We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Holiday at Wacky Bush Lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wacky Bush Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Wacky Bush Lodge to your Saves list
The Wacky Bush Lodge
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Loop Street | Longacres, Langebaan, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 24 Langebaan B&B and Inns
Maastricht, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Holiday at Wacky Bush Lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

I recently stayed at Wacky Bush Lodge to celebrate Christmas and my in-laws' 50th wedding anniversary. I couldn't recommend the lodge and its staff more highly. We completely filled the lodge with people of all ages with different needs in terms of sleeping and eating. The staff were amazingly accommodating... and always greeted our requests with a smile. The pool, trampoline and grounds were great for the kids and the adults enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere and great cooking. While the lodge is not directly on the beach, it was close enough for us. And, if planned in advance, the staff will take you on a boat trip to a gorgeous beach... and provide lunch! We loved our stay. Thanks Jake and Vicky!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    4
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
5
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

We had a great stay, Jake was an excellent host. Lovely accommodation with a complete holiday vibe. Great Food and service. Highly reccommended to anyone going to Langebaan. The Lodge isnt on the beach but it doesnt need to be, it's lovley to come off the beach at night and have such a peaceful place to stay, with a great pool and lovely bar.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

I stayed the weekend with 3 of my friends and what a wonderful time we had! We couldn't have asked for a better stay. It was easy to find and only a few minutes away from the beach and touristy attractions. As we wanted to just relax, we chose to take advantage of the food offered at the Lodge and were pleased that we did. The food was delicious. The second night there, the owner made the MOST delicious homemade chocolate mousse. We spent the evening chilling at the bar at the Lodge and had a blast.
The owner and his staff were very friendly and accommodating. The accommodation was clean, immaculate and beautifully decorated.
The memories of this weekend will last a VERY long time.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

Unlike the first review, I unfortunately can't be so positive.
The place could benefit from better signage...there is no sign off the main road, and that would be helpful. We got lost..had to ask directions, no one knew where it was, until several people had been asked...the information place in town had shut for the day. Even when we were right in front of it, the sign is not clear. It does have a huge amount of parking space.
It was not what we were expecting. The pamphlet and the home page show the beach...it is also called a bush lodge...it has neither quality. It is set alone on essentially a pasture...no bush...no water except for the pool. Yes, the setting is peaceful, but certainly not what we expected from the advertising.
We had made a reservation..I called twice...and still they had no record of us when we arrived. Apparently our request for accomodation was sent to their booking agency, and no one contacted us. We were prepared to drive home, if there wasn't a spot, but we took a chance and went anyway.
The managing couple are very pleasant and personable and got us established.
The rooms were impeccable but small, as were the surrounding grounds. The small bathroom and the linens were exceptionally clean. You were not allow to eat or drink in your room, so we went to the eating area, where there was a TV.
The managing couple had an errand to run, so they left us with the key to lock up. The key didn't function in the door. We went to bed, and hoped it wouldn't get broken into...there were no other people in the place.
We did hear a bathroom fan very early in the morning, and then the sound of a car leaving. We had been told that the breakfast was available from 8-10 am. By 820 there was still no sign of life, except the handyman busy on the grounds. So this B and B rate...turned out to be just a B...actually we would give it a C-.
We left instead of waiting our day away, and found a lovely breakfast elsewhere.
Really wish I could be more positive.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wacky Bush Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wacky Bush Lodge

Address: Loop Street | Longacres, Langebaan, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Langebaan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Langebaan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wacky Bush Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Wacky Bush Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wacky Bush Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.