We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Creation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Icehotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Icehotel to your Saves list
Icehotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marknadsvagen 63, Jukkasjarvi 981 91, Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jukkasjarvi
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing Creation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Had booked a Nordic bungalow for four during this winter trip. Check in was smooth and we quickly got our room key. It was cozy and clean, though rooms were a bit small. One of the rooms had bunk bed and the other was a queen bedded. There was a living area with a small TV, plus microwave oven and complete set of cutlery.
We joined the free tour of the cold rooms organised by the hotel for all guests.
Most of the cold rooms do not have a proper locked door, just a curtain entrance. All the themes that they had were just simply amazing, and since it will be melted off every summer, there would not be any chance of preserving any of the designs.
We were able to get free winter overalls and boots to change into from the reception counter. This definitely helped to brave the cold of -12 deg C especially in the night and morning.
Breakfast was across the street in its own building and food selection was good.
Since our reason for visiting Sweden was to watch the northern lights, we took an aurora dogsled tour with Active Lapland and we were blown off our feet while sledding out of the forest when the light gave us an early spectacular show at around 830pm, reflecting off the white snow.
When we got back to icehotel, we took a path by foot to Thorne River behind the hotel but could not spot any lights.
Definitely recommended to stay at least one night in winter for the experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    231
    66
    31
    5
See reviews for
141
538
30
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

It was an adventure to go to this remote part of Sweden as part of our quest to see the northern lights. We wanted to stay at the Ice Hotel rather than just make a day trip as we were keen to wander around at leisure. We booked a warm hotel room rather than a cold/ice room although those are what attract most people to this hotel. As hotel guests, we had free access to the ice rooms and structures during the day. The art suites and sculptures were awesome. The artistry and skill that went into carving them is remarkable. If we had paid a huge(r) price to book one of these special rooms, we might have felt bound to stay up all night and keep the lights on just to make it all worthwhile! We do not regret the room choice we made. In the evening, we had a lovely though costly set dinner at the Ice Hotel Restaurant. The portions were small but the taste and presentation - some on ice plates - were great. After dinner, we were happy to retire to our room, which was spacious and warm (actually, too warm!). It was challenging walking around in the snow but the heavy waterproof boots provided by the hotel made moving around easy. The village about 1 km down the road was an interesting visit - there is an old church and a Sami museum and reindeer park, and we passed attractive houses along the way that reflected the artic lifestyle with snowmobiles and kick sleds parked in the driveways.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I stayed at the ice hotel as part of an organised group. It is rather expensive to visit but well worth visiting at least once. You are provided with a warm oversuit and snow boots if you want them during your stay and there is a warm room with large lockers for your bags and suitcases, there are also showers and toilets here too. When you get into the ice hotel itself you will be amazed at what can be built, especially the art suites when walking around you could here everyone usually saying wow as they entered each room. If you stay in the hotel I would recommend the ice rooms if you can afford - these are basic but have ice furniture and an ice picture and are just that little bit more fancy than the snow room. The shop is full of all the gifts you may want to purchase from pens to larger toys and jewellery. The restaurant was very expensive for what you get, but there isn't a great deal of choice where to eat. overall it is worth visiting at least once In your life.

Room Tip: on a tight budget choose a snow room, if you can afford a little bit more choose the ice room. Only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Spent a wonderful afternoon, evening and overnight in an ice room. Outside temperature -38, inside the ice hotel, -8, you can request a certificate when collecting your sleeping bag. Facilities very clean, staff very helpful and treated each couple as special. The lunch in the restaurant was full buffet style and excellent value, the evening meal was heavenly. The wine menu is pricey but the diamond cocktails good value and cheeky-think martini glass with a large cube of ice that you balance on your nose to sip your tipple! Sleeping in an ice room should be on your bucket list. Gift shop had range of goods to suit all pockets. One of our glass gifts was not packed with our shopping, we contacted by email and it was sent on to us by return, brilliant service.

Room Tip: Check the website for prices, they rise near the weekends, if you can afford it go for two nights, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg, Skåne Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Although it was a very short visit in Jukkasjärvi Icehotel I enjoyed every minute! It was so intense with all the excursions we made. We arrived at lunch time, had an excellent lunch and then discovered the surroundings. In the evening we drove snow scooter to a cabin where we had dinner. When we came out from the cabin we were lucky to see the northern light - Beautiful! Fantastic! We drove back to the hotel and slept on ice-beds in sleeping bags. Wonderful.
Next day sauna and then off with the sledge which we drove ourselfes. Four huskies in front of you who only wanted to run, run and run. Through snow-covered Beautiful landscape to a hut in the wilderness. Here sauna, good food and a nights rest. Next morning off again with the huskies and sledges back to the hotel. Very Quick visit but Worth every minute!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
106 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We are vegetarian but still the chef made special effort and the food was great.
The activities a few all worth trying out. Make sure you keep a warm room along with the ice room as I am susceptible to sinus and so had to move to it by four am due to headache.

Walk around the town and go visit abisko.
Amazing landscape and truly a place on the bucket list of must do in life.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We went there on a company trip and the ice hotel was obviously one of the highlights. It is absolutely impressive to walk through all the rooms in the afternoon and admire the ice sculptures and furnitures. Of course not to forget the ice cold drink at the ice bar. Sleeping in the cold room is not as bad as it sounds, you'll get a nice and warm sleeping bag which keeps you warm during the night. Just make sure you don't drink too much before going to bed because you don't want to get up again during the night. The wake-up call is done with some girls bringing hot juice to your bed.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jukkasjarvi
9.3 mi away
Camp Ripan
Camp Ripan
#1 of 10 in Kiruna
4.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
9.7 mi away
Scandic Ferrum
Scandic Ferrum
#5 of 10 in Kiruna
3.5 of 5 stars 207 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotell Vinterpalatset
Hotell Vinterpalatset
#3 of 10 in Kiruna
4.0 of 5 stars 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Hotel Samegarden
Hotel Samegarden
#2 of 10 in Kiruna
4.5 of 5 stars 26 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotel Kebne
Hotel Kebne
#4 of 10 in Kiruna
4.0 of 5 stars 73 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hotell City
Hotell City
#9 of 10 in Kiruna
3.0 of 5 stars 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icehotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icehotel

Address: Marknadsvagen 63, Jukkasjarvi 981 91, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Norrbotten County > Jukkasjarvi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jukkasjarvi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Icehotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Icehotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icehotel Hotel Jukkasjarvi
Icehotel Sweden/Jukkasjarvi
Ice Hotel Sweden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Icehotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.