We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not expect something spectacular” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Resort El Sokhna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Moevenpick Resort El Sokhna to your Saves list
Moevenpick Resort El Sokhna
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   64 km Suez-Zaafarana Road, Ain Sukhna, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Ain Sukhna
Cairo
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not expect something spectacular”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just came back from a 4-day break. Working and living in Cairo El Sokhna or Ain Soukna was for us only a 2 hours drive. From the outside you not really see the beauty at the inside. Parking full with garbage, old and you have the feeling they out for your money already. Check-in however the quickest ever I think. We were one hour too early but directly got the room and probably the best one: 2001. A few steps away from the beach. Nice view from one of the rooms and 2 terraces. Rooms were clean enough but it’s time for some renovation and redecoration. AC’s were working fine (too loud to sleep with) and were cooling better than the small fridge with the not complete mini bar products. The buffet for breakfast and dinner is a catastrophe. Although the staff is doing their best, the guest are really messing things up. Not enough place around the buffet and al this make your appetite disappear. When this not does the job, the quality of the food does. After trying the food I decided to stick with a salad which unfortunate only came with 2 types of dressing. The restaurant on the “island” however serves good quality food. The menu is not that extensive but you can find some interesting dishes. Unfortunate due to the buffet we were the only guests. First we were afraid that this affected the service etc. but it didn’t happen. The animation/recreation team probably did a good job throughout the day but besides rejecting their invitations we not had any other experience. Not really a night life and we witnessed the disco evening. For the children in the range between 3 and 7 it’s okay but then it stops I think. We left the adult disco after 30 minutes because of the many interruption during a song. Now to the beach and pool life. Starting with the first one. The beach is too small and not enough beds. I don’t know how they handle this when they have a full occupation. During our visit I estimated it on 60 - 70% and all the places near the beach were nearly occupied. The beach is dirty with a lot of garbage and things hidden in the sand. No ashtrays so you know what happens….Saw one day that 3 staff members try to clean up the beach for one hour and then they had enough. You find also this garbage between the many (dead) jelly fishes in the sea itself. So easy to get it cleaned and keep it clean. The sea life isn’t that spectacular. Be careful and the best is you wearing special shoes. Respect for the staff that are working at the pool bar, they really have to walk a lot in the burning sun and sand to serve all the people on the beach. Just not logic how this is organized or is working. The food from the pool bar menu looks attractive but in fact it’s less than even the buffet. The pool is nice and heated and it’s something special with the view around and from in the pool itself. Toilets are too far away and not enough and I think that’s the reason why they poor a lot of chloride after the pool is closed. The gardeners are a little irritating, maybe because our rooms were on the ground floor, but they continued looking through the windows. The garden area is nice and really taken care of. To make a long story short, it’s probably one of the best in the area although we only have a lot of experience with Stella di Mare Grand Hotel which is just better for many reasons. When you not expect too much and consider it as a 3-star hotel you going to have a good time. Maybe we are going to visit the hotel again but not more than 2 or 3 days.

Room Tip: Spent a little bit more money and choose the suites with sea view. Avoid rooms above the buffet area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    161
    84
    25
    26
See reviews for
280
67
6
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I had so much fun, the animation team were amazing, i really had a lot of fun with them: khaled, mostafa, karim, mohamed, and bossy! Everything in the hotel was excellent: activities, food.. Best thing is actually the animation team, our room has an amazing view, excellent landscape.. i wish i come back again! had a lot of fun!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I enjoyed staying there and i had so much fun
Animation team was awesome and helpful special thanks goes to khaled
The sea view was great so was the pool
My only comment was in the room service it was average

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Thanks a lot to all Movenpick team for making my family happy while staying in your resort.
the hotel has an excellent landscape... our room has an amazing sea view and also very near to the pool,u can see the sea clearly while u are in the pool.
I was worried about the night time but Mega Fun team gave us a very interesting experience especially for my little boy,they are really typical Egyptian ambitious young people who are very dedicated to their work, a special thanks go to Bussy ,Khaled,Mostafa Karim & Mohamed, and
of course a BIG thank you for the french chef for the varieties in the breakfast and dinner buffet.
The only thing which really you have to consider is housekeeping they need to learn more more about how to clean bathrooms and floors.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

It's really wonderful and the animation team are really really amazing And funny ! Mostafa, Khaled, Muhammed, bossy, and Kareem. THey all are amazing And Their shows are really good. Best thing of all that They're funny being around ! :D The breakfast and dinner are good... I had fun being There :D

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo,Egypt
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The view from the room was beautiful,the sea is very peaceful.I went to movenpick based on the reputition to have a cheerfull relaxing vacation for three nights,However the hotel in general needs renovation and the hotel cleanliness needs reconsideration by the management on our way to the room we smelled tobacco all the way.Even the furniture was over consumed.what also surprised me is the food,i only found dried fruits they didn't serve fresh ones.And what made me mad is they don't serve water with dinner you need to buy it a la carte !! we decided to leave the hotel after one night only.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Movenpick El Sokhna is simply amazing. This is the second time for me to come to Movenpick Sokhna and I was simply amazed. It is the perfect place to relax and have fun. The position of the hotel is in a perfect place where you have the amazing view of the sea and behind you the great view of the mountain. We cannot forget the amazing Animation team Khaled Sherif, Mohamed, Karim, Mostafa and Pussy they are really friendly and fun. They do awesome activities and always keep us cheered and happy and enjoyed. Really Thank you for keeping us having fun while our stay there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moevenpick Resort El Sokhna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Resort El Sokhna

Address: 64 km Suez-Zaafarana Road, Ain Sukhna, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Ain Sukhna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ain Sukhna
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ain Sukhna
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ain Sukhna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Moevenpick Resort El Sokhna 5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ein El Sokhna is one of Egypt’s magical destinations that is yet to be discovered. The naturally breathtaking setting of the Moevenpick Resort El Sokhna, together with distinctive Swiss Hospitality accompanied by true Egyptian service and warmth, will surely make your stay particularly memorable. The unique surroundings will stimulate the senses since we are located directly on the Red Sea, one of the world’s most beautiful shores, which make this an exotic paradise for beach holidays, desert safaris and discovering the wonders of the underwater world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Venere, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Moevenpick Resort El Sokhna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort El Sokhna Hotel Ain Sukhna
Moevenpick Hotel El Sokhna
Moevenpick Hotel Ain Sukhna
Moevenpick Resort El Sokhna Egypt/Ain Sukhna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Resort El Sokhna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.