We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleeping in the fridge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Icehotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Icehotel to your Saves list
Icehotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marknadsvagen 63, Jukkasjarvi 981 91, Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jukkasjarvi
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Sleeping in the fridge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

A surprise trip for my wife and a return to Sweden for me we travelled to Stockholm with an overnight and then up to Kiruna and the minus 20 degree temperatures.

As part of an 'experience' package we stayed in Kiruna and as well as seeing the Northern Lights we were treated to dog sledging, wilderness trekking and snow mobile trips before being transferred to the Ice Hotel for a preview prior to the minus 5 degree bedroom sleep-over in one of the artistic suites.

We were awoken the following morning by hot lingonberry juice before taking the minus 30 degree walk to the ablutions and then into a breakfast.

The experience was then made even better by the walk along and across the frozen river with an air temperature ' things to do before ...' box and an opportunity to practice the Swedish, again.

Room Tip: An early review of the available suites is recommended to get the that of your choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    657
    232
    67
    31
    5
See reviews for
142
544
30
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Staying in the Ice Hotel (or rather the Ice Hotel complex) and (hopefully) seeing the Northern lights was a present to my husband for his 50th birthday. I did a lot of research and booked through an agency called Discover the World (recommended) as they offered the best value package. However I booked the excursions independently and used a small local company for the dogsledging tours which was excellent (http://www.sleddog.se/) as well as Kiruna Tours for a snowmobile excursion, also very good. However I would not recommend booking excursions with the Ice Hotel directly: the prices are much higher, the tours are shorter and far more crowded. As for staying at the hotel itself it was a mixed experience. The Ice Hotel and the Ice Bar were magical and an amazing experience; we spent one night in what is called Cold Accommodation in one of the Art Suites and although it was expensive it was worth it for the experience; however you do not spend that much time in your room as, at -5C, you do not feel like having some leisure time in bed! You are also woken up at 7.30am as the Ice Hotel is open to the public for visits from 10am to 6pm and there are queues waiting to come in from the moment the doors open; so you end up spending a lot of time in the warm part of the Ice Hotel and, unfortunately, this is a bit of a let down; the common parts are not very comfortable to say the least (no settees, only a few chairs and tables- very minimalistic) and quite busy as it is where all the people staying in the cold rooms gather- and you cannot help feeling that at these prices you could expect more. The sauna and showers are not amazing either and I have seen more impressive gym facilities. In fact, when I used them, there were not even bath towels as they had all been used and not been replaced. As for the warm accommodation itself it is spread out over quite a large area (our bungalow was quite far from the main reception building so be prepared to have to walk for breakfast as the main restaurant is located across the road from it); the room was comfortable and adequate but nothing fancy- very Ikea. The main reception itself has only a couple of settees and quite a poorly stocked cafe/snackbar at the back as well as loud, thumping music being played all day long; also the case in the Ice Bar for that matter. Food at the main restaurant was nice but we definitely preferred the other restaurant, the Homestead, which had far more character; however we found that it was only open in the evening and that you had to walk for nearly 1 km to get there as there is no navette supplied by the hotel. Another point which was a bit annoying was the fact that, although the hotel provides you with an all- in- one suit, boots and gloves for extreme temperatures you are not allowed to wear those if you go on excursions with other tour companies because of the branding. We found this out on the first morning as we were waiting to be picked up by Kiruna Tours; we had to leave our suits in reception and were given other suits by the different tour companies before each excursion; a bit of a nuisance as we were left to walk in -25C temperatures in-between excursions in city boots and coats.
All in all it was a marvellous experience and we were lucky enough to see the Northern lights. But this was due to the scenery, the excursions and of course the fact that the Ice Hotel itself and the Art Suites are a work of art; the hotel amenities, to be frank, were a bit souless and disappointing.

Room Tip: If you spend a night in one of the Art Suites in the Cold Accommodation ask to see the rooms as soon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The most amazing inspiring trip I will ever take in my life. A real holiday of a lifetime - a real must for those who like something a bit "different". Clean, friendly, unbeliveable night in the Ice hotel and a view of the Northern Lights at 2 am and minus 21 degrees and 2 nights in the warm accomadation - Cannot recommend enough !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed just one night in the cheapest cold room. It's expensive and I would suggest you stay somehere else such as the wonderful Lappeasuando Lodge in Gallivare to do an trips like Husky Sledging. ( Icehotel overnight sledging price currently 5950SEK 3pm to 11am , Lappeasuando Lodge price currently 2910SEK for 10am to 4pm!! ( they do transfers to Ice Hotel as well)). We slept well but we had spent a night earlier in the week in the igloo we had built which was about -17! If you worried about being cold go for single sleeping bags rather than doubles as they are easier to keep warm in.
The service was okay and the atmostphere in the ice bar in the evening was a bit dead. It was also a bit crowded in the morning when everyone is trying to get to their locker.
The nearby Homestead restuarant is excelent - the food is of such a high standing you don't mind paying Swedish prices.
In conclusion - this is definately a place worth visiting.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I can't speak highly enough of this place. Having stayed for three nights, one in an ice room and two in the warm accommodation, I can honestly say that the Ice Hotel is one of the best places I've ever experienced. The staff are friendly and welcoming, and the hospitality is second to none. Watching the Northern Lights on the viewing platform on the roof of the Ice Hotel was simply magical.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This is one of the things you definitely need to do if you are visiting Kiruna in Sweden, the experience of being in a hotel where everything is made of ice is extraordinary, I didn't spend the night because I was traveling solo and I preferred to spend the night at Reindeer Lodge, you can stay in the cabins outside of the ice hotel if you want more comfort too. Each year the hotel is rebuilt from scratch and new artists participating in the construction of the rooms. The bar it's pretty awesome too, but it only serve vodka

There are three room types inside:
1 - Single: Only one bed in four walls of ice.
2 - Medium: Bed, nightstand, table with two chairs in four ice walls.
3 - Main rooms: These are the rooms that are designed by artists from around the world and are perfect for honeymooners or couples in general. (but are more expensive and you have to book well in advance).

Room Tip: The bathrooms are outside the hotel, so you better go before entering (although you can go out to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

My daughter (13) and I visited this hotel in Jan this year.We loved the experience- we did not sleep over in an Ice room because we found it way too expensive for our budget and slept over in a warm room which I am glad we did, as people mentioned it really was cold and they couldnt get much sleep in and the realization of no ablutions(obviously) in the room put me off completely.The warm Kamos rooms were comfortable, and roomy.The Ice rooms with their unique themes were incredible;the ice sculpting was fun - having breakfast across the street was a bit of a bother.Walking into town to a supermarket is a bit too far for small children.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jukkasjarvi
9.3 mi away
Camp Ripan
Camp Ripan
#1 of 10 in Kiruna
4.0 of 5 stars 199 reviews
9.7 mi away
Scandic Ferrum
Scandic Ferrum
#5 of 10 in Kiruna
3.5 of 5 stars 230 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotell Vinterpalatset
Hotell Vinterpalatset
#3 of 10 in Kiruna
4.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Hotel Samegarden
Hotel Samegarden
#2 of 10 in Kiruna
4.5 of 5 stars 26 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotel Kebne
Hotel Kebne
#4 of 10 in Kiruna
4.0 of 5 stars 76 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hotell City
Hotell City
#6 of 10 in Kiruna
3.0 of 5 stars 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icehotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icehotel

Address: Marknadsvagen 63, Jukkasjarvi 981 91, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Norrbotten County > Jukkasjarvi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jukkasjarvi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Icehotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Icehotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icehotel Hotel Jukkasjarvi
Icehotel Sweden/Jukkasjarvi
Ice Hotel Sweden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Icehotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.