We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely time with great hostesses” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Calcutts House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Calcutts House to your Saves list
The Calcutts House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Calcutts Road | Ironbridge, Jackfield, Ironbridge Gorge TF8 7LH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Jackfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Essex
1 review
“Lovely time with great hostesses”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

Made very welcome from the outset and joined in social gatherings over weekend to help us settle in.
Very much appreciated.

Reg Banham.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    26
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
11
74
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

We stayed at Calcutts whilst canoeing a section of the River Severn. The location was perfect, very close to the river and to Ironbridge. Sarah made us very welcome and even dried our wet kit overnight. The room was lovely - tastefully and thoughtfully done out and very nice to return to after a day on the river. The guest lounge is lovely and a great place to make friends with the other guests. The convivial atmosphere at Calcutts meant that we soon got to know quite a few others. It's only a short walk to the Black Swan for evening meals and this turned out to be the Calcutts Social Club on both the nights we were there. I would highly recommend Calcutts to anyone looking for B&B in the Ironbridge area, but I won't - just in case it gets fully booked for when we want to go back there!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2009

We decided late to book a week away and were lucky enough to find Calcutts House. The accommodation was extremely good, the breakfasts set you up for the day and the convenience of all of the Ironbridge museums made stay planning so much easier. We cannot praise the welcome we received highly enough and all members of the family, including the four legged one (Ruby) could not have made our stay any more enjoyable. Have recommended Calcutts to work colleagues and would not hesitate to recommend to anyone who asks.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

A beautiful house and perfect Bed and Breakfast. We stayed in the Coachhouse which, although small was very clean and well furnished. We asked to see the bedrooms in the main house which were beautifully decorated with large bathrooms, so we will definitely request one of those next time.

Breakfast was excellent even offtering a vegetarian option. Plenty of pubs within walking distance.

Look forward to our return.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

I stayed here for a weekend with my two young children, it was great place to stay and reasonably priced as well. It was quiet and friendly, the food was great and the location was ideal for exploring the surrounding area, which was beautiful. I had a great time and would highly recommend this great b&b and the beautiful surrounding area of Ironbridge.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastAnglian
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

We wanted a central location for the Ironbridge museums and this could not be better - park the car in hotel's large carpark and walk in the beautiful gorge.
Owners very friendly and breakfast very good.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

We have just returned from a short break in Ironbridge and found Calcutts House everything we hoped for. Our coachhouse room, in fact everywhere we went, was very clean and well-equipped. The owners and their delighful dog Ruby were so helpful and welcoming. We really appreciated the cup of tea that Sarah made for us on arrival too! We really enjoyed our breakfast too. A real treat with local produce. Calcutts House is well-placed for a visit to this fascinating area. Our only complaint is that we did not book for longer. Much recommended.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Calcutts House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Calcutts House

Address: Calcutts Road | Ironbridge, Jackfield, Ironbridge Gorge TF8 7LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ironbridge Gorge > Jackfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Jackfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Calcutts House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely 17th-century former Ironmasters home. Ideally located in the Ironbridge Gorge, within walking distance for many of the museums. Individually decorated bedrooms some with antique four poster beds are located in the main house and converted coach house. All have undergone much refurbishment in the last 3 years. A newly decorated comfy guest lounge awaits you where you can enjoy a cup of tea of coffee on arrival. Breakfast is served in our dining room with views of the gardens and the Ironbridge Gorge, enjoy a home cooked breakfast with locally produced ingredients. Leave your car in our private car park and walk to many local restaurants for your evening meal. A warm welcome assured. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Calcutts House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Calcutts House Jackfield, Ironbridge Gorge, Shropshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Calcutts House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.