We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a-m-a-z-i-n-g” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Icehotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Icehotel to your Saves list
Icehotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marknadsvagen 63, Jukkasjarvi 981 91, Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jukkasjarvi
Hyden, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“a-m-a-z-i-n-g”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

so awesome! loved it.beds and bathroom just omg defintley staying again.the resturaunt serves cold starters in ice dishes.there is no other hotel like this one!its a good cool place to stay.the one in sweeden is amazing!but if it wasn't for my childs social studie teacher I would of never of knew it even existed. so hope you enjoy your stay

Room Tip: make sure you get your coats!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    646
    229
    65
    29
    5
See reviews for
139
534
30
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ludham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Utterly extraordinary. There is nothing like this on the planet; it's a once-in-a-lifetime thing to do.

I love that you get a certificate in the morning congratulating you on surviving the night!!

The restaurant serves cold starters in ice dishes to keep the feeling of the place.

The IceBar is very expensive, with a shot of Vodka over £10 each. You don't want to offer to get a round in!

The Northern Lights viewed over the hotel is a natural wonder.

Just wonderful.

Room Tip: Go for a suite - it's worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Whilst travelling in Sweden and Lapland it appears our choice of the Ice Hotel was one which will ensure memories for a lifetime. This place is stunning and certainly worthy of a visit if you are seeking something out of the ordinary and not luxurious. I say that because when staying in the "cold" part of the hotel, (the Ice rooms) you don't have much more than a bed and some stunning ice sculptures etc, but that said, i'd go back in a heartbeat and we had a most memorable 3 days there. Set at a nice 5 or 10 below zero, these rooms are all different as a design sculpture has created each room on its own and no two rooms repeat. Walking around and see ing the variations and differences took us just under 1.5 hours as it is truly amazing to see the finished product they have. A drink at the Ice Bar is mandatory (in ice glasses) as is the view from the rooftop which give stunning views across to the horizon, which we saw at sunrise - and it was truly stunning. Day trips from the hotel are easy and this is another great stop point on any trip around Sweden for those who love getting into the climate and conditions of this arctic region. Service was great, rooms great and location stunning. Do the dog sleds whilst your there. Whilst they are not as "sensational" as the ones we did at Greenland, they are all the same a wonderful experience for those who partake.

Room Tip: If you stay in a cold room (Ice) then make sure you have 1 night in the "warm" rooms too a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We went in February and stayed both in Kiruna and Yukasyarvi where the Ice Hotel built each year in order to spend more time in the area and to keep the overall cost down.
We slept in a basic room which are further away from the changing room, showers and toilets but they are reasonably priced. The first night was spent in an ice room with three nights in a chalet allowing time to go on the excursions which are a must do.
We went on the night husky sleigh ride, the night motor sled excursion with supper in a hunting hut and reindeer racing all of which were great fun.
We were given a tour of the hotel when we arrived which included all the art rooms.
All in all an experience.

Room Tip: They give you all the information you will need to make you stay an amazing experience. One tip on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I believe most people come here for the experience instead of seeking a comfortable stay. To be honest, it's not hard to figure out that the stay is not all that comfortable. People might think it is over priced, maybe.. but I still think it is a experience worth paying for.

The hotel is opened for public during the day, so our room is not exactly ours until the visiting hour is closed. But the guest are given a small "changing room" to store our belongings and to change to "proper attires" for the night. The changing room is enough for a few luggages and have a bench to seat maybe 2 people. Other than that you can rest at the hotel lobby or bar. There are a few tours that the hotel operates to bring the guest around the hotel, check the timing with the front desk. The lobby for the "warm hotel" and the ice hotel is separate.

There is no difference to the snow rooms, but the design of each art suite is different and they are different each year. If you booked an art suite, the design is randomly assigned (I assume). I am a bit disappointed that we were not given a more interesting suite, well.. but we still can go in to have a look at all the other suites.

The dinner at the ice hotel is lovely. Dishes are served on ice plates and are delicious. The diamond cocktail is nice and interesting too and I am lucky enough to find a bottle of DRC Echezeaux at a bargain price which totally made my night. If you want to drink more, you can proceed to the ice bar, just don't try to stick your lips too long on the ice cups.

The bathroom is shared, like those in the gym. When it comes to bed time, each guest will be given 2 sleeping bags. A thin layer one, probably those thermal kind, and a thick, down-filled one. Wrap those sleeping bags around you in your changing room and get ready to run to your room. There is no lock for the rooms, as the hotel staff will walk in to wake you up the next morning with a hot lingo berry juice. The body will not really feel cold given the sleeping bags, the face is the part that will be suffered. Don't put any moisturizer as your face might just get frozen. Keep it dry, you should be fine. You will be given a certificate for sleeping overnight in a ice room and the room temperature and outdoor temperature will be stated.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at the Ice Hotel in March and it was an amazing experience . We had an Art Suite the first night , great fun.You wear as little as possible so make sure your ready to run to your room and get straight in your sleeping bag. . . .the giggling will keep you warm ! I even enjoyed getting up in the middle of the night to go to the loo, the hotel has an eerie mist inside it and as I crossed the yard to the warm side I caught an unexpected glimpse of the Northern lights !
The next day we went dog sledding ( my favourite bit ) the dogs are all happy and healthy and the mushers are extremely kind to the dogs and all commands are almost whispered . Just be aware the dogs love to run and don't stop to relieve themselves if you get my drift !
We upgraded our warm accommodation to an Arctic lodge well worth it and very easy access to everything you need to get to.
We went snowmobiling the next day and saw crystal clear skies and a magnificent display of the Northern Lights including a fabulous home cooked meal before the return journey back.
The Ice Bar is a must . Drinking cocktails out of an ice glass is delicious and its warmer in Ice hotel than you think as it's a constant -5C . . . .Toasty ! especially when it's -15C outside !!!
There's lots more to do so I'm sure we'll go back so if you're thinking about going . Get It Booked !!! And don't worry about what to wear they loan you an all in one suit for the duration of your stay along with boots,mittens and a hat if you want them .

Room Tip: Choose an Art Suite if you can afford it. You have a walk in locker room which is very useful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Amsterdam
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

What to say about this hotel...? You just GOT TO DO IT!!!
Completely made from ice, each winter they rebuilt it.
The rooms are amazing and divided in different categories: From a "basic" snow room till the magnificent ART rooms, filled with ice sculptures.
Definitely a must if you've never slept in an ice hotel before.
And definitaly a must if you've already slept in an ice hotel before.
Don't forget to take a drink in the ice bar.

Don't expect a lot of comfort in the ice part of the hotel. But they have a warm section as well, equiped with toilets, showers and, of course, a sauna.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Icehotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icehotel

Address: Marknadsvagen 63, Jukkasjarvi 981 91, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Norrbotten County > Jukkasjarvi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jukkasjarvi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Icehotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Icehotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icehotel Hotel Jukkasjarvi
Icehotel Sweden/Jukkasjarvi
Ice Hotel Sweden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Icehotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.