We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Calcutts House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Calcutts House to your Saves list
The Calcutts House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Calcutts Road | Ironbridge, Jackfield, Ironbridge Gorge TF8 7LH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Jackfield B&B and Inns
Cleethorpes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Perfect Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

A beautiful house and perfect Bed and Breakfast. We stayed in the Coachhouse which, although small was very clean and well furnished. We asked to see the bedrooms in the main house which were beautifully decorated with large bathrooms, so we will definitely request one of those next time.

Breakfast was excellent even offtering a vegetarian option. Plenty of pubs within walking distance.

Look forward to our return.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    22
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
10
67
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

I stayed here for a weekend with my two young children, it was great place to stay and reasonably priced as well. It was quiet and friendly, the food was great and the location was ideal for exploring the surrounding area, which was beautiful. I had a great time and would highly recommend this great b&b and the beautiful surrounding area of Ironbridge.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastAnglian
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

We wanted a central location for the Ironbridge museums and this could not be better - park the car in hotel's large carpark and walk in the beautiful gorge.
Owners very friendly and breakfast very good.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

We have just returned from a short break in Ironbridge and found Calcutts House everything we hoped for. Our coachhouse room, in fact everywhere we went, was very clean and well-equipped. The owners and their delighful dog Ruby were so helpful and welcoming. We really appreciated the cup of tea that Sarah made for us on arrival too! We really enjoyed our breakfast too. A real treat with local produce. Calcutts House is well-placed for a visit to this fascinating area. Our only complaint is that we did not book for longer. Much recommended.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2009

I lived in Calcutts House from 1953-1965 and it was a pleasure to visit it again.
I received an extremely warm welcome from Sarah the owner who was also keen to hear from me some of the history of the house and area. Stayed in the William Reynolds room which coincidentaly was my bedroom when I lived there. A really pleasant stay after so many years away.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

Thanks you Sarah, for your lovely warm welcome and helping my husband with his anniversary surprise. Calcutts is a great location for exploring Ironbridge, a lovely home from home welcome and a beautiful house and gardens.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

This guest-house has it all, Good Clean, well equipped rooms, very helpful staff.
And whats more a good restaurant (pub) very near in walking distance for those who need a no-nonse meal without driving after a long journey.
We will sefinitely return.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Calcutts House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Calcutts House

Address: Calcutts Road | Ironbridge, Jackfield, Ironbridge Gorge TF8 7LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ironbridge Gorge > Jackfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Jackfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Calcutts House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely 17th-century former Ironmasters home. Ideally located in the Ironbridge Gorge, within walking distance for many of the museums. Individually decorated bedrooms some with antique four poster beds are located in the main house and converted coach house. All have undergone much refurbishment in the last 3 years. A newly decorated comfy guest lounge awaits you where you can enjoy a cup of tea of coffee on arrival. Breakfast is served in our dining room with views of the gardens and the Ironbridge Gorge, enjoy a home cooked breakfast with locally produced ingredients. Leave your car in our private car park and walk to many local restaurants for your evening meal. A warm welcome assured. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Calcutts House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Calcutts House Jackfield, Ironbridge Gorge, Shropshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Calcutts House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.