We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If u don't mind ppl going with full clothes to swimming pool!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Palmera Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ain Sukhna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Palmera Beach Resort
Save
You added Palmera Beach Resort to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ain El Sokhna, Ain Sukhna, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Ain Sukhna
Egypt
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“If u don't mind ppl going with full clothes to swimming pool!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The hotel is ok, I used to go years ago... the food not very bad, some renovations happened.. but the most unacceptable is the ppl who go with full clothes not the islamic mayoh... but full clothes... also I have a pet and the un-polite manager "mohamed el Masry" asked me to don't get it into sea... at least the dogs don't pee as humans in swimming or sea... and he said a very rubbish sentence: "we will make double rooms for dogs!!" not dog owners!! and his voice was loud .. I wrote a complain on their website... but if u r going to Palmera take care of the closed minded ppl... and be sure that u will see disgusting things around!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    21
    14
    7
    16
See reviews for
33
13
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Giza, Egypt
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

we came for a day-use offer. horrible staff, horrible bathrooms, the pool wasn't so encouraging to swim in, bars are empty and bad-looked, the food was OK and the place wasn't chic at all.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellensburg, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Our family really like this place. Yes, is not a 5 star hotel, and yes they don't have the most comfortable beds or rooms, and yes the service is not the best, but the beach, swimming pools, and food makes up for it. And is a great value for your money! At least is wayyyyyyy better than the Porto Sokhna Hotel (and don't get me starting with that one).
If you are traveling with children you will like this place, because they have a nice play area and they just added a "mini zoo", that carries monkeys, rabbits, turkeys, pigeons, etc. And the neat part is that your kids can feed the animals.
The beach is really nice and shallow, and my daughter loves to swim there. She feel pretty safe.
Their buffet is much better, and they have more varieties of main courses. The breakfast are the same though, but lunches and dinners are way better.
I really enjoy this place and is our get away from Cairo when we need a quick scape form this city.

Room Tip: try to ask for a room away from all the families with kids...they are so noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

It is a very friendly resort with nice pools and free access to beach. Rooms are nice and cozy, and the service is nice.
They have a bazar where you can buy stuff for swimming and other activities but it is a bit expensive.
You dont have another option as this location is very from from shops and souks.

It is a good place, but you can get better with good prices in the area.

Room Tip: Choose the beach side, it is much more relaxing but would require a long walk especially with no ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

This is a large resort, not new and it's hidden down a dirty, unsealed side road.

The rooms and hallways are tiled throughout and the first room we stayed in had a dirty/dusty look all over the floor tiles as if it hadn't been cleaned in a long time. The second room we stayed in was only a little better but came with the added extra of a fruit bowl which contained fruit that was all off and rotten !!! The only good thing about both rooms was that they were spacious and had nice views of the garden.

The hotel did have a really nice, big pool and maybe that was it's only redeeming feature and also it's beach on the Red Sea.

Would never go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Not the first time, and will go again, we stayed there for two nights, although the bathroom in the our room and my parents rooms lacked for shower caps, sewing kit, it was nice staying, one little more thing, I guess the staff need to be a bit more smiling when u have eye contact with them, as long as they needed a resident doctor as when we needed one he arrived after almost three hours shocking right......Only one swimming pool is suitable for human usage, the other two needs improvement.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We had a second visit in June this year and were pleasantly surprised. Last year we visited during ramadan and got an understanding it is a very quiet hotel with not too high levels of occupation. This year we went during a June week-end (Friday to Saturday) and the hotel was bustling, i.e. the reception was bustling and as we arrived well before noon, we had to wait a bit before they got our room ready. But mystically, the hotel did not feel crowded inside - the people just somehow divided themselves between the pool and beach and other activities, so the feeling was quite as relaxed as the year before during the somewhat more quite ramadan time.
There were also several small improvements. Reception had been moved from first level to the ground level, was smaller but more efficiently organised with two long concierge tables, and the small air-conditioned space opened out to a spacious covered courtyard with seating arranged around a small pool with a fountain, and coffee shops, Internet and other amenities all around. We used the Palmera Club privileges, available to anyone who asks, from the main sales office in Cairo, and thus enjoyed free early check-in and late check-out (15.00) the following day. It would have cost only 100 le anyway to check out at 17.00 – a good deal I think if you stay only for a night but wish to use the pools or beach also on the second day.
We stayed in a room very close to the room last year, something with 2218-2220. It was in a similar condition, nothing to complain or add, except the old TV had been replaced by a flatscreen.
Each time I enter Palmera corridors I catch a wonderful smell in there, must be the floor cleaner they are using. Because I am a type that always has all taxi drivers remove any "deodorants" they have in the car, then what they use at Palmera does not smell anything synthetic at all but a wonderful fresh oriental flowery fragrance. Always forget to ask them, what they use, or could it be the fragrance carried here from the bushes that line the walkways – the orangey flowers I have on one previous photo that smell a wonderful mix of lime and something else more sweet.
We had no meals in the main restaurant except breakfast, as dinner was served to us on the beach this time. We were at Palmera with a small group of countrymen to celebrate the summer solstice – a very special event up in Scandinavia, and the management very courteously allowed us to take our meal out on the beach without any extra payment, and otherwise generously assisted in setting up the scene. The meal was not a buffet meal then, but we got to choose whatever we wished from the a la carte menu. It was then perhaps the same or similar menu as in the pool-side restaurant where we also ate lunch on both days. I do not quite understand why some reviewers seem to complain about food in Palmera, because all our group loved the food, just as I did, and there are indeed some regular fans among us. Yes, the food is quite simple, but it is fresh and tasty, and very modestly priced. Also wine and beer are available for very good price for a hotel – 20 and 15 le per glass/bottle respectively. We paid I think around 30-40 le for our lunch choices – fish fingers with French fries for the kids and I had a wonderful large Greek salad drizzled with a very nice kind of olive oil and accompanied by wonderful fresh bread. What would one then expect for 30-40le which is basically the price the street-side restaurants in Cairo ask for a simple piece of grilled meat?
Breakfast buffet was as last year, and how come there is no omelette station – we eat omelette every time, you simply ask the chef who is there making fresh pancakes. It may be that the Egyptians lack their spicing and flavours, but for the expats the food is exactly as we expect (salt and pepper you add as by personal taste), and (again) very good quality for the price. It is the details – how the meat is juicy and tender, or what kind of oil they use. Or indeed – kids meal of fish fingers prepared with fresh filet, how often do you get that outside of top 5*s?
It is a simple property for enjoying the seaside and the fresh air, some tennis, perhaps, and enjoying good, satisfying, fresh meals to carry you through the day. It is not a dazzling kind of resort where you go to flaunt latest designer wear or eat food that looks better than it tastes, but a place for relaxing in your favourite t-shirt and shorts that may be far past their best days but are still dear :-). Tennis grounds are free to use for club members and a lady from our group booked and enjoyed a massage in the spa. The masseuse was female, it cost only 100 le, and she was completely satisfied with it. There was even a night club and it worked, too (deciding by the sounds coming from that direction :), and there was a small shop for essentials like swim clothes for local modest taste but also bikinis, a few pairs of nice-looking sun glasses and a small cupboard that seemed to carry quite a number of essential sun creams, lotions, shampoos etc. Indeed, in a haste I had somehow forgot to pack kids swimwear, so unforgivable, but we easily got them something nice and cheap to wear in the water, from that shop. So relieved!
We live more close to Alexandria, so the trip is a bit long for us, but were we in Cairo, then "our regular beach" would be at Palmera. It feels exactly like spending time at a summer cottage by the sea, just that it comes with more services, and some more people around :-).

Room Tip: 2218-2222 have a nice diagonal garden-pool-sea view and also new flatscreen TVs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palmera Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmera Beach Resort

Address: Ain El Sokhna, Ain Sukhna, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Ain Sukhna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ain Sukhna
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ain Sukhna
Hotel Class:4 star — Palmera Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Also Known As:
Palmera Beach Hotel Red Sea And Sinai
Palmera Beach Resort Egypt/Ain Sukhna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palmera Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.