We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED IT !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Icehotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Icehotel to your Saves list
Icehotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marknadsvagen 63, Jukkasjarvi 981 91, Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jukkasjarvi
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“LOVED IT !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

My daughter (13) and I visited this hotel in Jan this year.We loved the experience- we did not sleep over in an Ice room because we found it way too expensive for our budget and slept over in a warm room which I am glad we did, as people mentioned it really was cold and they couldnt get much sleep in and the realization of no ablutions(obviously) in the room put me off completely.The warm Kamos rooms were comfortable, and roomy.The Ice rooms with their unique themes were incredible;the ice sculpting was fun - having breakfast across the street was a bit of a bother.Walking into town to a supermarket is a bit too far for small children.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    185
    50
    20
    3
See reviews for
106
439
21
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yarm
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

What an experience! My wife and I Came here as part of our honeymoon in January - Wow.

If you want to experience something different, sleep in a art gallery or try out being an Eskimo then this is the place. We stayed in one of the art suites - more expensive than a regular ice room - but an amazing experience. We were woke up with hot lingonberry juice (similar but sweeter to ribena).

The only disappointment was it was fairly quiet - we visited the ice bar and we were the only ones there but this never took away from the experience. Loved it and proudly display our certificates at home!

A must in your lifetime!!!!

Room Tip: pay more for art suite and get your own locker/ changing room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKG
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I went in January, so it had been built not too long ago.

The hotel experience here was wonderful
1. The rooms were beautiful, and guests are free to see all the art rooms before their booked guests settle in
2. The staff are helpful in directing you through the experience and very efficient. For example, they would offer a two person's sleeping bag even though it was not what you booked when they saw that you were a couple
3. Friendly staff
4. The restaurants had good food. It's not cheap. But its what is expected when you're at this part of the world. They have 2 main places to choose from, one is more modern european, the other more old school. I prefer the latter.

The ice rooms initially feel cold as you're walking through. But if its -25C outside, then inside its relatively warm.
The sleeping bags they provide are also SUPER warm. In fact, I woke up sweating the next morning.

So all in all a worthwhile experience!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Ca
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

The Icehotel may be best experienced in winter when all of the ice suites are created and ready for viewing, but the summer version was just enough cold for a CA girl. I spent the afternoon with Jasper ice sculpting, which was peaceful and fun! And no, I'm not an artist! There are three ice suites, as well as the ice bar, all of which were beautiful and showcased amazing ability to work with the ice and sn'ice. There are many activities for outdoorsy types, but I went up there for the Icehotel experience, gorgeous surroundings, and the proximity to a Sami museum/cultural center where I learned a great deal about these indigenous Europeans and reindeer herding. The breakfast at Icehotel is varied, tasty and filling. Do spend the extra money to eat dinner at the restaurant! The chef served up five different local, fresh entrees, each with yummy sides. I had at his recommendation the smoked reindeer with potatoes Ana and ratatouille that was absolutely delicious. For dessert, a trio of creme brûlée with local berries, blue, cloud, and lingon. Yummy times three!
The service all around was absolutely stellar, from my kind driver/tour guide Ava to everyone at reception and the restaurant. All claim to love their job, and since the world comes to visit the icy art amidst the beauty of the river Torne and the surrounding forest make it easy to see why they are genuinely pleasant people!
I heartily recommend a stay at the Icehotel! One note, if you take the 16 hour overnight train from Stockholm and back, bring along some food and drink--selections on the train were limited, and there was nothing open at Kiruna train station before the trip back to Stockholm when I went early June.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

A friend and I travelled around Europe for 2 months, mostly staying in hostels. We decided that this, the Icehotel, would be our big splurge though! We stayed in one of the art suites, hoping that we would not have just wasted ridiculous amounts of money.

And we didn't! Yes, it was expensive, but it was such an experience that it was worth paying the money for. We had so much fun, and I will never forget it! We were too broke to pay for any activities, which would have definitely improved our stay, but instead, enjoyed the ice-bar and we still got to see the northern lights - simply by checking outside frequently! It was amazing!!

I had a fantastic sleep - even though it is minus 5 degrees, the sleeping bag is great, I didn't feel the cold :) The staff are great and really seem like they want to be there which creates a nice atmosphere. The bartender was particularly entertaining :)

All in all, I would recommend this highly, the hotel is magnificent, and our room (one of the art suites) was awesome!!

Room Tip: The art suites are pretty fantastic, but very expensive. Even if you book a cheap room, you still ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

stayed here 3 nights, thankfully only booked one night in the actual ice hotel and the other 2 in the regular hotel...the ice portion is cool but absolutely freezing and difficult to get great sleep. we went in april and they use the same reindeer skins all season long, so by april they smelled funny. the night in the regular hotel (plain, clean, with ikea style furniture) was fine.

as soon as you get there, go look at all the ice hotel rooms and request the one you want to stay in at the front desk. they are all different.

my fiancé is tall and his head stuck out of the special sleeping bag the whole night in the ice hotel so he froze all night long, even though he wore a hat. i was warm. the hot lingonberry juice was awesome in the morning.

the two restaurants within walking distance were delicious but served small portions and were very expensive (a common theme in sweden).

we did the snowmobile excursion and got to see the northern lights which is one of the coolest, most magical things i've ever seen...worth every penny. it was extremely cold, though. they served hot soup/stew halfway through which was a life saver.

getting to kiruna was expensive and kind of a pain. i'm glad i had this experience but wouldn't do it again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

Half the fun was getting there. We stayed in Kiruna one night and enjoyed the small arctic town. The next day we stayed at the ice hotel. Yes, it is expensive but it was worth it for the experience. The absolute bar is fun and the restaurant across the street is top notch.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Icehotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icehotel

Address: Marknadsvagen 63, Jukkasjarvi 981 91, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Norrbotten County > Jukkasjarvi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jukkasjarvi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Icehotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Icehotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icehotel Hotel Jukkasjarvi
Icehotel Sweden/Jukkasjarvi
Ice Hotel Sweden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Icehotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.