We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Icehotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Icehotel

Save Saved
You added Icehotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Icehotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marknadsvagen 63, Jukkasjarvi 981 91, Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Jukkasjarvi
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Icehotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Hotel very clinical and not very personable. Great experience though staff generally friendly. Unfortunately my husband was ill during our stay. We were left to sit in reception for 6 hours until a room was available. Not one member of staff came to ask us if we were ok. very disappointing as it was a fabulous part of the world to go and see. If everything goes well great place but if something goes wrong can be a miserable experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    511
    179
    50
    20
    3
See reviews for
102
427
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We spent 2 nights one in a warm room one in an ice room. The warm rooms were comfortable and we loved the heated floors. Food in the restaurant was excellent. Over our travels we saw 3 versions of ice hotels and this was the best by a mile. The art rooms were spectacular and they clearly had worked out how to do the ice rooms.

We had fun in the ice carving class and saw a new talent in our son. We spent the second night in an ice room not the best nights sleep but that was because we did not find the light switch under the mattress so slept with the lights on.

Ice bar was lots of fun

Room Tip: If I had a choice I would have gone with an art room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Icehotel is a once in a lifetime experience. It's worth doing once, but I would only do it once..
The Icehotel is a busy place with most people only staying a single night in the "cold" Icehotel.
We were warmly greeted and given all the instructions we needed to "enjoy" our evening in minus 5 degrees. The sleeping bags were very very warm. I wore thermals, a fleece, inners from my ski gloves, ski socks and beanie ..... I was very warm and I ended up shedding my fleece and gloves. The toughest bit was running in our "sleeping gear" plus arctic boots from the warm, out across the courtyard (minus 10 degrees), and into the room. Our daytime activities included a highly recommended dog sledding adventure up the river and through the woods and a nighttime skidoo chasing the aurora, which we didn't see but the adventure was alot of fun.

Room Tip: One close to reception so you don't have to haul your luggage too far over the snow and ice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We had 1 night in a warm room and 1 night in the ICEHOTEL. The warm suites were practical but comfortable. We ate at the Hotels own Homestead which is located 900m down the main road, the quality was fabulous. The ICEHOTEL & ICEBAR were special in every way, the hotel team could not do enough to make everyone's stay special. Recommend the 'Survive the night' induction at 5.30pm which is light-hearted but useful. Its up to you when you want to use the cold room to sleep in, we went after midnight, which seemed about right. The night was spent in a constant -5 degrees but was comfortable in the ICEHOTEL sleeping bags. Suggest you wear your thermal 'base-layer' to be cosy. At 7.30 you are woken by hotel staff bearing warm 'Lingonberry juice', which was nice! Breakfast was served across the road at the ICEHOTEL restaurant, the food was excellent. The ICEBAR was everything we'd expected but even better, the drinks, in ICE glasses were Vodka based and cost £11.00 each. The Main Reception also had a 'Warm Bar' which was quite busy and used by guests and locals alike. Recommend the 'Fresh Beer'.
There is little to do during the day and night so we'd pre-booked a 4hr 'Husky Sled' tour in the afternoon and 4hr Snow-mobile tour in the evening, both were spectacular. At the end you are presented with a Diploma of your night's stay. This was a dream come true for us, hope it is for you too!

Room Tip: The Art Suites are extra special, but also extra pricey!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We did not stay in the ice hotel - only had a quick visit on an afternoon which unfortunately we felt was not long enough to see everything as we were hurried up by our rep after an hour when we were enjoying a drink in the wonderful ice bar - something I had looked forward to for a long time - which as there was only the 2 of us on the trip seemed a bit silly! Consequently we missed the church. However, still got a feeling for the place and felt overall it was amazing although the basic rooms did not inspire us to sleep in them! Scenery beautiful and no doubt from the aurora viewing tower the sight would be spectacular if the lights were visable (which unfortunately they weren't for our 4 night trip due to cloud).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iver, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Had 1 night in cold accommodation in an art Suite and 1 night warm. Booked direct with Ice Hotel, who were very helpful and patient with my changes!! Well organised when there.
Did a husky trip and night time snow mobile trip. Was unlucky as did not get to see the northern lights. Was nice and warm when slept in Ice Hotel.
It was an excellent experience, wish I could have stayed longer, would love to go back.

Room Tip: Sleeping on a block of ice is what it is. You can save a lot of money by not having an art suite. Wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

This once in a lifetime experience comes at a not so cheap price but it is worth it. Everything is well organized, the rooms are great, especially the art suites. The showers and bathrooms are clean. They offer hot juice and water for free. The breakfast is very good and the prices in the icebar are not too bad. Try to take a picture of the drinks with a flash, the colors are great!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Icehotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icehotel

Address: Marknadsvagen 63, Jukkasjarvi 981 91, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Norrbotten County > Jukkasjarvi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Jukkasjarvi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Icehotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel and Venere so you can book your Icehotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icehotel Hotel Jukkasjarvi
Icehotel Sweden/Jukkasjarvi
Ice Hotel Sweden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Icehotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.