We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Greek summer holiday hotel with a few surprises in an excellent location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Elea Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Elea Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Elea Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 186, Dassia 49100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 18 hotels in Dassia
Thessaloniki
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Typical Greek summer holiday hotel with a few surprises in an excellent location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

This is a very typical Greek summer holiday hotel. A concrete monstrosity with no character straight back from the 70s and 80s when the economic boom in Greece resulted in hundreds of identical hotels scattered all over the country and destined for the economy-class tourist who began to rediscover Greece. Anyway, the location is nearly perfect within a beautiful, well taken care garden. The room was clean, a bit small, but this was no problem as we were out most of the time. I liked the pastel shades though and the balcony had a nice view. Bathroom old and plain with white tiles and basic quality toiletries which were given once and that was it for the rest of the stay. Sleep quality so and so as the noise from the nearby bars goes on till the early hours. Breakfast and dinner were well presented and tasty with excellent variety and choice. But when it comes to the restaurant itself, it was more like a university refectory with no sign of decoration or personality and always crowded with all sorts of types. I guess this is the result of the all-inclusive package holiday. You get what you pay for and there is never a bargain on site.

The hotel could do better with a bigger pool. There is a "no diving" sign but everybody does so and this can be annoying. At least it seemed to be clean every day. And the custom of paying 2 Euros for a sunbed if you are on half board is beyond comprehension and so is the internet in the lobby with the same price for 30 minutes and a slow connection most of the times. I cannot speak in detail about the entertainment programme of the hotel because it seemed a bit tacky but I guess a number of families would find it useful especially for the children. What became as a great surprise though was the professional service at the restaurant and the well-mannered and kind ladies in attendance. This is mostly uncommon at similar hotels in Greece especially when all-inclusive guests are involved.

In general, I should say that this is a good hotel and families with small children will mostly appreciate it. Otherwise it is nothing extraordinary, especially for Corfu standards where you can find almost everything within the whole price range. And by the way, the coral pink sofas at the lobby were among the best I've seen even at luxury hotels around the globe and the Art Nouveau lighting appliques on the ceiling were to die for. Well, you can say there is always something for everyone...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    43
    30
    10
    4
See reviews for
30
40
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

I just came back with my whole family yesterday afternoon. i must admit we all loved the hotel and we wouldn't mind staying a more week.
The staff was very gentle. We were given 2 non connecting rooms in the 1st day as the hotel was fully booked but at the 1st opportunity the hotel receptionist, whose name I can hardly pronounce, called us and gave us the option to upgrade to the Zimmer rooms which are more spacious with two large double bed room and a television in each one of them and most of all made us and our 3 children very happy. Children could always go to the ping pong tables or to the swimming pools themselves.
We took the all inclusive package which allowed the kids to ask for sandwiches and soft drinks whenever they felt like it and not to talk about the barmen who were very friendly and professional. Entertainment and activities were always available at comfortable times. Rooms are very clean and very good room service.
5 minutes walk from hotel you can hire a boat for the whole days starting from 65 to 120 Euro (40 Horse powered boats) at Antonios's where you get hotel discount and believe me it's cheap if youy compae to other activities or boat rides which cost 25 Euro per person. ( 120 Euro for 5 people is really worth it)
You also get 20% discount for neach activities like skiing, parachuting and oter fun activities which are just 50 meters from the hotel beach.
I am highly recommending Elea Beach Hotel for families who want to enjoy their holidays. Remember that if your kids are enjoying their time, you have time to enjoy your own time too and have a little space for privacy too.

Oren

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Just returned from 10 days in corfu with my husband & four children & what a time we've had. When we first arrived we were placed in 'the hotel from hell' the Magna Graecia and promptly moved to the Elea Beach. There is not one negative I can say about this hotel from the location to accommodation to the food and the delightful & friendly staff. We had the most amazing time and the watersports available on the beach were fantastic. It's not cheap here so I advise you go all inclusive but Dassia itself is great for all ages with lots to do. We would recommend this lovely hotel to anyone and we will definately be going back!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

The hotel is located on the sea front,almost in the centre of a half moon bay and with superb views across to Albania and the Greek mainland and to Corfu town. The hotel provides a full entertainment programme, daily aquarobics in the crystal clear sea, darts competitions,Boules etc under the guidance of a guy who keeps things moving.
Food here gives a superb choice at all times and is of excellent quality. Some of the sweets are to die for. Staff, from the cleaners to the resteraunt and the bar staff are all pleasant and friendly and enhance the experience of being here. Evening entertainment includes a very good magic show, some fabulous traditional Greek dancers, Bouzuki playing duo who provide a range of traditional and popular music and other entertainment to fill each evening. All finishes at approx 11.30 pm so that you can retire for a peaceful nights sleep. Rooms are comfortable and kept spotlessly clean by a dedicated team of cleaners. The grounds are extensive and well maintained and contain two adult pools and two childrens pools which are cleaned daily.
Would unreservedly reccommend this hotel, its magic.

Room Tip: sea view rooms are odd numbers
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield. England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Just got back from our holidayat Elea beach. We went on an all inclusive basis and enjoyed most of what was on offer. The food was good and there was a good variation to choose from. We found the bar staff very friendly. the hotel was mostly full of German-French and Scandinavians but we got on alright with them- there were ample sunbeds and umbrellas although the umbrellas had a 2 euro charge. The entertainment at night left a lot to be desired ( we went to a local bar several times where they did have a decent singer on). The beach is shingle and very hurtful to the feet but the sea was quite warm once you were in . The hotel has 2 large swimming pools whch are kept clean and the grounds around the hotel are extensive. It is one of the best Greek hotels that we have stayed in. We went with with Thomas Cook and must say that every thing was on time. There is not much in Dassia Itself and some areas are a bit run down but all in all we had one of the best holidays we have ever had and could have stayed another week.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

I stayed in a one of new renovate apartment of this hotel. The hotel have a good location directly on the beach, the sea is clean but very quite. The food was nothing extra, but was absolutely o.k.
But this hotel is not four stars hotel, is average three stars hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

This is a lovely locally owned Greek hotel, with the very excellent greek cleanliness factor. (Note to Sunshine Vacation, please talk to the managers of this hotel and organise some CPD for your own cleaners from this hotel. ) Cleanliness was brilliant at this hotel - we even noted that the cleaners had brought new top bedspreads to replace as we checked out after a week's stay. Now hands up all those who know that the bed spread in their hotel has seen at least one season's wear!

Apart from the extremely high standards of cleanliness, and lovely personable cleaners who understand English and German, this hotel is excellently and freshly decorated.

Our stay here was somewhat shortened by the inability of Thomas Cook to get us to Corfu within 22 hours of our intended arrival - I will not go there in this review, but you will understand that when we did arrrive there we were in need of a bit of a haven. That is exactly what you will find there. There are loads of lovely tavernas, beach bars in the vicinity, and this hotel is excellently situated for buses into Corfu town - collect your tickets from the ideally located supermarket just next to the hotel, and meander up the road in less than 5 minutes.

Food- normal hotel standard - no upset tummies whatsoever, with an excellent Maitre'd and lovely serving staff who will bring wine, chat, clear plates and help whenever possible. Yes this is a serve yourself buffet, but as others have said a good choice of food, with an international feel.

Bar - the hotel has a wee bar where the bar-tenders are excellent and quickly get to know your favourite drinks. There is also a lovely wee parrot-type bird in a cage who loves to say hello to people, so if visiting please go and talk to her. (We couldn't get her to say bye bye, but say hello and she'll reply!)

The hotel is also located on the beach so as well as the sea you will find three pools. Our problem was that we arrived (as well as the TC delay) at the near end of season, with Corfu experiencing the worst weather in years. Rain, rain rain and cold. So no pool for us, and no swimming - unless we fancied hypothermia.

This is a reasonably sized hotel and despite only being there for a week (or 6 nights after TC), the two receptionist staff soon recognised us and had our key ready for us before we asked. So a very personal and friendly service.

There were many Greeks staying at this hotel, and I always take this as a sign of a good hotel. The hotel has the most fantastic views over the bay and you will see Corfu town forts and all the cruise ships coming and going, and we had fantastic balcony views of some wonderful lightning strikes illuminating the sky when we were there.

Mattresses were excellent, as were the storage facilities, with plenty of hangars and enough drawers for two. The bathroom was well lit and very very thoroughly cleaned every day. Like other reviewers, I am sure our sheets were changed daily. Decor was also extremely fresh and co-ordinated and I couldn't see any dodgy artwork, in fact the hotel had some lovely oil paintings of corfiot scenes (eg. beaches, olive trees etc.)

We stayed here (eventually after the TC debacle) during some really awful, awful weather, the hotel looked good even during that, and it was clear on some nights that the hotel entertainment man had organised entertainment to try to cater for the fact that the weather was so bad.

So yes, I'd certainly have no reservations about visiting again. One thing to note however is that you can't charge anything to your room and pay on the credit card at the end, so please just make sure to take money accordingly. Bar prices are not extortionate - you try paying 1.50 euro's for a reasonable glass of wine in the UK.!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elea Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elea Beach Hotel

Address: PO Box 186, Dassia 49100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Dassia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Dassia
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Dassia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Elea Beach Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Otel, Tingo and Despegar.com so you can book your Elea Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elea Beach Corfu
Hotel Elea Beach
Elea Beach Hotel Corfu/Dassia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elea Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.