We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE place to stay when in Langebaan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Emerald View

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Langebaan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Emerald View
Save
You added Emerald View to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   No 5 Sandpiper Close | Myburgh Park, Langebaan 7357, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 24 Langebaan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“THE place to stay when in Langebaan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

On our holiday to South Africa, we asked our friends, (the great and good of Cape Town) which was best accommodation for a two night trip North to Langebaan.

All told me that the Emerald View was the place to stay and they were not wrong!.

This is great accommodation with an excellent view overlooking the bay.
There are 4 very large luxuriously appointed bedrooms, with free WiFi, all en-suite and with patio doors leading onto the infinity pool and secure undercover parking on a very exclusive estate. The breakfast is everything that you can eat and all tastes seem to be catered for especially if you like large portions.

Roger (A British Lions Rugby Legend 1968 v South Africa (google him)) and Jennifer Young were the perfect hosts. .
Nothing was too much trouble, they readily gave advice, help and tips about local sports, where to socialise, have a sun downer, dine, day trips, what to do or view or just shop. Nothing was too much bother.

The Young's made the trip to Langebaan a memorable experience, both are good company and enjoy the "Craic". Roger's yarns are excellent entertainment. I also think that they under-priced their excellent B & B, as it is great value for money

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    1
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
24
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We have stayed at Emerald View in the past so knew what to expect. The rooms are beautiful with a view of the Sea and everything you require. The Emerald bit is the colour of the sea and the fact that Roger and Jennifer are Irish. They are a lovely couple, warm and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast is very good, served in a lovely dining room overlooking the lagoon. I can't say a lot more except we will go back when we return to Langebaan.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROGERYOUNGlangebaan, Owner at Emerald View, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you so much for your review and so glad you had a good time at Emerald View.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Having stayed in many guest houses across South Africa, we can truly say that this is one of the best. The rooms are very large and bright with amazing views across the lagoon, they were impeccably clean. We enjoyed dipping in the clean pool to cool off after a day out. We were travelling with my elderly parents and Roger and Jennifer went out of their way to look after them and make sure they were comfortable. A highly recommendable and wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, however,if you are travelling as a family together recommend to book rooms next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We had two lovely nights at Emerald View! Roger and Jennifer welcomed us very warm and friendly and did their best to make our stay as comfortable as it could get. They helped us a lot with recommendations about places to visit, to eat and to drink. The rooms and especially the view is amazing and everything was absolutely clean.
Thanks for a great time in Langebaan!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Highlander
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

What a great bed and breakfast. Roger and Jennifer are most helpful hosts with their friendliness and useful local advice. Their accommodation has an almost exclusive feel to it. Nothing is too much trouble. The views from the super bedrooms and breakfast area are outstanding, very clean and luxurious. One could not speak highly enough of our 3 day stay with them.

Room Tip: All the rooms share the same benefits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Just returned to the UK after spending 9 days at Emerald View Guest House in Langebaan. We have no hesitation in highly recommending this guest house ... superb rooms, spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated. Roger and Jennifer are excellent hosts and give a very warm and friendly welcome ... we also loved Roger's witty sense of humour!! They are also very knowledgeable on the local area. Breakfast quality is excellent with a wide choice available. The location is perfect ... view across the lagoon is absolutely stunning and the area around the pool a great place to sit late afternoon/ evening with a glass of wine to watch the sunset! We would definitely book again!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our visit to Emerald View immensely. Roger and Jennifer could not have been kinder or more helpful, especially when we had a slight health glitch. Within an hour Roger had arranged a visit to a lovely local doctor. Then when we had a travel problem Roger spent a very considerable amount of time sorting out the problem.

Our accommodation was lovely and the breakfasts amazing. We wished we had booked to stay longer but next time we definitely will. Thank you both for everything.


Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Emerald View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald View

Address: No 5 Sandpiper Close | Myburgh Park, Langebaan 7357, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Langebaan
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Langebaan
Hotel Class:4 star — Emerald View 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Bright rooms all with lagoon views. All en suite with fridge, TV, ceiling fan, digital safe, wall heaters,tea/coffee station with West Coast rusks,sliding glass doors on to the pool area, undercover parking, free wiFi. Good sound advice on where to eat and what to see. Minimum stay 2 nights. No children under 12 years. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emerald View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.