We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Experience - Do Trips with someone else” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Icehotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Icehotel to your Saves list
Icehotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marknadsvagen 63, Jukkasjarvi 981 91, Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jukkasjarvi
Essex
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Unique Experience - Do Trips with someone else”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed just one night in the cheapest cold room. It's expensive and I would suggest you stay somehere else such as the wonderful Lappeasuando Lodge in Gallivare to do an trips like Husky Sledging. ( Icehotel overnight sledging price currently 5950SEK 3pm to 11am , Lappeasuando Lodge price currently 2910SEK for 10am to 4pm!! ( they do transfers to Ice Hotel as well)). We slept well but we had spent a night earlier in the week in the igloo we had built which was about -17! If you worried about being cold go for single sleeping bags rather than doubles as they are easier to keep warm in.
The service was okay and the atmostphere in the ice bar in the evening was a bit dead. It was also a bit crowded in the morning when everyone is trying to get to their locker.
The nearby Homestead restuarant is excelent - the food is of such a high standing you don't mind paying Swedish prices.
In conclusion - this is definately a place worth visiting.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    192
    54
    21
    4
See reviews for
111
451
22
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I can't speak highly enough of this place. Having stayed for three nights, one in an ice room and two in the warm accommodation, I can honestly say that the Ice Hotel is one of the best places I've ever experienced. The staff are friendly and welcoming, and the hospitality is second to none. Watching the Northern Lights on the viewing platform on the roof of the Ice Hotel was simply magical.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This is one of the things you definitely need to do if you are visiting Kiruna in Sweden, the experience of being in a hotel where everything is made of ice is extraordinary, I didn't spend the night because I was traveling solo and I preferred to spend the night at Reindeer Lodge, you can stay in the cabins outside of the ice hotel if you want more comfort too. Each year the hotel is rebuilt from scratch and new artists participating in the construction of the rooms. The bar it's pretty awesome too, but it only serve vodka

There are three room types inside:
1 - Single: Only one bed in four walls of ice.
2 - Medium: Bed, nightstand, table with two chairs in four ice walls.
3 - Main rooms: These are the rooms that are designed by artists from around the world and are perfect for honeymooners or couples in general. (but are more expensive and you have to book well in advance).

Room Tip: The bathrooms are outside the hotel, so you better go before entering (although you can go out to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

My daughter (13) and I visited this hotel in Jan this year.We loved the experience- we did not sleep over in an Ice room because we found it way too expensive for our budget and slept over in a warm room which I am glad we did, as people mentioned it really was cold and they couldnt get much sleep in and the realization of no ablutions(obviously) in the room put me off completely.The warm Kamos rooms were comfortable, and roomy.The Ice rooms with their unique themes were incredible;the ice sculpting was fun - having breakfast across the street was a bit of a bother.Walking into town to a supermarket is a bit too far for small children.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

What an experience! My wife and I Came here as part of our honeymoon in January - Wow.

If you want to experience something different, sleep in a art gallery or try out being an Eskimo then this is the place. We stayed in one of the art suites - more expensive than a regular ice room - but an amazing experience. We were woke up with hot lingonberry juice (similar but sweeter to ribena).

The only disappointment was it was fairly quiet - we visited the ice bar and we were the only ones there but this never took away from the experience. Loved it and proudly display our certificates at home!

A must in your lifetime!!!!

Room Tip: pay more for art suite and get your own locker/ changing room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKG
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I went in January, so it had been built not too long ago.

The hotel experience here was wonderful
1. The rooms were beautiful, and guests are free to see all the art rooms before their booked guests settle in
2. The staff are helpful in directing you through the experience and very efficient. For example, they would offer a two person's sleeping bag even though it was not what you booked when they saw that you were a couple
3. Friendly staff
4. The restaurants had good food. It's not cheap. But its what is expected when you're at this part of the world. They have 2 main places to choose from, one is more modern european, the other more old school. I prefer the latter.

The ice rooms initially feel cold as you're walking through. But if its -25C outside, then inside its relatively warm.
The sleeping bags they provide are also SUPER warm. In fact, I woke up sweating the next morning.

So all in all a worthwhile experience!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Ca
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

The Icehotel may be best experienced in winter when all of the ice suites are created and ready for viewing, but the summer version was just enough cold for a CA girl. I spent the afternoon with Jasper ice sculpting, which was peaceful and fun! And no, I'm not an artist! There are three ice suites, as well as the ice bar, all of which were beautiful and showcased amazing ability to work with the ice and sn'ice. There are many activities for outdoorsy types, but I went up there for the Icehotel experience, gorgeous surroundings, and the proximity to a Sami museum/cultural center where I learned a great deal about these indigenous Europeans and reindeer herding. The breakfast at Icehotel is varied, tasty and filling. Do spend the extra money to eat dinner at the restaurant! The chef served up five different local, fresh entrees, each with yummy sides. I had at his recommendation the smoked reindeer with potatoes Ana and ratatouille that was absolutely delicious. For dessert, a trio of creme brûlée with local berries, blue, cloud, and lingon. Yummy times three!
The service all around was absolutely stellar, from my kind driver/tour guide Ava to everyone at reception and the restaurant. All claim to love their job, and since the world comes to visit the icy art amidst the beauty of the river Torne and the surrounding forest make it easy to see why they are genuinely pleasant people!
I heartily recommend a stay at the Icehotel! One note, if you take the 16 hour overnight train from Stockholm and back, bring along some food and drink--selections on the train were limited, and there was nothing open at Kiruna train station before the trip back to Stockholm when I went early June.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Icehotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icehotel

Address: Marknadsvagen 63, Jukkasjarvi 981 91, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Norrbotten County > Jukkasjarvi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jukkasjarvi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Icehotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Icehotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icehotel Hotel Jukkasjarvi
Icehotel Sweden/Jukkasjarvi
Ice Hotel Sweden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Icehotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.