We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family hangout” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Farmhouse Restaurant

Farmhouse Restaurant
5 Egret Street | Farmhouse Hotel, Langebaan 7357, South Africa
+27 (0)22 772 2062
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 22 Restaurants in Langebaan
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The combination of fine dining and premium wines are two of the greatest pleasures in life, encouraging good times, fond memories, love and laughter. During 2013 our kitchen and dining area received a makeover! Our refreshed dining room now boasts views, not only of the lagoon, but of our kitchen too. Our dinner menu was refined and now has farm-style favourites with a few modern twists. We try to source our produce from local suppliers and we use what the region has to offer. We have local Saldanha Bay mussels and crayfish from Paternoster (when in season). Our famous oxtail soup and lamb shank still feature on the menu along with some new treats such as pasta Arrabbiata and more.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Family hangout”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Enjoyed sitting around the fireplace. I was cold but hey a glass of wine by he fireplace made it very cosy.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    23
    14
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Nigeria
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

2nd time I have been there and both times the restruant has been great. Take the suggestions - lamb shank or oxtail. Home made ice cream and chocolate sauce are also highly recommended.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Casual but classy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We ate at the hotel every day and enjoyed the excellent choice of dishes so we never felt tired of eating there. In the day we ate on the terrace and at night inside the restaurant which has a lovely warm ambience.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“disappointing food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Although the service was very friendly (thanks to Andy, our waitress), we were disappointed in the food. VERY thin rings of calamari (in batter) for the starter & disappointing rice served with both the calamari starter and the mussels (main course). The oxtail soup was tasty, but the line fish (yellowtail) was very dry. We did not stay for desserts.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

The Oxtail and wine, friendlines of the the Head waitress excellent. The Chicken Pie mt wife had was also very good. The burning fire gave a very nice ambiance to the room as well as cosyness.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farmhouse Restaurant also viewed

Langebaan, Western Cape
Langebaan, Western Cape
 
Langebaan, Western Cape
 

Been to Farmhouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farmhouse Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.