We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apartment - Perfect for a family vacation (+ outstanding views)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Diana

Hotel Diana
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Diana to your Saves list
Hotel Diana
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fronweg 30, Portschach am Worther See 9210, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
New York, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Apartment - Perfect for a family vacation (+ outstanding views)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed in the apartment (building right next to the hotel) in July with our two children and found it perfect. The apartment is large, clean and well-furnished, with two bedrooms, a large living room, eat-in kitchen, bathroom and balcony with beautiful views of the surrounding mountains as well as the lake. Our stay included breakfast in the hotel and we were out most of the day, so we did not use the kitchen much, but has all the hardward you need to cook your meals there. The hotel is convenient to the town yet far enough away that you do not hear the noise from the lake when there are events in town (like the Body Painting Festival that was there during our visit). The owners and their son couldn't be friendlier, and they are willing to help with any questions you have about the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    5
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
3
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Heysham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I'll keep this short and sweet as it was a return visit. Stayed for a week in May and we weren't disappointed, Karin and Ernst making us feel as comfortable as possible, their English is far better than our poor effort at German. This time we stayed downstairs in newly appointed rooms with a terrace outside, no complaints at all. As usual the food was excellent, all cooked by the resident chef. A lovely guesthouse in a great location, and I can't think of anything remotely negative to say about the place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thamestrader
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We visited in October and still loved the lakeside promontory out of season in 'Golden October'. Our downstairs outwards room was expensively appointed and this probably accounts for the price. The breakfast was average but completely adequate, the availability of hot food was a disappointment. The eating area was also 'interior designed', classy. It is an easy walk/run to the lake from the building under the Station passenger tunnel. Some of the roads are very narrow so finding the place was fraught. This was, in my view, expensive for an out of season B&B but the room fittings were hotel, not B&B.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Friendly welcome at the hotel and helpful staff. Rooms a bit cramped, would have been better to leave out the table and chairs and have more space, but clean and well looked after. Think our boys ran out of hot water in the shower one morning. Breakfast was rather disappointing compared to some of the other hotels where we stayed in Austria. Could have been more choice and more plentiful supply of bread, rolls etc. Pretty garden area at the front. About 15 minute walk to the lakeside.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

The staff were very friendly, the room was clean and nicely furnished. Maybe a little small, but since I was travelling alone, that was all I needed. Would not consider going anywhere else next time

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heysham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

We stayed at Hotel Diana after eating there in 2009, and realising we should have been staying there all along. Spotlessly clean, excellent food, cracking location for what we needed....far enough out of town, but close enough if you know what I mean, and even though we sometimes had a little problem with the language barrier, only due to our ignorance, we were made to feel very welcome by Karin and Ernst, and were helped on numerous occasions.

If you want 5* luxury, it isn't that, but if you want a good, honest little place to stay, it's an absolute belter.

Hopefully going back in 2011, with a party of 10.

I would certainly recommend it, and can't imagine you'd be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

We stayed the Hotel/Restaurant Diana in June 2009 and we really liked this hotel. It is a small, friendly, exceptionally clean hotel that is situated in the hills of Portschach, a 5 minute walk into town and about a 10 minute walk to Lake Worthersee. The Hotel Diana has lovely traditional Austrian rooms with digital TV and balcony/patio. This hotel has a lot of clients who return year after year.

The Hotel Diana charged 34 Euros per person per night with breakfast or 42 Euros person per night half board and we found this to be very good value for the Portschach area. Ernst and Karin, the owners, spoke very good English. They served a good choice of breakfast and the 3-course evening meals were very tasty and huge, not surprising as they have their own chef. Drinks were very reasonable; a large lager was 3 Euros. The menus were also in English, which was really helpful for us, as most of the restaurant menus in town and on the Lake Worthersee promenade were in German and it was difficult for us to work out what the meals actually were.

After dinner, if we didn’t want to walk into town and along the Portschach promenade, we sat in the lounge bar, the outside front patio area or the very large, attractive gardens, depending on the weather. The staff and other guests, a mixture of German, Austrian and English, were all very friendly.

Like many hotels in the area, the Hotel Diana gave us a free Worthersee/Kärnten card, saving us 42 Euros per person and Karin booked us on a free 3-country trip to Lake Bled in Slovenia and Tarvis in Italy, using this card. (You can go free of charge on 3 of 19 different excursions offered with this card).

If your accommodation doesn’t give you this free card, the basic Kärnten Card, which doesn’t include these excursions, is 36 Euros and can be bought at the information office, situated next door to the post office in Portschach. Having a free Worthersee/Kärnten Card is obviously a big saving and makes the Hotel Diana even better value for money. The card also gives free travel on the lake ferries, half price travel on the trains and buses and free or reduced entrance prices to many tourist attractions.

I would recommend the Hotel Diana to people who want a quiet, authentic Austrian hotel that serves good food for a reasonable price.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Diana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diana

Address: Fronweg 30, Portschach am Worther See 9210, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Carinthia > Portschach am Worther See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Portschach am Worther See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Diana 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Diana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Diana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.