We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable, beyond anything you dreamd of” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Icehotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Icehotel to your Saves list
Icehotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marknadsvagen 63, Jukkasjarvi 981 91, Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jukkasjarvi
Lausanne, Amsterdam
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unforgettable, beyond anything you dreamd of”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

What to say about this hotel...? You just GOT TO DO IT!!!
Completely made from ice, each winter they rebuilt it.
The rooms are amazing and divided in different categories: From a "basic" snow room till the magnificent ART rooms, filled with ice sculptures.
Definitely a must if you've never slept in an ice hotel before.
And definitaly a must if you've already slept in an ice hotel before.
Don't forget to take a drink in the ice bar.

Don't expect a lot of comfort in the ice part of the hotel. But they have a warm section as well, equiped with toilets, showers and, of course, a sauna.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    185
    50
    20
    3
See reviews for
106
439
21
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

A visit to the Ice Hotel in Jukkasjärvi is extraordinary, exiting and fun!

Having a drink in an ice glass in the ice bar looking through an ice sculpture as window is remarkable is to say the least. Or get married in the ice church. Then going to bed in your underwear only, curl up in a raindeer skin and sleep like a baby i plus 4 degrees Celcius only...

Then next day take a trip on the river in a dogsled, or watching the northern lights during night. This is truly once in a lifetime experience!!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

A visit to the Ice Hotel in Jukkasjärvi is extraordinary, exiting and fun.
Having a drink in an ice glass in the ice bar looking through an ice sculpture as window is remarkable is to say the least. Or get married in the ice church.
Then going to bed in your underwear only, curl up in a raindeer skin and sleep like a baby i plus 4 degrees Celcius only...
Then next day take a trip on the river in a dogsled, or watching the northern lights during night.
This is truly once in a lifetime experience!!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We visited this place in Summer though people usually go there in Winters. Luckily for us they still had a smaller version of the hotel, with two cold rooms and since we were the only ones booked in the cold accommodation, we had the hotel to ourselves. The ice bar is cool and the staff very helpful. The night in the cold room is very comfortable with the sleeping bags. The location is just next to the river and is very nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcoola
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

A wonderous environment and well executed. The warm rooms are great, the Ice rooms itself was "survivable" and the activities were all first rate and hosted by interesting and caring people. We did snowmobiling, dog sled, ice driving, northern lights and of course enjoyed the Ice Bar each evening. Breakfast was amazing each day and the restaurants though limited to 2 were great dining experiences

Room Tip: we stayed in the "northern lights" ice suite... very nicely done.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

A wonderful experience which I thoroughly recommend. If you go all the way to the top of Sweden you simply mustn't miss staying a night here. Staying the night completes the whole 'icehotel' experience and it wouldn't be the same if you didn't stay the night. We were there at the very end of March so the hotel was fully completed and the weather perfect.

I have read some reviews complaining of the cold (!!!) but as someone who does not tolerate cold very well, I can assure you that once you are settled into your sleeping bag for the night you are very toasty, provided you follow the instructions of staff - ie wear a hat, do not overdress etc. Everything can be hired so do not worry too much about buying any new clothing to take. A pair of sweatpants and a long sleeved thermal top is sufficient. Individual sleeping bags are best even though the thought of sharing a double sleeping bag is romantic - if you want quality warm sleep then get a single! The only reason you could find it awkward in respect to the cold would be if you needed to get up several times in the night to use the bathroom.

It is pricey but the rooms have been sculptured by the most talented ice sculptors from all around the world who have spent many many months at work, so you get what you pay for which is a beautiful work of art to sleep in. The standard or northern light rooms didn't look as impressive as the art rooms but I didn't sleep in one so cannot comment on the experience in those type of rooms.

We stayed the following night in the warm part of the Ice Hotel which I do also recommend following your stay in the cold part.

Showers, changing facilities etc are all perfectly fine. If you pay for one of the pricier rooms in the cold Icehotel you will get a superb spacious private changing room to store your luggage and to change. The hotel provides a shuttle service from the airport too. The staff are all extremely helpful and there are many activities around the area that can be booked through them. Free wifi in all areas. Breakfast buffet is amazing and rivals most top hotels. There are a few eating places all in walking distance which all have very good food.

My husband booked this for me as a surprise and he suspected I wouldn't be too keen due to the cold but I loved it. A highly recommended experience.

Room Tip: Save up and stay in one of the Art rooms, it's well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Of course it's interesting, its a hotel made of ice. When you stay there you don't actually go to your room which is in a long corridor of rooms, until bed time. You are assisted with animal hides for a base and you are in thermals etc. Having a few drinks in town (their ice bar is ridiculously expensive) makes bed time a bit more comfortable.!

I wanted to tick it off the Bucket List, I've done it, I don't mind paying over the odds for experiences but I wouldn't dash back here, its overpriced. I stayed with the Sammi people in their village a short drive away for the following 4 nights and absolutely loved it, basic for sure but a great experience. We trekked with the tribe Elder, worked the reindeer, had the beautiful Northern Lights to ourselves on a Skidoo at 1am (November). Divine. You can visit the Ice Hotel rather than having to stay there, you see everything as Guests do, you just don't have to wait for bed time to be tucked in wearing your thermals.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Icehotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icehotel

Address: Marknadsvagen 63, Jukkasjarvi 981 91, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Norrbotten County > Jukkasjarvi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jukkasjarvi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Icehotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Icehotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icehotel Hotel Jukkasjarvi
Icehotel Sweden/Jukkasjarvi
Ice Hotel Sweden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Icehotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.