We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, average accommodation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Calypso Villas

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Langebaan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Calypso Villas
Casos Way | Calypso Beach, Langebaan 7357, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Langebaan
Secunda, Mpumalanga, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location, average accommodation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Calypso Villas for 2 nights. We got a double room on the third story with a shared balcony facing the beach. Fortunately no one stayed in the neighbouring rooms, so we had the balcony to ourselves.

The room was very small and mediocre. During late afternoon, the sun reflects from the ocean into your room, so temperature rises fairly quickly and no air conditioning to offer reprieve, fortunately we were seeing the sights during most of the afternoons.

The included breakfast is average and served in the neighbouring Crystal Lagoon lodge, but the view over the bay makes up for it.

The guesthouse has direct access to Calypso Beach and walking distance from Club Mykanos. No braai facilities, so you have to dine out, which is okay considering the variety Langebaan has to offer.

If I ever visit Langebaan again, I will probably opt for something more in the line of a self catering unit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Calypso Villas for 3 nights. We were given a room on the second floor with the most amazing views of Calypso Beach and neighboring Club Mykonos. The room was very clean, but small. Our main complaint would be that the double bed felt much smaller than our double at home, and as such we did not have the most comfortable sleep. The mattress is foam and not box sprung, which also means less comfort. The breakfasts are pretty basic, but filling. We had an enjoyable stay, but I'm not sure we would come again. Also, there is very little to do in the area as Langebaan is incredibly small.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011 via mobile

We stayed in a double room for 3 nights on the top floor with balcony. The room was quite small and it was disappointing that there were no braaing facilities. But the location and view made up though! The guest house has direct access onto Calypso Beach which is nice and quiet, and Club Mykonos is a quick stroll away. We were sad to leave at the end of the stay.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2009

We stayed at this venue for 2 nights in January. The location is great as it's on the beach. The rooms are actually very basic and not ideal for a family of four to have to share one small bathroom. The breakfast was nice and staff were good. We were surprised that the rooms didn't have air con especially being on the beach with the hot sun shining into the bedrooms. Quite expensive for what you're getting.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2008

The hotel consists of 2 villas within a guarded compound. An attendent receives the guests and serves the breakfast. The twin room we had was beautifully furnished and had an invigorating atmosphere with a lovely balcony towards the seaside.
There is a comfortable lounge / breakfast room with books and CD player, ect. The room has a terrace where you can have your breakfast right next to the beach when the weather is fine. The breakfast is very good as well.
Only negative aspect: The hotel is managed by investors from some place far away. You must pay in advance and they charge you the full rate the minute you reserve your room which might be months ahead of your stay. You cannot pay in the hotel.

  • Disliked — Payment procedure
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Calypso Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calypso Villas

Address: Casos Way | Calypso Beach, Langebaan 7357, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Langebaan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Langebaan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calypso Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Calypso Villas to your Saves list