat. We assume that was Sara?
Best place to eat in the area was the Half Moon. Delicious food at very reasonable prices.
We would highly recommend this B&B to anyone contemplating a stay in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Severn Trow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Severn Trow

Address: Church Road, Jackfield, Ironbridge Gorge TF8 7ND, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ironbridge Gorge > Jackfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Jackfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Ironbridge Gorge, and its only dog friendly B+B, the Severn Trow is a lovely 17th-century house offering a high standard of accommodation. All of our three rooms have en-suite power shower, king size beds, fluffy towels, hairdryer and a safe. We use only the best quality and locally sourced produce for our delicious AGA cooked breakfasts. Guests have access to a lovely shared lounge and kitchenette where you can help yourselves to teas and coffees, home made bread and jams for toasty snacks, biscuits and often home made cakes. A friendly welcome is guaranteed at The Trow for dogs and humans. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Severn Trow Jackfield, Ironbridge Gorge, Shropshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Severn Trow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.