We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sami Culture Retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sami Open Air Museum

Sami Open Air Museum
Marknadsvagen 84, Jukkasjarvi 981 91, Sweden
+46 980 21329
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Sami Culture Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I wnjoyed the history, the church next door was part of the experience. My nephews enjoyed the rheindeer rides, but I spent several hours in :geek history bliss: ! I was always fasinated by Sami culture and after my visit to this museum I am even more interested in such a great people and culture. The small gift shop had many great books and souvenirs. The staff at the museum went out of their way to be informative

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    23
    20
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Watch out for hungry reindeer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Feed them through the fence and THEN enter the enclosure if you want to walk with them. (though when the food's gone they ignore you) If you walk into the enclosure with the food they can get really aggressive.

As other posters noted this is on the pricey side. I think they count on people held captive at the Ice Hotel up the street for the majority of their business. I didn't regret going but just know it'll be a quick trip - it's a small place and it's more educational than exciting.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice museum for feeding reindeer and learning about Sami but not value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We went to the Sami museum on 28th Dec and were excited to see the reindeer. There is a small open air museum about the Sami Culture. However we found this was not value for money as it cost around 200 SEK pp. However the lady at the reception did offer us tom come back next day during the day to watch reindeers again.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“impressive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I loved this experience I stumbled on it by accident as it wasn't too advertised we went to the church first which is beside apart from learning about the culture the guides certainly knew their stuff and everything was well documented with diagrams and pictures. I bought a few souvenirs in a shop there and also a hot chocolate in the cafe part of the shop, there too and we were able to buy bags of moss and feed the resident reindeer in the the enclosure which we did.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Small, quaint, cozy + souvenirs & reindeer!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

It's easy to walk here from the Ice Hotel and you can also see the church next door at the same time (when they tried to convert the native Sami to Christianity). Interesting to see the Sami structures outdoors in the snow and to feed the reindeer some lichen. Indoors there is a small souvenir shop & cafe. We got the best souvenirs here! Sat and had a muffin and hot chocolate before walking back to the hotel in the snow. Lovely.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sami Open Air Museum also viewed

Jukkasjarvi, Norrbotten County
Jukkasjarvi, Norrbotten County
 
Jukkasjarvi, Norrbotten County
 

Been to Sami Open Air Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sami Open Air Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.