We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overall good vacation, but a little disappointing hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dassia Chandris

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dassia Chandris to your Saves list
Dassia Chandris
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dassia Bay, Dassia 49100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Dassia
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“overall good vacation, but a little disappointing hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

we spent a week in dassia chandris, not many kids in the hotel which is a plus, lots of older couples which is also a plus because we wanted a quiet vacation. the service was great as everywhere in greece, great hospitality from greek people. the beach was nice and big, quite different from other beaches, a lot of grass and trees which was great to hide from the sun. But...
we had breakfast and dinner included and for the dinner they charged us for all the beverages including water! i have never experienced it before! everyone was not happy about it, especially that you paid for dinner to begin with...another minus: the sunbeds were too expensive, 3 euros if you lay far from the beach and 5 euros on the beach under umbrella.the bathroom was also not the cleanest and definitely needed renovations, as well as rooms. location was good, not far from kerkira, the capital of corfu, which is very beautiful town. also the sea was not as clean as in crete and other greek resorts. i would return to corfu, but not to cassia chandris

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManolisPapadakisGM, General Manager at Dassia Chandris, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you so much for providing feedback on your recent stay here at the Chandris Dassia hotel! I am pleased to read that overall you had a good vacation. I would like to apologize for the misunderstanding you dealt with regarding the beverage charges at the restaurant. Just for your information our half board accommodation packages does not include beverage consumptions. As per the sunbed charges we offer several daily prices. Again, thank you for your review and we hope you'll give us another chance in the future!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    137
    59
    24
    20
See reviews for
132
147
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

As other reviews nice hotel, decent food and friendly staff. A bit better than some of the other comparable hotels on the island. It is a big hotel though and was getting busy late June putting pressure on the dining room staff to keep up.

Room Tip: Worth paying to get a sea view as the road outside the hotel is busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManolisPapadakisGM, General Manager at Dassia Chandris, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thanks so much for reviewing our hotel. I am certainly pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Chandris Dassia hotel. We look forward having the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi Sad, Serbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is fairly big hotel complex for Greece (it consists of 2 hotel buildings and quite some bungalows) with shared facilities beach, pools, playgrounds.
Overall impression that this is relatively old complex (i would say 30 years at least) but very well maintained and obviously refurnished and reconstructed on a regular basis.
The first impression that lasted for whole holiday was cleanliness and gardening of the facility which was of highest level. These two facts alone for me would be enough to give Chandris few two thumbs up! One thing that you should be aware though is that the hotel beach i in fact a public beach and that whole \hotel complex is used a walkway and through way for many non hotel guests which is sort of regulated by hotel security but you definitely don't have any type of privacy or exclusivity, this goes to the level where sunbeds right in front of hotel are chargeable for everybody including the hotel guests. As usual in hotels breakfasts and dinners are great for first several times then after a while it becomes a bit repetitive but both the selection and the service was at OK level so o big surprises in that regard (please note that men are expected to wear pants during the dinner, a bit of a push but in Greece they tend to to this quite often). There are 3 pool areas again well taken care of and quite standard (you will not find any type of huge/dominating pool areas like at some resorts have), but you will have your share of daily organized daily activities in and close to the pools.. Evening entertainment is bit lame but for my kids (5,3) it was great so no huge issue there either. Note that Dassia itself has very little to offer, so it is either a hotel complex or nothing (so definitely plan for a car/bike/quad/rental).

Room Tip: We have specifically asked for ground floor sea view rooms (by friends recommendation) and they were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManolisPapadakisGM, General Manager at Dassia Chandris, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay here at the Chandris Dassia hotel! I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Glad that you enjoyed our services and our cuisine during breakfast and evening meals. Thank you for your recommendation for families with children. I am really happy that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Look forward having the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Just got back from a week at The Dassia Chandris. Iv'e never bothered to write a review on here before but was so happy with our holiday I decided to write one for this hotel.
The staff were helpful and friendly, everything was very clean, the room was lovely (although next time I will be requesting a sea view room) not because of any problem just the scenery is stunning and I would love to wake up to it every morning. The food was excellent especially breakfast and the desserts, and the beach was gorgeous. We only used the pool once as we prefer the sea but it was lovely too. We did take advantage of the happy hour prices on drinks and the cocktails were great, but did tend to go out in the evenings to the tavernas across the road. All in all a wonderful holiday and we are already making plans to return there for one of our holidays next year. Thank you for making our week a great one.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManolisPapadakisGM, General Manager at Dassia Chandris, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Well your review was definitely worth waiting for! Thank you very much for your comments.
I am really glad that you enjoyed your stay in the Chandris Dassia hotel. Glad that you find our staff all helpful and friendly, and that you find the food excellent especially breakfast with it's desserts. Certainly glad that you took advantage of the happy hour prices on drinks and that our cocktails were great !!! I am really happy that you had a fantastic holiday.
We strive to provide our guests with the ultimate Chandris resort hotels experience and certainly hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiova, Romania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed in this hotel just 2 nights, but they were enough to make us want to come again. I have the feeling that this hotel was designed for elders/families that want to have a great time relaxing on the beach.

GOOD PARTS:

- good food, and plenty of it

- nice beach (although part of it is made of rocks - some 4-5 meters or so), with garden/vegetation that keeps the temperatures lower

- clean & modern room

- nice bathroom with all the things you would expect from a 4 stars hotel

OK/BAD PARTS:

- small pool (but if you ask me it would be a shame to stay there instead of walking 40-50 meters to the beach!).

- no animators (or at least we didn't see any).

- just one main restaurant (or more, but we didn't see them)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManolisPapadakisGM, General Manager at Dassia Chandris, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you so much for providing feedback on your recent stay here at the Chandris Dassia hotel! I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our cuisine during breakfast and evening meals and that you found our beach and gardens lovely. Certainly hope to welcome you back in the near future perhaps more days this time.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

First impressions - ok. Reception large and open. Greeting efficient. Lifts - one not working and the other frankly was a bit tatty. However, we were only two floors up so after the first journey we used the stairs. Room was fine - perhaps not four stars, but three. We were not offered a sea view, so knew our view would not be great. It wasn't. They say mountainview, but the mountains are way off to the right. What you get is a road/hill view. I also knew there would be road noise and there was, but at night with doors closed and air con on, it didn't disturb us. Bathroom was fine - plenty of hot water and shower worked well. Two safety issues here. There is a door stop right in the middle of the floor. Husband tripped on it twice. Also, when we arrived, the safety cord was knotted to the towel rail. Not much use if you do fall over the door stop. So unknot it when you get there. Last gripe would be about the beach. It is NOT sandy. It is stoney. We knew that, so we brought relevant footwear - I would suggest anyone going there does the same. Also it is not private - anyone can use it. We heard the attendant tell the people beside us that they could use the beds and parasols for €5 each including a towel, as opposed to hotel guests who pay €3 each. I don't mind the €3, but I do mind if I can't get a bed under a parasol because non hotel guests have got there first. I dread to think what its like in high season.
Having now dealt with the niggles, let's move to the good. The back part of the hotel and the beach area are lovely and peaceful and I think the view is fantastic. We were extremely happy with the food. Plenty of choice. Second week was somewhat busier and sometimes you had to wait for replenishments. We did get a little bored the second week, so escaped in the evenings, not because there was a problem, but simply that I had a need for grilled prawns! Try Alexandros across the road if you have the same yearning! Beer is dearer in the hotel, but that is to be expected - they have a happy hour in the early evening which helps.
The payback for road noise is easy access to the local bars and the bus to Corfu town. We traveled in and out regularly and it was great. We also used the bars at the seafront at night. It was really lovely sitting only feet from the waters edge.
All in all, I would return here - but only if I got a room with a seaview and the price was right!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManolisPapadakisGM, General Manager at Dassia Chandris, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your Trip Advisor review. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad that you find our buffet delicious with plenty of choice, both for breakfast and dinner. I see you took advantage of the happy hour and hope you were pleased of our bar service as well. Concerning room allocation please contact us in advance in order to find the best suitable room type for you. We certainly look forward to welcome you back again in the near future.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We arrived on the 14th July and were given a lovely bedroomwhich overlooked the sea and the hills. Excellent standard of cleanliness . The hotel is in large grounds leading to the sea and the gardens are lovely very spacious. Food excellent and the down side to the dining room is that the request for no shorts or flip flops in the evening is not carried out .There were quite a few men who looked as though they had just come off the beachl. I agree with some of the comments about the lack of sunbeds and brollys. Not enough by far People were coming down at about 6am to claim the few that there were. So by the time we went down after breakfast at 9am there were none left. Otherwise it is a good hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManolisPapadakisGM, General Manager at Dassia Chandris, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you so much for providing feedback on your recent stay here at the Chandris Dassia hotel! I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our cuisine during breakfast and evening meals and that you found our gardens lovely and spacious. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you dealt with regarding the sunbeds around the pool. Just for your information we have a great number of sunbeds around both pools and also within the resort enough to cover all our guests’ needs. Every day appointed staff such as the pool lifeguards and the beach boys are ready to assist you no matter where you are. Again, thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back in the near future perhaps next summer.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dassia
0.1 mi away
Corfu Chandris Hotel
Corfu Chandris Hotel
#4 of 17 in Dassia
4.0 of 5 stars 591 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grecotel Daphnila Bay Thalasso
2.3 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Corfu Holiday Palace
Corfu Holiday Palace
#2 of 5 in Kanoni
3.5 of 5 stars 823 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grecotel Eva Palace
Grecotel Eva Palace
#1 of 3 in Kommeno Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 737 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elea Beach Hotel
Elea Beach Hotel
#6 of 17 in Dassia
4.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dassia Chandris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dassia Chandris

Address: Dassia Bay, Dassia 49100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Dassia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Dassia
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Dassia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dassia Chandris 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Dassia Chandris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dassia Chandris Hotel Dassia
Dassia Chandris Hotel Corfu
Dassia Chandris Corfu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dassia Chandris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.