We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 Night stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Latimer Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Latimer Place to your Saves list
Latimer Place
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Latimer, Chesham HP5 1UG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chesham
Belper
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“1 Night stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Booked a twin and single room for Sunday night. Lovely hotel, used pool and leisure facilities. Good dinner and breakfast. Lovely looking hotel like stopping in a country house. Loved the library area with its complementary teas and coffees, even had a resident cat

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twin2009, General Manager at Latimer Place, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed you staff with us and that you met Smudge the cat, she is becoming quite an attraction.

We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    150
    103
    39
    14
See reviews for
66
162
10
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

i stayed at Latimer for a few days rest, it was a gift from my children, to recuperate after a long illness. the bedroom was comfortable. i enjoyed reading in the public rooms. the food was delicious and plenty of it too! the staff at breakfast where wonderful and helpful, especially Paula, who constantly made me giggle! (how anyone can be so cheerful, so early in the morning is beyond me!). i will definitely be returning and next time i will bring my family too. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twin2009, General Manager at Latimer Place, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that your recuperation is going well.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the not too distant future.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed at Latimer Place over half term with our three children in adjoining rooms. The rooms were clean, comfortable and quiet. The staff on reception were friendly and very helpful as were the excellent waitresses and waiters in the restaurant during breakfast who had entered into the Halloween spirit. This hotel is very good value for money and is in a lovely location and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twin2009, General Manager at Latimer Place, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we achieved our aim of offereing great value for money.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I stayed here last night with my husband as a treat night away for his birthday. I had been a little worried after reading some of these reviews. We stayed in the main house and our room was lovely. Not small clean bathroom was a decent size. Iron and ironing board in our room. Flat screen tv. Reception staff very welcoming and polite.we went to the pool. Clean and not overly cold. Steam room and sauna perfectly fine. Had a great meal last night there. The captains bar perfectly right for what we wanted and bar staff lovely and friendly. The breakfast this morning was plenty and lovely. As a night away we had a very pleasurable stay. And would recommend to all and also would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twin2009, General Manager at Latimer Place, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Fantastic that you had an enjoyable stay with us, I and my team are delighted to receive such lovely feedback, it is great to hear and we do hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a couple of nights stay at Latimer Place - Ok I do agree that in places it is tired, but the staff, quality of the food and value for money was quite outstanding - this was our fifth visit to a Devere hotel - The staff in particularly the in the restaurant on both nights were excellent

Initially we were a bit disappointed that after two and a half hours travelling just 49 miles, we couldn't get into our room - this was @ 2.50 but we soon began to relax and do a bit of reading in the library

The venue is primarily a conference venue and this is apparent - but location and grounds are superb - would definately recommend and return

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twin2009, General Manager at Latimer Place, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review on tripadvisor, your feedback is shared with the team here at Latimer and they will be delighted to read your comments. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Feels very dated inside, a bit grubby. Rooms aren't huge, with old tvs, no ac and showers are weak. My iron was dirty, staining the shirt I was ironing. Staff were helpful sorting it out though. Gym is sparse with little equipment. Breakfast mediocre, cheap ketchup, poached eggs tasted of vinegar. Could do with a major refurb

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twin2009, General Manager at Latimer Place, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at Latimer. I am surprised that are TV's are old, they have all been replaced in the last two years. I am sorry that your iron stained your shirt, this is not acceptable and I am pleased to hear that we managed to rectify the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
436 helpful votes 436 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Was here on a 3 day course so no relaxing for me! Corporate bedrooms were in a separate block and were small and basic with poor ventilation and no air conditioning which for a De Vere is unacceptable in 2013. Main house had some nice period features, the public rooms were big and atmospheric, food was very good - especially as we had to eat from a set menu, breakfast was buffet style and also very nice and well cooked. Staff were attentive and helpful. Lovely setting in lush countryside which I would have explored if I had the time. I would select this hotel for its location nice food and atmosphere, just make sure no training is going on as we had 100's of ex Uni students everywhere clogging up the public rooms and the bar - so no very relaxing even when you had finished your work. Also quite stuffy - especially in the bar area - could have been better.

Room Tip: Stay in teh main house - NOT the training delegate bedrooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twin2009, General Manager at Latimer Place, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on tripadvisor, I am pleased to hear that you were impreesed with our team and food. I am sorry that our bedrooms are not airconditioned, being in an area of nautural beauty, we have many restrictions on placing mechanical equipment on our buildings, hense we have restriced airconditioning to the areas that we are able to. I hope that your course went well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Latimer Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Latimer Place

Address: Latimer, Chesham HP5 1UG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Chesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chesham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Latimer Place 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Latimer Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Latimer Place Chesham
Latimer Place Hotel Chesham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Latimer Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.