We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you Nina !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Dragon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Red Dragon to your Saves list
The Red Dragon
Dassia, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Dassia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Thank you Nina !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Red Dragon, a family run hotel 100m from the beach.
The appartment was clean and convenient with a separate kitchenette and an arbour. We loved the breakfasts and lunch there under the sun and the vines. Nina never missed an occasion to make our stay unforgettable. Every day she had a surprise for us. There is a good bakery nearby and a supermarket so that it is a perfect spot for a family with children. It is 20-30 min from the airport, I would recommend to rent a car at the airport especially if you plan to visit the island. The kids loved Aqualand which is not far away, less than 10km. Kerkyra is at 15 min and is worth the visit too.

Room Tip: Some appartments have a sea view. For the families, the kitchenette with the arbour is very convenie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ninamikalef, Manager at The Red Dragon, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
We thankyou you, it was a pleasure to meet your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

If you are looking for a family run, friendly and clean little spot, The Red Dragon is definitely for you. It is only 2 minutes walk to the beach, situated between two large hotels. The beach in Dassia is a pebble beach, nice and clean, if you wish to get a chair it is 2 euros per day. Further towards Dassia you will find Maliby beach bar, fun and cool party place for those who want to have some fun. There is a great bakery just up the street, amazing pastries and coffee, we picked it up for breakfast several times. Baklava is to die for!

Nina, the owner, is friendly and nice, she is there to answer any questions you may have. This is not an apartment accommodation, keep in mind. Rooms are modest but beddings and towels were cleaned every day. Bathrooms are little dated but I didn’t really care. AC was in working condition, however I found it a little weak during some nights as Corfu was under the heat wave in July. There are 5 rooms in this little hotel, all of them are on the 2nd floor, 1 without the balcony and 4 with the balcony.

Recommendation for the owners: It would be helpful if the rooms had at least single cooktop to make a coffee and/or breakfast.

I’ve been all over this beautiful island and plan to come back next year again. Personally, I didn’t like so called sandy beaches (west coast beaches) as the sand is actually muddy but for those that like it, I recommend Issos beach. Here are places I would recommend:
1. Paleokastritsa: 15 min drive absolutely gorgeous lookout spots and beautiful Monastery right above the sea.
2. Kassiopi: 30 min drive. Beautiful village with cute little shops and restaurants.
3. City of Corfy: reminds you of Italy and an absolute must to go out for a walk at night
4. Vido island: for 2 euros you will have a nice half day trip. Just go to town and ask locals where the boat for Vido island is parked.
5. Paxos and Antipaxos: two beautiful small little islands south of Corfu, highlights of our trip (2 ½ hours by boat to get there).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

The Red Dragon was a great place for myself, my husband and 3 kids under 9 to stay in. The rooms were clean and air-conditioned. Nina was fabulous. We often found our 2 older kids downstairs playing board games with her. She spoke great english so my aussie hubby felt comfortable from the start. The beautiful beach was only a short 50m walk out the front door and the huge resort next to the Red Dragon has 4 swimming pools which you can use any time. Nina introduced me to a cocktail which I still mix. I recommend the Red Dragon for couples and families. The rooms are comfortable and everything is a short walk away. Nina and her family were beautiful and when we next travel to Greece, we will definately go back to the Red Dragon. We have nothing but good memories.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

The Red Dragon has everything, and most of all, it has a heart of Nina and Alex, the best hosts ever! The apartments have everything you might possibly need, they are cleaned spotless every day, and Nina is always there to help with any need and answer any question, in such an unassuming and friendly way. The location is perfect, tucked away from the noise of the beach and the main road, but still right there, you can simply step out to the beach or the main road, and be on your way to all the wonderful Corfu destinations. This was our fourth year vacationing in this type of accommodation,  and all our previous hosts were very nice, but this was the first time the experience felt personalized, worm and welcoming, all thanks to Nina!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tal-El Israel
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

The Red Dragon is owned by the nicest woman and her husband. They are so helpful and friendly (and speak English/Welch/Greek), I can't say enough good things about them. The apartments are located, as stated, 20 meters from the ocean, 5 minutes walk from the bus station (every 20 minutes to Corfu Town), 1 minute from a taverna on the water and several others right next door, and 2 minutes from a super market. GET IT-- from your room to a beach chair and sparkling blue water in a beautiful bay - 1minute!! The main street of Dassia is literally a 5 minute walk- they have stores, restaurants, bike, boat and car rentals, everything. The apartments are clean and light and happy....... I just recommend this place so much!! My number is 0505069688. Andy

Room Tip: No stress with Nina at the Red Dragon
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Nina and Alex who own the appartments offer the best service we have ever had. They are so friendly and helpful and excellant company. The appartment was cleaned with clean towels and change of bedding everyday.
Dassia is a beautiful place and the Red Dragon is seconds away from the beach with lovely restaurants and pleasant veiws. Andreas restaurant right opposite Nina and Alex's place is fantastic.
We would certainly stay here again and will tell everyone about it.
Pauline and Brian Lowe

Room Tip: All rooms quiet, with balconys and air-conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llangynidr, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Very clean spotless apartments, lovely family very friendly wil make you feel at home, close to the beach, watersports, restaurants, 3 swimming pools within 5 minute walk. Thank you to Alex Nina & family for your great hospitality as always xx Ideal for families, singles & couples. Cheap beer and great weather guaranteed!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Red Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Dragon

Address: Dassia, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Dassia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Dassia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Dragon Cafe Bar and Apartments is a small family run business and is situated in the center of Dassia's olive groves and only 50 meters from the beach. Our well appointed rooms are fully air conditioned and offer a TV, fridge, tea and coffee making facilities. The cafe bar is also available for you to enjoy a light snack or your favorite drink or even try the local brew! Dassia is conveniently located only 12km from Corfu town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Red Dragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Dragon Corfu/Dassia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Dragon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.