We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Akas Hotel Cabins” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lapland Hotel Akashotelli

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lapland Hotel Akashotelli to your Saves list
Lapland Hotel Akashotelli
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Akasentie 10, Akaslompolo 95970, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Akaslompolo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Akas Hotel Cabins”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

We booked through Inghams and found the cabin to be cosy and adequate for two. The 3 boys next door (part of our group party the rest being in the hotel, and apartments), were a little more cramped having to use the sofa as a bed.

There is a lack of cooking area with only 2 electric burners and a microwave. It did state in the brochure a toaster but there wasn't one. As the boys were having a cooking competition all week we lent them our frying pan as they found it difficult to cook for 3 with the utensils they had. We managed fine, only eating in 3 times - a pasta, a rissotto and fresh salmon, coucous and salad. The rest of the time we went out to Julie's. 10 minute walk away and across the road. Wine was expensive (as you would expect) but burgers and pizza good value for money, and main courses about 29 euros for deliciously cooked food in friendly surroundings. It's the liveliest place we found.

The cabin is warm. Average daytime outside temp when we were there about -5 and night -14. We turned the heating completely off and it was still ok, but then we did pre-set the sauna to come on about 4pm to be ready for when we got back from skiing. Then we'd put the log fire on after tea just for atmosphere, but sometimes had to open the front door. Great fun visiting the wood store in the dark with the sledge.

Had an a la carte meal in the hotel on the last night but wasn't overly impressed. The restaurant was large, noisey and not very warm. Not sure what the buffet was like.

If you're hiring skis I recommend the ski shop by the supermarket rather than the one on the left hand side on the main road.

Room Tip: Ask for the nearest cabins to the hotel - 180 to 184. The cabin is a 5 minute walk back to reception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    61
    14
    8
    6
See reviews for
87
33
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

stayed here over xmas with my 2 girls and had a wonderful time , the only complaint i have to stay is that the food wasnt has warm as i would of liked it but still we enjoyed it , make sure you take plenty of euros with you because every time you want to change money the reception charge you 6 euros everytime :-(

Room Tip: if booking its defo worth paying a bit more for a apartment they have everything you need inside
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worksop
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Our overall holiday was good, the apartments are really nice and spacious you can fire firewood in the cabin in the car park, hotel is naff and needs upgrading, very expensive, not alot near and staff not that helpful, it's very dark a lot of the time during Dec which is what we expected but the hotel is so dark inside also which makes it very gloomy! The taster rides with Thomson were great but do not book an excursion they are a rip off and we sat for 30 mins being pulled round a field in the pitch black for £350 hence a complaint into Thomson when we returned it was sold to us as a magical experience and would be a 2 hour excursion thro candle lit woods, we did not even get photo as it was so dark and was told that it would frighten the reindeer! Father Christmas a little disappointing and even the kids commented (they are 6 and4) how little they saw of him when we went to Santas village which was a shack in the middle of no where no momentums or keep sakes could be purchased - don't expect a shopping centre! We were told that this year they had bought an external company in to do the excursions and look after you by the elfs and not the normal Thomson team and I think it showed that like everything at the moment corners had been cut, I would return to Lapland but would try somewhere else. All the clothing was good and the actual Thomson staff good, it was not all bad if anyone wanted to contact me please do.

Room Tip: Pay extra for one of the apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redruth, Cornwall
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Can only repeat all the good things to say! Fantastic holiday of a lifetime, if your thinking about it....DO IT!

Room Tip: Book an apartment, we got upgraded to a 2 bedroom one, they are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

After reading mixed reviews of this hotel, we were slightly worried what to expect from this hotel, as have never been anywhere like this before. Need not worry it was the best holiday ever, and I can only totally agree with Clairedevon and nikkipink with their reviews.

We booked with Thomsons. Flight was very festive, staff were wearing Santa hats and handing hats out to passengers. We sang Xmas carolls, children were given Xmas colouring/fun packs and there was a colouring competition for the children.

When we arrived at Kittila, we were greeted by our Elf (Cranberry who was Fab!) and our rep Red Nose Rachel who was great fun! We were taken to a big shed next to the airport and kitted out with all our thermal clothing, which included snowsuits, snowboots, hats, socks, scarves and gloves. My snowsuit was too small for me, and this was exchanged afew hours later at the hotel reception.

The 50 minute transfer was very magical for a first timer to Lapland! Just how you imagine the picture postcard to look - the kids were soo excited!

We had booked a one bedroom apartment, but were upgraded for free to a two bedroom apartment in the E block. It was great! Clean, warm and cosy with a sauna and woodburner, we were very pleased with it, although we didn't spend that much time in there!

We were very worried about the food, as have a child who is an extremely fussy eater. We were actually pleasantly surprised and enjoyed the food! No there isn't loads to choose from, but you will not starve and it is adequate and tasty! There were lots of meats, samon, potatoes and veg, chips, soup, homemade bread and a couple of tasty desserts to choose from. At breakfast they have plenty of cererals, bread, coissants, fruit, yoghuts, eggs becon etc. We have had far worse on our recent holiday to Florida! Preferred the food in Lapland!

The scenery was wonderful. We enjoyed walking around the hotel grounds with our torches with the kids, pretending to look for elves in the twinkeling snow. (If you google Akashotelli webcam, you can see the hotel!)

The Finnish people speak excellant English, even in the supermarket, so no worried there! They are very nice people. Staff on the main reception are very helpful.

We visited the Snow Village/Ice Hotel which was fantastic, and enjoyed the reindeer, snowmobile and husky rides. All the excursions were great with Thomsons and the Kids had a fabulous time meeting Santa, who was very traditional looking!

On Xmas eve, they turn off all the street lights about 3.30 ish and light up with candles. It looks beautiful and well worth seeing.

We met some some wonderful familes there aswell and would love to go back for Xmas 2012! I would forgo my Florida holiday to go here instead now, as absoloutely loved it and can't wait to return! Book it - you'll have a fabulous time!

Room Tip: Wood for the log burners are in the wooden sheds scattered around the hotel - just help yourself!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

My husband and I went for 5 days over christmas too and would second everything that claredevon said.....we were treated wonderfully and not made to feel as if adults have no place there! Like the previous reviewer I'd say that I had heard complaints about the food but really, these complainers need to get a life because the food was fine. We stayed in a cabin and I'd recommend one to anyone who wants a piece of idyllic christmas!
It was the best organised trip I'd ever been on.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

We have just come back from staying here for 5 nights over Christmas with our 2 girls. Booked through thomsons we had a fab time. We were met at the airport by the Elfs and after putting cases on the coach walked across to get all the snow gear. A short ride to the hotel where we stayed in the premier apartments. They are very clean modern and the sauna and log fire make a nice touch. There is a log store in the shed on the upper car park.

The staff were very friendly and the food is fine. Food has had a lot of poor reviews here and all i can say it does depend on what you expect. Thomson platinum it is not but there was always something we could find and it was replenished whilst we were there.

It is in a beautiful setting and a short walk from the lake where we saw the northern lights one night. Loads on toboggans around but if you don't get one buy your own from the supermarket 10 mins down the rd for 11euros. Drinks are expensive so worth bring your own bottle or buy beers from the supermarket.

With Thomson you stay with your elf on all the inclusive trips, get on your named coach each time, so it is very well organised. Ours was holly berry. We had huskie rides and 3km snow mobile ride included one day and then on Xmas day we went to santas lodge to see him, make cookies go on reindeers cook marsh mallows toboggan etc it was magical. Gala dinner on the last night included fireworks.

We also paid for the snow mobile safari which takes you through what I can only describe as nania, it was amazing. It's best to book trips before you go they are more expensive in resort.

If you want to see the ice hotel go by taxi, 150 euros with a 2 hr wait whilst you look around, that is plenty of time. Better than the 350 euros thomsons wanted!

If you want a ski lesson see inghams as they get good deals and equipment is included. Ski bus is 10 euros each way for family of 4.

Entertainment is fine with the two reps either upstairs or downstairs in the nightclub. However the kids are so tired after all activities we only went twice.

We also went to the Santa village which is 20min walk so have a private visit with Santa for about 10 mins, as you only get a few minutes on the inclusive visit. 5 euro per person including adults.

We now understand why people say they have been before, it is magical and would def go back. Loved yllas as very traditional and on Xmas eve they line the street with candles and turn off street lights. Magical!

You will not be disappointed with hotel or location or thomsons. Worth booking late for a good deal.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lapland Hotel Akashotelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lapland Hotel Akashotelli

Address: Akasentie 10, Akaslompolo 95970, Finland
Location: Finland > Lapland > Akaslompolo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Akaslompolo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lapland Hotel Akashotelli 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Lapland Hotel Akashotelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapland Hotel Akaslompolo
Lapland Hotel Akashotelli Finland/Akaslompolo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lapland Hotel Akashotelli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.