We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beach, big friendly resort, fun times!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Amigo Atlantico - Guardalavaca

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Guardalavaca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Club Amigo Atlantico - Guardalavaca
Save
You added Club Amigo Atlantico - Guardalavaca to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Guardalavaca, Guardalavaca, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Guardalavaca
Montreal
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach, big friendly resort, fun times!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Arrived with Air Transat (Nolitours) - great service and no delays (even got there and back 30 minutes earlier)!

This is a vibrant, friendly, family resort and our party of 4 (mother, sister and 10 year old daughter) had a great time! The beach and scenery were beautiful. I didn't see any unhappy faces! Since this resort is so expansive, it didn't seem as populated as it was. Many pools and restaurants to choose from. The pool at the main building was the busiest and not many chairs by the pool. I would usually swim with my daughter then head to the beach, a few steps away. Chairs were easy to have there, and thats the view your paying for! The other pools had plenty of chairs available.

Entertainment mainly in the bungalow section but every night musicians and a couple of dancers would liven up the main lobby (tropical/atlantico building).

The food was good - and many restaurants to choose from. We personally preferred the buffet in the standard section. The à-la-carte restaurants were good too. Don't expect a fancy desert though - at every restaurant ice-cream was served. We would go get a cappuccino after at the bar, which were very good!

As for the rooms. We initially got a standard room. The room was very basic but clean. I had to shut off the air-conditioning as it was very noisy - but it worked! The mattress was not very comfortable. No paintings on the wall. The room was small and ordinary. On a plus side the hot water worked fine (just give it a minute to get going). Behind the standard rooms are the villas, a snack bar, pool, and ocean. It wasn't a far walk to the beach. That being said, we had the opportunity to change rooms the next day in the Tropical section and we took it. Plus we got 2 adjoining rooms. Those rooms were great, but not very soundproof (mine seemed worse than my sister's so maybe it depends on where your placed). Can't have everything I guess! The upgrade cost around 106$ Canadian per room which I found reasonable. I would book a room there again. I have met people who decided to stay in the standard section. There is a possibility to upgrade for a bigger room in the standard section for 5 CUC/day - but ask early!

The excursions were fun. We went to swim with dolphins and the glass-bottom boat. Both were alot of fun. You swim with dolphins with a group and you can pay 10 pesos to be dragged by two dolphins around the enclosure (20$ pesos includes 3 exercises). You can also get a picture of 2 dolphins kissing you for 10$ pesos. A great thing is that the tour guides will take your camera and take pictures the whole time, and videos. I volunteered at the dolphin show and got to be lifted by two dolphins. Great experience!

The glass-bottom boat takes off from the Brisas next to our resort. The snorkelling was fantastic!

The horse and buggy ride to the village was very interesting. Only 15$ (not per person!). Bring some presents for the children!

Flea market right besides the main building. Vendors change every day, so large selection of souvenirs! I suggest buying a wooden car for 5 to 15 pesos. Went the the airport duty free store in Holguin and one was being sold for 62 pesos! Got a beautiful wooden ballerina for 5 pesos, looks great on my piano!

Would I go back? Definately! Loved Cuba and playa Guardalavaca and this resort has it all!

Room Tip: If your in a group request adjoining rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    933
    565
    248
    173
See reviews for
482
852
108
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ont
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

We always stay at a 4 plus resort, couldn't resist the price took a change and it ALL worked out great. Beaches breathtaking, food was good, room clean, I agree with all the other reviews stay in villas or bungalos.
Staff most part great, the odd one here and there didn't seem to happy.
I would go back anytime.
Bring any old laptops, cellphones ect... they need them and will trade for them.
We brought stuff and just gave it away to staff that we felt needed it.
U have to get a chair by any of the pools early or u wont get one more so the 2 pools located by the beach.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Check-in was quick-could be long if you have a full busload.
Never had to wait long for drinks-they will put you aside if they see someone they want to serve first. Drinks are terrible-stick to beer, rum&coke or daiquiri was good.
Room was adequate, beds were more comfortable than expected, air conditioning was very cold, we turned it off during the day.
Food was not good, but always found something to eat. Bread was great, rice, tomatoes, lettuce, white & black beans, chickpeas, spaghetti was good (huge portions!). We found the Bungalows buffet was the best for lunch & dinner and we only went to the buffet in our section (tropical) for breakfast. (Eggs & french toast was good when it was warm)
Loungers around the tropical pool were always taken, but the one time were were in the bungalows section during the day, there was no one there.
Music & daily activities were in the tropical section, can be loud during the day.
Beach was nice, always clean.
We only attended the nightly shows once for the "aquatic ballet". It wasn't terrible, just something to do. There is nothing to do once dinner is finished, i recommend bringing some cards, or making friends while there.
I liked the hammocks that were spread around the resort, nice to read or take a nap in!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Febaruary 2012, Group of 22 guests.
All in all we had a fantastic week at Club Amigo in Guardalavaca. As someone who has traditionally gone to a smaller resort I was quite surprised how large Club Amigo actually is. According to Francoys from Nolitours, this is the 4th largest resort in Cuba. There are about 750 rooms spread over 4 sections
1. Barracks/Standard
2. Tropical
3. Villas
4. Bungalows (Chameleon)
FYI Nolitours does not have an agreement with Cubanacan to rent out Tropical rooms so if you are set on that and book through Nolitours you will have to pay to upgrade. Upgrading from a Standard to Tropical was ~$16 per day and from Standard to the Bungalows was ~$32 per day.

STANDARD ROOMS: Nothing really to say about these. They are basic. The 600 level rooms have a split AC whereas the 400 level rooms have a 1 piece AC. These rooms are fine for people planning on spending a few hours at night in the rooms, they are simple and to the point.

ROOM SAFE TIP: A few of the rooms have the newer digital pin safes. If your safe is open when you arrive at your room you can set the codes yourself instead of paying 14CUC for the week:
To reset the code from the previous guest press the black button on the inside of the safe where the hinge is and it will reset itself: Enter a 3 digit code then press A. To lock and unlock the safe press the same 3 digit code then press B.

BUNGALOW ROOMS:
These are actually quite an upgrade from the standard rooms. You can tell that there is the extra half a star difference. We ended up having 4 people get a bungalow together which ended up being an amazing room. There was a full living room downstairs with a small kitchenette [sink, counter, coffee maker, fridge] (no hot plate though...) as well as 2 large rooms upstairs and 3 bathrooms. (2 with bathtubs). This is not the norm with the other bungalows, but if you are in a group of 4, ask and see if they have these larger rooms available as it is a big upgrade from the regular bungalow rooms in terms of sq footage.

MEDICAL:
There is a doctor on the resort 24/7 which was really convenient. One member of our group received stitches at 1AM while some others were treated some some stomach bug (shots and antibiotics). Several people in our group ended up being sick for a day or two. Prices are reasonable by Canadian standards but I would still recommend getting travel insurance.

SCOOTERS:
There are a number of scooters on site which are rented out by a government organization not directly related to the Hotel or Nolitours. The tour operator does not recommend that you rent them as cuban law does not allow you to leave the country until the investigation is complete. That is my little disclaimer. That being said, they are a complete blast. I do have a lot of prior experience riding scooters and motorcycles.
EXCURSION IDEA FOR SCOOTERS: The road to Banes is a beautiful drive. It is about 45 minutes away (35kms) and it winds up in the mountains until you come back down into the valley. In Banes you will find the church that Fidel was married in.

FOOD - BUFFETS:

There are three buffets on the resort: One beside the lobby of the Standard section, One beside the lobby of the Tropical section and one near the bar in the Bungalow section. As a guest at CA you may use any of the 3 facilities. Both the Standard and the Tropical section are more banquet hall style rooms. The Bungalow section has a travel and tourism style going on with the atmosphere being a little more friendly. The food at the three are roughly the same. Personally I think that the Tropical section had the best food but I preferred the atmosphere on the Bungalow buffet.

FOOD - A LA CARTE:
There are 5 a la carte restaurants on the resort. Be advised that the a la carte schedule runs on a calendar week. This means that you may reserve up until the Saturday evening. On Sunday morning the schedule starts up again. (You must wait until Sunday morning to book for that evening and the rest of the week). There are many long term guest at CA so your chances of getting what you want are often less than ideal. Our group was only able to get into the Cuba a la carte and the food as a whole was a little disappointing. It was bland at best. That being said, the atmosphere is much better than the buffets.

GROUP CON:
There were 22 of us in our group where I booked 10 people in the Bungalows and 12 in the Barracks. We ended up being all over the place in our respective sections. As mentioned earlier, 4 of the people ended up getting a huge bungalow, so we just ended up meeting there but at first it was kind of frustrating having people spread out all over.

LANGUAGE: Most resort employees speak some degree of English.
About half of the guests at the resort are French Canadian (if not more than half). All in all I would say that 90-95% of guests at CA are Canadian.

NOISE:

All in all this is a VERY QUIET resort given how many people are there. Golf carts and other vehicles used by staff are all electric, so they are really. The entertainment in the bungalow section goes until 11PM but everything becomes quiet after that.
There is a 24hr bar but noise levels are low, no loud music...and very few rooms are within hearing distance from the 24hr bar. There is also a disco, but again, this is on the far side of the resort and not within hearing distance from the rooms.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

We had an absolutely Epic time at Club amigo. The place is enormous, and there is enough to do to keep you busy and entertained. Guardalavaca has the nicest beach we have ever seen anywhere, so if your a beach person, this is definately the resort for you at a reasonable price. you are definately want to get an upgrade to a villa when you arrive. The gardenveiw rooms are very basic, and we did have morning pumbing issues for 3 or 4 days (no running water in the am), but we didnt let it ruin our vacation...just went out for breakfast and a few cervesas and by noon it was good again. this is a 3 star resort so if you let the small things get to you, then you will not have a good vacation. The a la carte restaurant were very good, but the buffets were so so. you should definately take the info session and book your a la carte reservations asap because its honeslty the best meals you will eat while you are there. Dont underestimate this peice of advice because it can be hard to get a really wholesome decent meal there. Bennys has great breakfast and is good all around. la spada is a great restaurant and takes womens shoes off and rests their feet on red silk pillows while they eat!The staff here is a bit stuffy, but the people that go there are real people and its not stuck up at all. we had a great time on this vacation. Amigo does have its shortcomings, but it is what you make of it. the beach is absolutely spectacular and you can have a lobster dinner on the beach with your toes in the sand for 10 pecos. also the flea market just outside the resort is alot of fun and you can buy a wide variety of items. and you can bater with them for items you have, so load up at the dollar store and you can use that stuff to trade at the market. get candy to give away to the children and room sevice tips. Have a good time at Amigos guys. We made great memories there and would totally return. remember...get the upgrade, and make your restaurant reservations!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haileybury, On
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Our 1st Time at this resort. My husband and I went on this trip to celebrate our 15 Anniversary and Valentine Day or week... Our Special thanks to Liuba and Carole. Everyone there was so friendly, happy, helpful and sooo much more. We enjoyed everything it had to offer, Which is a lot. The food was great, you never go hungry... you can drink the water out of the taps, there was many clean pools, clean beaches, Awesome flea market. We also explored Holguin and Banes on mopeds. It was wonderful weather. From our villa we could watch the sun set every night. It is very safe there and off the resort. We had guys that worked on the resort make us crickets out of coconut tree leaf (3). By the villa we found it quiet. Our maids were great. We went on three different horse and buggy rides and the tours were different which was great! One man even let us explore the markets in Guardalavaca.
Next year we are bringing our kids...
Most of all!!! Have fun cause you cant be bored at this place.

Room Tip: We were in the Villa nearest to the ocean and it was fairly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Returned from a 7 day trip to Club Amigo with Nolitours Excellent rep(Francois)
Stayed in the rooms around the stage, very close to everything, a little walk to the beach
Stated with 4 University students on there winter break, they had a blast weather 30-31
Glass bottom boat tour a must $19 and u can snorkel in water with guide or watch fish from boat book with Francois @Nolitour desk
Dive was also excellent,30 feet daughters 1st time and they were great with her, they kept her close and showed us an eel, tiger fish and much more. Also had dinner at the restaurant at the end of the beach, top of the hill, best lobster,shrimp combo beautiful sunset view. This was my friend and I's 5 time to Cuba 4th time returning to Club Amigo and each time we see and do new things.New management is doing great with the upgrades and little touches (Ham mics, swings, Wine tasting room beside Benny's at the beach,late breakfast at all night bar, pool table lite up for night game and more. Can't wait to return in April and bring some new friends. Thanks to Francois from Nolitours for all the little extra's (dinner @Brisas)
Girls can't wait till next year's winter break!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for extra's when booking your trip,you will most likely get them, (we asked for corner unit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Amigo Atlantico - Guardalavaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Amigo Atlantico - Guardalavaca

Address: Playa Guardalavaca, Guardalavaca, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Holguin Province > Guardalavaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Guardalavaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Amigo Atlantico - Guardalavaca 3*
Number of rooms: 747
Also Known As:
Club Amigo Atlantico - Guardalavaca Hotel Guardalavaca
Hotel Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca
Amigo Guardalavaca Hotel Holguin
Amigo Guardalavaca Club
Club Amigo Guardalavaca
Club Amigo Atlantico - Guardalavaca Cuba - Holguin Province

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Amigo Atlantico - Guardalavaca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.