We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Sicily - Little Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Sicily - CLOSED

Little Sicily
57 The Broadway | High Street, Chesham, England
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Chesham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Little Sicily - Little Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We visited Little Sicily this evening (16 November 2012) and could not have wished for better food at a good affordable price. Excellent, attentive service. Finally Chesham has the type of restaurant that offers an alternative.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    8
    2
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amersham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely local restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I went here last week after reading the reviews on here and loved it! The food was delicious, service friendly and good value for money. Will definitely be going back here!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very poor - such a shame. Chesham needs a good restaurant - this is not it!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Decor good on one side of the room - hideous on the other. Big illuminated pictures of random food!?
We went when the restaurant first opened. We're greeted by the owner or managed who seemed nice but were then served by the most awful waitress ever. Not able to string a sentence together - she kept walking past us with our drinks on a tray until we finally stopped her. She was away with the fairies!
Food very basic - ok but ridiculously priced. Over £15 for three tiny lamb chops on a plate with nothing else! I went home hungry (and 7 months pregnant!!)
Would never go there again. It is always dark and looks closed - paper menus stuck on the windows which looks awful. Trying to be a special occasion restaurant but it's not special and is a rip off!
They really should have stuck to tasty, affordable Italian and it would have done so much better. No way it will last. What a shame...

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, Hampshire
Top Contributor
323 reviews 323 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
“Rather expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We chose this restaurant as it had good reviews on Tripadvisor, but I'm sorry that we were rather disappointed.
Maybe it's Chesham. This was only our second visit to the town. Last time we were served still-frozen fish in a town centre pub!
This visit was early on a cold Friday night We needed to eat before going to the Elgiva theatre and we were their first customers.. The inside of the restaurant is spacious and the decoration is quite typically Italian. It was quite chilly though - maybe it would warm up with more people, but on a really cold night ...?
We did not find the food especially good, but we did find it quite expensive. The details:
We both started with soup of the day (Brocolli) - £4.50. The soup itself was good, but it was served in large bowls that had not been warmed so the soup went cold pretty quickly.
Mains: Involtini alla Siciliana (£16). The veal was very nice, but only four small pieces. It was served with saute potatoes - just about every main course is - but nothing else unless you ordered sides. Pollo alla Cacciatora (£12.25). Too much tomato and rather bland chicken -very little flavour and of course with saute potatoes.
Wine: a very average Montepulciano at £17 and the cheapest wine on the menu.
So in total £54 for a quick pre-theatre dinner ... not good value.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Taste and Service are top priority at Little Siciliy Chesham”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I have been to Little Sicily on a growing number of occasions as its the best restaurant in my home town of Chesham. Just came from the special Sicilian Banquet Evening where innumerable dishes were offered and a casual atmosphere was created all by the fine staff, marvelous chef and great host Sandro. A quality selection of Sicilian wines were presented by the vineyards owners themselves. Everything was so tasty it was difficult to leave room for desert but I'm so glad I did! The cannoli was better than what I had tasted in Sicily itself. Fantastic place, everyone should visit!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Sicily also viewed

Chesham, Buckinghamshire
Chesham, Buckinghamshire
 
Chesham, Buckinghamshire
Chesham, Buckinghamshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Sicily, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.