We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closer to genuine Sami culture than the Ice Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sami Open Air Museum

Sami Open Air Museum
Marknadsvagen 84, Jukkasjarvi 981 91, Sweden
+46 980 21329
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Warminster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Closer to genuine Sami culture than the Ice Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We visited twice during our stay. 150SKr each to get in (that is well priced for this area) and you learn so much more about the Sami way of life than any guide from the Ice Hotel was prepared to share with us! The reindeer are a tad boisterous - I only wish my reindeer had been offered lichen when it was pulling my sled at 0.2 kph on an earlier Ice Hotel tour. Museum staff were friendly, knowledgeable and appreciative of our efforts to walk there (only 800 metres from the Ice Hotel but minus 35 degrees C!). Why wouldn't you go there?!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    23
    20
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“A Reindeer hit my Boyfriend in the face!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We went for a short wander around Jukkasjarvi and stumbled across this place by accident. It was worth a look, the entrance was not expensive and we thought it would be interesting. We had a short browse and went to the reindeer enclosure with a bag of lichen to feed them with. The reindeer are very friendly however, we had a small problem as one was a bit too keen to get the food from my boyfriend! The reindeer actually reared up on his hind legs and whacked my boyfriend in the face with his hoof! This left him with a black eye but it was not too bad. It did give us quite a funny story to tell in the hotel however. It was even more amusing as he proposed that evening in the Icehotel restaurant!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Homely, but tired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Good history, and gave you a very good idea of what life was like, felt tired though, but excellent Hot Chocolate

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Check it out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Good healthy walking distance from the Ice Hotel. We found the museum quite interesting, loved the shop and the staff for very helpful.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Nice place to stroll around learning about sami culture. There are some reindeer that you can feed, a souvenir shop and small coffe shop. It's not far from the icehotel. Quite entertaining.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sami Open Air Museum also viewed

Jukkasjarvi, Norrbotten County
Jukkasjarvi, Norrbotten County
 
Jukkasjarvi, Norrbotten County
 

Been to Sami Open Air Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sami Open Air Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.