We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Icehotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Icehotel to your Saves list
Icehotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marknadsvagen 63, Jukkasjarvi 981 91, Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jukkasjarvi
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014 via mobile

Visiting in December, just before Christmas was great as festive plus snow on the pine trees.

Stayed in both the ice room as well as warm cabin - both decent.

Great gear to borrow there including boots, one piece snowsuit, gloves and face burkha.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    214
    61
    28
    5
See reviews for
126
509
28
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We travelled as a family of four in August and stayed in a cabin for 4 people. the cabins themselves are adequate but nothing special.

The twin beds are v comfortable - the bunk beds good for kids but less comfy for adults. There is a total lack of storage space in the cabins - no shelves or cupboards to put things and limited hanging space with v few hangers. There is a kettle, microwave and fridge but these are not really self- catering places (don't think they aspire to be). There is no hob and very limited crockery,cutlery etc.

Two things set this place apart in summer. firstly the location is wonderful, right on the lake in the heart of the forest. It's only 15km from Kiruna but a world away in terms of beauty. Secondly, the staff we met were all without fail friendly and flexible, including email contact with them ahead of our stay. There seems to be a real "can do" approach often lacking in these kind of places. The guys at the activity centre were just great and we had a really wonderful day out rafting and fishing. Completely magical and the kids really loved it. All the activity leaders were friendly and took great care of us to make sure we had a good time. We particularly appreciated how flexible they were- they have a schedule of activities but were really helpful sorting us out with something tailored to us and our kids' ages which wasn't restricted to the advertised combinations.

Food was good - all served at the Homestead restaurant 900m up the road which is the only place they open during the summer. the menu is rather limited and I think we would had struggled a bit with the kids for more than a few days since they had both decided there was NO way they were eating reindeer.

In the winter, this place must be amazing, but we enjoyed the rather "out of season" feel.

This being Sweden, activities, food & drink are expensive although the room rate was pretty reasonable.

Room Tip: Some cabins have a lake view - might be worth asking for one of these
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vercelli, Italy
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

I only did the guided tour in summer, to the facilities and it was interesting to see how they make it, how they store the ice to build it, a nice guided tour, a bit expensive maybe, but interesting, maybe once I will experience how it will be to sleep there also

Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

From a sunny warm South African climate point of view, It is cold, it is expensive but it is BEAUTIFUL and worthwhile. My review will be based purely on the Ice Hotel and it's facilities. Not taking into consideration the lovely and nice warm rooms. Also keep in mind this was in winter with not much to do. Your cold room is only that. A room. No door just a curtain but who wants privacy in that cold any case. You are dressed in layers girl!!!Their are beds, bed lights but nothing else. Some grander rooms have seating "furniture" from ice, Depending on the type of accommodation you book you may either share ablution facilities or have private facilities. We shared. You get a locker to put your bags in and lock everything away. Then you walk in your pajamas to the room. Nothing strange as most others are as well. Make sure you go to the toilet before you go to bed as the ablution facilities are in another before the time as it will get cold! Somewhere through the night I took one of the reindeer skins and put that on top of me as well. But this will be like my firewalk - no grand affair, but something to remember!! Especially the art rooms. Lovely little lounge area for warm drinks or just drinks and something light to eat. The Ice Bar was of course very interesting, All glasses are made from ice. Do not put ice in your drink, put drink in your ice!! 2 Restaurants in Jukkasjarvi, the one a little bit cheaper that the other one but more cosy and less grand. Try both. Both serve good food. You can walk to both restaurants in town. Take the bus to Kiruna for a day there. Go see for yourself and come back smiling. Do not expect too much to do, especially in winter, but for the excursions the hotel offers. Which is interesting. Summer is surely a very different story. One day I will come back for a second visit in the summer.

Room Tip: I would think all rooms in the Ice Hotel sleeps the same, they just look different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

We spent christmas ar the Icehotel, a very nice and strange experience. The place is absolutely beautiful, the palace/hotel made of snow and ice is a marvel and the bar and church are works of art! There is a warm area where you keep your things in lockers and where you can also take a warm shower in the morning etc. Keep in mind that some of the hype comes from people not used to cold or even snow - the introduction starts with "have you ever slept in a sleeping bag?" and naturally if below -10 degrees and sleeping outdoors/in cold environments are very exotic to you this will add to the experience! We had dinner at the restaurant and it was excellent and borrowed snow kick-bikes to visit Jukkasjärvi church and the little souvenir shop next to it, which was nice.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I've been there in December 2013. An architectural masterpiece. Snow land. The most unforgettable memory for me: SnowMobile tour on frozen rivers and seeing a Reindeer in nature! We arrived at 13.30 to Kiruna airport and sky was nearly dark. Travelling to hotel with Huskey Sleds :)
Once in a life time... A place must see...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Jukkasjarvi, Sweden, is becoming a common item on many bucket lists. A recent visit to this little village 120 miles North of the Artic Circle was quite interesting. Even though the Ice Hotel isn't there during the summer, for obvious reasons, the possibility to stay at a Laplandic bungalow remained. Some of the pictures show where the ice is harvested from the Thorne River, behind the property. The Ice hotel is rebuilt every year for visitors to stay at. Each winter, 50.000 people, from all over the world, make the long trip to Jukkasjarvi, to experience the Ice Hotel. We were very fortunate to get reservations to the restaurant across the street during their annual Midsummer Lunch. All the Swedish favorites were on the buffet table. Smoked reindeer was my favorite and will be yours too. What a great meal!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Icehotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icehotel

Address: Marknadsvagen 63, Jukkasjarvi 981 91, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Norrbotten County > Jukkasjarvi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jukkasjarvi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Icehotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Icehotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icehotel Hotel Jukkasjarvi
Icehotel Sweden/Jukkasjarvi
Ice Hotel Sweden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Icehotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.