We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good breakfast.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Farmhouse Restaurant

Farmhouse Restaurant
5 Egret Street | Farmhouse Hotel, Langebaan 7357, South Africa
+27 (0)22 772 2062
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 21 Restaurants in Langebaan
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The combination of fine dining and premium wines are two of the greatest pleasures in life, encouraging good times, fond memories, love and laughter. During 2013 our kitchen and dining area received a makeover! Our refreshed dining room now boasts views, not only of the lagoon, but of our kitchen too. Our dinner menu was refined and now has farm-style favourites with a few modern twists. We try to source our produce from local suppliers and we use what the region has to offer. We have local Saldanha Bay mussels and crayfish from Paternoster (when in season). Our famous oxtail soup and lamb shank still feature on the menu along with some new treats such as pasta Arrabbiata and more.
Hartbeespoort, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good breakfast.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Good breakfast, but not the friendliest of staff, but then again that is the thing about the Cape. Beautiful view and cozy fireplace.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jake B, General Manager at Farmhouse Restaurant, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear El-Review,
I was happy to see that you enjoyed your meal at the Farmhouse but a little dissapointed that you never enjoyed the service. Being Capetonian myself I certainly would be upset if the impression we give is one which is not friendly. We constantly drive standards when it comes to service. Next time you visit ask for me and I will give you a good Cape Town welcome.
Please do come and visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    23
    14
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“food excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

great food and well presented but no atmosphere in the restaurant it was so quiet.Very quaint English style hotel apparently has a busy bar area at weekends and has big terrace when weather is hot in the evening

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jake B, General Manager at Farmhouse Restaurant, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hi Nanadid,
Thanks for taking the time to give us feedback. It would seem you visited the hotel on a quieter day which meant the atmosphere was not as bubbly as always. Our waiters, background music and lovely secenery should all make up for your experience being a little dull. I will pass on your review to my staff. We have also added a viewing window into our kitchen now which will also add to the theatre of the restaurant in the future. The lovely open fires are also stunning during the colder months.
Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langebaan, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best View in Langebaan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

On a clear day nothing beats the view from the veranda of the Farmhouse Hotel. They have excellent coffee and scone. The food is also very good.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jake B, General Manager at Farmhouse Restaurant, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hi Pietpetoors,
You hit the nail on the head about the view. The Farmhouse has the best view in Langebaan. I am very happy that you enjoyed the food and we look forward to seeing you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good value, excellent choice, beautiful views.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

There was plenty of choice on the menu which was very reasonable priced. The views of the lagoon were stunning at sunset.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jake B, General Manager at Farmhouse Restaurant, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hi Pjudge,
Many thanks for the review. I am glad you enjoyed your experience and we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good meal, good service, interesting decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife & I had lunch here on our way to a wedding. The staff were friendly & helpful. As there was a "Baby Shower" taking place (a party for an expectant Mom!) we were seated in a separate room to the main dining area, which was quirky & interesting. The simple meal of a Chicken Pie with salad was nicely presented & very tasty. We would certainly recommend it to anyone visiting the area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farmhouse Restaurant also viewed

Langebaan, Western Cape
Langebaan, Western Cape
 
Langebaan, Western Cape
 

Been to Farmhouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farmhouse Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.