We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great return visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa de Cacabelos

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cacabelos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Villa de Cacabelos
Save
You added Hotel Villa de Cacabelos to your Saves list
Avenida de la Constitucion, n012 | Cacabelos, 24540 Cacabelos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cacabelos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A great return visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Stayed here for a second visit in April for four nights. The only place to stay in on near Cacabelos. Our stay as previously was made all the more special by the wonderfully friendly and attentive staff. Looking forward to a return visit already.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    20
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
19
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

This is a very nice hotel. A very welcome respite after a hot day of walking. Very friendly staff, very spacious clean room. Close to restaurants, right on the trail out of town. Nice breakfast. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nellysford, Virginia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

While walking the Camino de Santiago we had no place to stay in Cacabelos. As we approached town we saw a large billboard for the Villa Cacabelos.".New..Accommodating...buffet breakfast..convenient location... etc". Took a risk and deviated from the Camino (the Hotel is actually about 100 meters from the Camino but one has to leave the Camino and follow some wandering diagonal streets to find the place when coming from the west) Very pilgrim friendly. German owned or at least managed.. little English spoken, I have little Spanish but the Desk Clerk and I could converse in German. Large, very modern rooms (think Danish modern). Small lobby cafe/bar. Short walk to some of the world class restaurants in Cacabelos (Desk clerk recommended the Apostel which was very good and reasonably priced). We evidently had shared the hotel with a German hiking club on tour but did not notice them until the breakfast the next day. Breakfast was Northern European...lots of meat and cheese as well as eggs, pastry, and specialty coffees and teas. Probably the best breakfast on our entire Camino experience.This was also one of the best values for what one got for what one paid.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Trout Lake, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are modern, roomy and clean. The tub was what my sore muscles needed. The included Breakfast was extensive, fresh, and tastey...
It offered a variety of ham, bread, boiled eggs, juice, and coffee.
It fueled me for the day.
This is what a tired Pilgrim needs.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed there for nearly two weeks on a family visit. A very comfortable modern well appointed hotel with excellent bedrooms.The very friendly helpful and considerate staff made our stay even more pleasing. Hotel is very well located at the centre of this very attractive small town. If you are in the area this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is our third visit in three years and not the last, we will be back!
Luis, the owner and manager, Marga and Henera, the receptionists, are the first contacts when you walk into the foyer and the welcome is always friendly, whoever you talk to. Where do you start? - the greetings, the booking-in, the room or the grand buffet breakfast?
We stay there because my husband worked in Ponferrada about twenty years ago and we visit friends that he made whilst working there and Cacabelos is handy for the bus, around 1.50 Euros each way (Cacabelos to Ponferrada) and the Bodegas, Cafes & Restaurants are good - a bonus is that the village/town (expanding all the time) is on the Camino de Santiago (French path). This hotel ticks all the boxes for us - any problems are sorted immediately. There is a small bar - crowded on televised football nights but cosy for a drink or two. The bedrooms are decently sized and the showers are just the job in the morning for invigorating the blood circulation. The buffet breakfast is sufficient for the heartiest of appetites - even for vegetarians.
If you arrive by car or motorcycle, there is outside parking or underground parking available - with a lift which accesses the u/g park.
At times there are coach parties, so you may want to book ahead - you will not be disappointed, believe me.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OSKALOOSA
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Good restaurant -- ooh, tender beef. Rooms need better light. And refrigerator needs to be vented so the heat is not trapped inside the box. But all in all a pleasant place to stay for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa de Cacabelos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa de Cacabelos

Address: Avenida de la Constitucion, n012 | Cacabelos, 24540 Cacabelos, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Leon > Cacabelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cacabelos
Number of rooms: 34

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa de Cacabelos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.