We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for family” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Club Mykonos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Club Mykonos to your Saves list
Club Mykonos
4.0 of 5 Cottage   |   Private Bag X2 | Leentjiesklip road, Langebaan 7357, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Paignton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great for family”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The kids loved it. The vibe was great and the highlight was the Greek Evening - although the musician stopped everyone just as they got going with the Greek dancing. Rooms were quite neat but looked a bit tired. Really didn't like the damp and mould in the kitchen area wall and in the shower. Staff were friendly.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMyk, Manager at Club Mykonos, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments Linda. The Greek evening is a unique experience and we are thrilled that you had the opportunity to experience it. The situation with your unit is very unfortunate; it would be of great assistance to us if you could provide us with the room number that you occupied so that this situation can be corrected as a matter of urgency. Please be so kind as to forward the details through to info@clubmykonos.co.za. We trust that we will be able to welcome your family back to the resort in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    64
    21
    8
    7
See reviews for
62
28
Solo
0
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

While it looks like Mykonos in Greece but it's actually Club Mykonos on South Africa's West Coast 1.5 hours north of Cape Town. I was told it recently about a 104 million Rand refurbishment and wow, I was impressed. Think clusters of whitewashed houses with rainbow-painted balconies and courtyards with swimming pools, a long sandy beach and big yacht marina and family Taverna restaurants. It gets overrun in school holidays, so unless you like to be with vast extended families and hoards of kids, go in Spring and Autumn. I stayed in their Preferred Collection Kalivas - as the self-catering apartments are known - and was very impressed by the excellent quality of linen, bedding and mattress and flatscreen TV with satellite channels. The balcony has a built-in bbq and outstanding sea and harbour views. Me and partner both had spa treatments and both agreed the therapists hand expert hands. Unexpectedly, we had a fabulous time and want to come back for a complete week of chilling out instead of just a weekend.

Room Tip: The Preferred Collection Kalivas - as the apartments are known - are the top end and got a complete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMyk, Manager at Club Mykonos, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you very much for the glowing review. We are delighted that you were able to make use of so many of the facilities during your visit. Autumn and Spring are both excellent times to visit. If visiting for a full week I would suggest August/September as the first option as it falls in our flowers season which is defiantly something to experience. We look forward to welcoming you back for a second session of relaxation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartbeespoort, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Overcrowded, uncomfortable and most certainly not the best holiday destination I have ever been to. The u it my parents were in was not well maintained and not cozy. Not nicely cleaned either. No, never again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMyk, Manager at Club Mykonos, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. All feedback is appreciated, be it positive or negative. This is one of the largest resorts in the Western Cape, couple this with the fact that we are also one of the most popular family holiday destinations and some hustle and bustle is to be expected. It is unfortunate that you found one of the accommodation offerings less than desirable, we thank you for the opportunity to investigate this issue and implement positive changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilderness, western cape
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This was a family holiday and what a wonderful time we had!! Check-in and out was rather chaotic but worth the wait. We were given a 2 bedroomed apartment overlooking the pool deck and sea and the view was so beautiful, particularly at sunset The maintenance staff were doing a lot of painting and touching up and we found the whole resort to be amazingly clean and tidy. The children were treated to a wonderful, busy programme that kept them happy for hours, they had so much fun. The staff were wonderful with the children; happy children, happy parents and grandparents. One of the highlights was the warm indoor pool where they swam every evening after dinner. There is a large supermarket just up the road and we found this very convenient. We hope to return.

Room Tip: The sea facing apartments are super
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMyk, Manager at Club Mykonos, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Hi Sue.

Thank you for the positive review. Our children's club is growing from strength to strength and we trust that on your next visit you will find that more has been added to the line up for our little VIP's.

The reception area is due for upgrade later this year which will ensure a much more fluid check-in and out process. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the resort in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed for a week-end in late summer and had been warned that the place had got a bit tatty as it was so very popular.. We could find no sign of this and were extremely impressed with the way the resort has been kept clean and tidy and the grounds were in excellent condition. It was very busy and the check in process on a Friday late afternoon took a long time as it was very busy and everyone seems to arrive at the same time. However once we had been assisted to our unit by a very helpful man who carried our luggage in a trolley we forgot all about the hassles and proceeded to get into the holiday mode.
I suspect some units could be less private and noisier than ours which was just across a short grassy lawn from the beach. And we did realise that we were shielded from the noisy party-like atmosphere around the main pool area.

Room Tip: Units facing the beach are definitely the ones I would choose. It is a large resort and I suspect so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMyk, Owner at Club Mykonos, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for the review. Over R100 million has been spent on upgrades and maintenance over the past 4 years. The next planned upgrade is the revamp of the reception area, this will vastly improve the check-in process.

There are a variety of accommodation types available on the resort to accommodate all holiday requirements, from quiet weekend getaways to rowdy family reunions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durbanville, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We found out last night my husband had an appointment in Vredenburg so we phoned and asked if early check in was at al possible the lady said she can't give me an answer but they will phone me in the morning . They phoned to say that they can't promise that the room will be ready at 12:00 but will be ready asap . We arrived just to be informed they will not assist us with early check in I have to wait till 16:00 . They we rude and not accomodating at all . I am now stranded waiting for a room . Terrible front of house service .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMyk, Manager at Club Mykonos, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. It would be very helpful to us if you could provide the name of the staff member that was rude to you, so this issue can be corrected. It is unfortunate that you could not be accommodated with an early arrival, this is due in large part to the amount of time it takes to get a unit ready for new guests after the 10 am check-out time. With 364 units on the resort this is an understandably short turn around time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Arrived on a Saturday afternoon. Was pleasantly surprised - quick efficient booking in. Staff friendly and helpful. Rooms was great and spacious. Everything was clean and in place. The whole complex looked well maintained. Breathtaking location. Loved that we could have a nice safe walk down to the beach and watch the sun go down. Sorry we stayed only one night. A great holiday location for the family.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMyk, Manager at Club Mykonos, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for the review. We are very glad that we were able to exceed your expectations. We trust that we will be welcoming you back for a longer visit in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Mykonos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Mykonos

Address: Private Bag X2 | Leentjiesklip road, Langebaan 7357, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Langebaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Langebaan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Mykonos 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The shores of the magical Langebaan Lagoon are the gateway to the vitality and hospitality of the Greek way of life, right in South Africa. Join us for endless fun in the sun as you lounge on the deck of a luxury yacht, dance with Lady Luck in the casino or simply wile away the hours doing as little as possible in the comfort of your luxurious self-catering accommodation.The dedicated and trained Club Onos staff, as well as Chester the friendly donkey, will pull out all the stops to make your children's visit as fun-filled as you could imagine. Day trips, sports facilities, fishing trips and water sports activities are all at your fingertips. Our Health & Leisure Centre will make sure you are pampered beyond your dreams, while the delicious restaurants and bars will keep you wined and dined well into the night.Join us for an experience in true Mediterranean hospitality that you will want to repeat again and again! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Club Mykonos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Mykonos Hotel Langebaan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Mykonos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.