We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just A Great Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Rio de Luna y Mares

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Guardalavaca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sol Rio de Luna y Mares
Save
You added Sol Rio de Luna y Mares to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Ctra. de Guardalavaca | Playa Esmeralda, Guardalavaca, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Guardalavaca
Certificate of Excellence 2014
haverhill
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Just A Great Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

Have to say this was the best Holiday we have had and we have been around the world but for a family holiday with everything there for you it was just the best.

Good bits
The resort was wonderful, the beach was ideallic and not crowded (weekends were a little noisier), the hotel had lots going on included in the package like horse riding, snorkelling, tennis, diving etc.

The pool area was spacious and regurlarly cleaned (although a little more hosing down the bed areas would have been nicer especially after one of the pool shows) the pool was cleaned daily. Remember to get up as early as 5.30 am to get a bed...that was an eye opener...we finally surpass the germans!

Trips were great, Swimming with dolphins was a treat, the cigar factory trip was very interesting.

The entertainment staff worked tirelessly and kept us all busy if we wanted to volley ball, water polo, salsa dancing (thanks Fernan), football, cocktail making the list goes on. The evening entertainment was varied and reasonably good. Check out the Pool show each week.

The food was good and varied, sometimes samey but the choice was huge so you could never get bored of it and the fresh grill of meat and fish was a delight. It was great to have four evenings included to meal at the A la carte restaurants serving Lobster and Chateau Briand!

The rooms were cleaned daily, although a little dated, everything worked and the free safe was a nice touch.

Bad Bit
The hotel (although would not admit it) seems to run a 'towel scam' which needs ot be stopped, at the start of the holiday you are warned NOT to lose your beach towels which are provided for you or else a charge of £9 each would be levied. On leaving the resort, 5 families on our bus 'mysteriously lost' their towels on the last night (they are certainly not worth stealing trust me) and wer econfronted with a large bill on check or even on the bus when leaving. This is unecessary and will turn cusotmers away as it is the last memory they have of the place. Hotel, please sort this out before we come back next year!

Overall a great holiday and we plan on coming back next year with friends

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,994
    1,449
    448
    147
    84
See reviews for
1,011
1,986
137
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (961)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

We went to the Mares in the last week in July/ 1st week in August with great weather from start to finish. A couple of showers overnight and a couple of electrical storms over the sea but without rain and certainly no hurricanes. (this is hurricane season).

The hotel was nice and clean with no complaints about the food( say 3.5 star rather than 4 but this is a developing country and is to be expected). The hotel chooses when you got to the a la carte restaurants but there is flexibility if you want a change of dates. Food in the buffet restaurant is very good with plenty of selection in starters, main meals and deserts. There is fresh fish and meat for "there and then" cooking and is worth the 5 minute wait.

The staff, and Cubans in general, are the friendliest folk on earth with no worries about roaming around surrounding villages and towns. There are no worries about theft or muggings, or worse. Unlike the Dom Rep, where we were a couple of years ago, where it wasn't as comfortable in the surrounding area. A tip goes down very well with all of the Cuban staff and certainly helps with there salaries given the fact they earn about 10CUC per month (yes, about the cost of 2 bottles of rum). It also gives a quicker service albeit that wasn't the reason for giving a tip.(1 or 2 peso is about the going rate)

There are lots of activities including Hobbie-cat sailing where the instructors will take you out for a trip if you're not that confident yourself. Kayaks are available and snorkling kit, all inclusive. Daily beach volley ball gets the rum out of the system every morning. You replace your beach towels at the beach house on a daily basis.

We stayed down at the beach rather than the at the poolside due to the fact that you need to be up before 7am to get a sun-bed. Unfortunately the English rather than the Germans are the culprits here. There is a policy that towels will be removed by the hotel if there is nobody present at the sunbed but, having been to the beach once we were hooked. Plenty sunbeds, friendly attendants, the La Nina snack bar with plenty soft drinks, beers etc.

Entertainment is good and varying, with everything from opera singers, string quartets and aquatic ballet, to Cuban bands and rock guitarists. There are dance competitions at the hotel theatre which I would suggest requires a couple of Cuba Libre first.

Havana is a must to visit but it needs to be the overnight trip, which is expensive, as I believe all of the flights were directed to Santiago de Cuba prior to heading to Havana. A day trip would mean you're spending only a couple of hours in Havana. The Tropicana show is brilliant and professional and is included in your fee as is the 5 star hotel for your overnight stay. A bottle of Havana Club 7yo is included between 4 at the Tropicana, as is a cuban cigar for the gents.

Our only problem in relation to the Hotel, and the reception was informed of this as was the Thomson rep on site, was the problem of mixing with people we met on our trips from surrounding hotels. It is very difficult to invite visitors to your complex due to the star ratings being different even though the hotels are owned by the same group Sol Melia. With villages being so far away (5km to Guaralavaca) the sensible meeting place is one of the hotels, all of which are all inclusive. There is a day pass at £50 or 70 CUC, but this is meant to cover the use of facilities for a full day whereas we just wanted a few drinks at night. A communal beach pub or the like between resorts would be good, even if you had to pay for the drink. If Thomson/First Choice are pushing excursions where you meeet people they should also remove the prohibitive problem of socialising with neighbouring resorts, all of which are all inclusive. Mr Mohamed, the Manager from the Paradiso del Oro next door was fanatastic, realising the promotion opportunity and inviting us over for a drink and to see the fantastic facilities there. Thanks again Mr Mohamed.

We will be heading back to Cuba as it is a fantastic holiday destination with great weather, fantasic beaches, great excursions and lovely folk. The Sol Rio de Luna y Mares is a great hotel and very good value for money. Go for it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexisRiveron, Director of Sales at Sol Rio de Luna y Mares, responded to this review, August 12, 2010
Dear Guest:

On behalf of our Staff we want to thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor. It's very nice from you. Please, keep in touch with us and see you soon.

Best Regards,

Jorge Monte Moreno
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

Well what more can i say that has not been said on here, I would personally do not worry about any bad reviews on here I would see for yourself how fab it is.

We went on the 12th July - 26th July with two teenagers to celebrate our Silver Wedding Anniversary. I contacted Wendy beforehand and she arranged a special day for us all, which was lovely and we felt really special. So if you have a special day whilst over there let them know and they will sort out a lovely day. - Thank you Wendy!!

I personally go on holiday to relax and take in the breathtaking views, but there was something for everyone here, from Water Polo, Beach Volleyball, Horse Riding, Disco, to Daily Walks and local trips. There is watersports all free as well, but i would suggest you book for the morning to use them as quite often whilst we were there it got too windy in the afternoon. (Not Complaining it was a lovely breeze) Then there were the arranged trips with Thompson you could go on, We went on two catamaran trips. One that swims with the Dolphins (Fab Loved it) the other was a stunning Island that once belonged to Fidel Castro, with Iguanas, Zebras and water buffalo on there.

The food was great and lots to choose from, the A la Cartes were all great big hello to Pablo and Yudit from the French which we personally preffered, but only had small disapointment with the Romantica in the evening, it was really short staffed and we waited so long we gave up after the Main Course, but talking to others they had lovely service so it must have been a bad night.

The rooms were cleaned everyday and we were left with lovely towel decorations.

Big hello to Yula in the Mares Swim up bar, she is lovely and makes really nice Mojitas

I would definatly go back again, it was the best all inclusive we have ever been to and the friendliest of staff. But don't just take my word for you...GO and see for youself!!!

Note from a 13 year old: I loved it and want to go back!!! I went horse-riding every day and it was fantastic :-) Check it out for yourself it is lovely and you just dont want to leave! When we went to the Dolphin area, they had a 5 day old baby there, which we got to look at but not swim with. I personally got to feed a 1 year old dolphin with mackerel, i had to make sure he ate each piece before I gave him another one, and made sure his mother & sister didnt get it first! You can also but the photos and DVDs, we bought the photos at 10 pesos each and they are proffessional.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

Stayed at the SRLyM from 24th July, 2010 until 7th August, 2010 with my husband, daughter and her partner. On the whole the holiday was very enjoyable, however we did find a few problems with our room 5101 and hygiene in general.

Staff - The staff in the hotel could not be more helpful, they are very friendly and will help whenever they can.

Restaurants - Used the restaurants on 8 occasions. Tried the International, Romantica, Cuban, Italian x 2, French (best), the Luna Pool and the Chill Out by the Mares Pool.
Drinks - Plenty of choice some international brands ie. Pernod, Smirnoff, Canadian Club.
Champagne was also excellent. Haven't any complaints about the restaurants some of them were better than others. Our favourite was the French, though we also enjoyed the Italian.

Buffets - Food was acceptable but wasn't keen on the set up ie. when people are queing for fresh food to be cooked no-one else could get near to the buffet food. Also it was difficult to get ice cream because of the people queing for the Crepes.

Beach - Beautiful - there was a lovely breeze after 10:30 am in the morning

Pools - Preferred Luna to Mares as it looked cleaner - On our first day saw someone being sick in the Mares pool couldn't face it after that!
Luna pool was quieter and it was easier to get beds and shade. It was also next to the Italian Restaurant which did offer excellent lunches including Pizzas.

Spa - Wonderful, there was a Jacuzzi, whirlpool, sauna, steam room, gym. Any of these could be used free of charge and it was always quiet in there so beds were available.

Entertainment - Didn't rate the entertainment at all with the exception of the water aerobics team and the 60s/70s group on a Saturday night.

Bars - Lobby bar in Mares was ok but service was a bit slow
Lobby bar in Luna was excellent the staff looked after you
Jazz bar - Would have been good if it had air conditioning as it was very hot. You
could sit outside which was pleasant however it was very badly lit.

Room - For myself this was the worst part of the week
We were allocated room 5101 next to our daughter who was in room 5102.
The position of the room was excellent as it was right across from the Luna
bar so it was easy to get a drink and take it back to the room
However as it turned out this was the only positive. The room was clean but very
old fashioned (not a problem) however we had over 20 cockroaches in the
room over the 2 week period. When we spoke to the man at reception he said
that it was because our room was next to a store room where it was very warm
and that they were getting into the room from there.
I find it difficult to understand why if they know there is a problem with the room
with cockroaches they put people in it?
There is nothing worse than going to the bathroom during the night not knowing
if you were going to stand on one! I actually kept the light on for the whole 2
weeks.
Incidentally my daughter next door didn't get any!

For myself this and knowing a rat was swimming in the Luna pool one night put a damper on the holiday for! I also found that staff were very slow to clean up after any accidents. One lady was sick and although her husband mentioned it to a cleaner, it was 2 hours before it was cleaned up.

Although this review seems quite negative, we did all really enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexisRiveron, Director of Sales at Sol Rio de Luna y Mares, responded to this review, August 12, 2010
Dear Guest:

First of all, thanks for posting your comments on Trip Adviser. For us it's very important to know about each detail you have posted because you help us to improve our service. We really appreciate it and are already working on it.

We hope to see you in the future and it will be better than your last stay. On behalf of our staff, thanks again and please. Keep in touch with us; let us know about you, when you decide to visit us again.

You can contact us to our email address:
Alexis Riverón Rodríguez (jefe.ventas.srm@solmeliacuba.com)
Wendy Aballe Angulo (Quality and Customer Service Manager) jefe.cac.srm@solmeliacuba.com

Sincerely yours,

Alexis Riverón Rodríguez
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex england
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

Arrived during the evening after a very good Thomas cook flight .

A Lovely welcome from staff out the front of the hotel dressed up and singing in colourful Caribbean style .

Despite only booking 2 standard rooms I had emailed ahead requesting ocean view rooms in luna block 5 and After a smooth and quick checkin I was delighted to ifnd that is exactly what we had been given . (5303/5304)

Initial reaction on the rooms were huge beds . ( 2 doubles pushed together and another double for our son ) . Same in the other room . On inspecting the bathroom I was a little disappointed at it’s appearance and overall condition but it was clean and big with decent towels so the fact that the shower leaked, there were huge chips in the bath and the door didn’t shut didn’t worry us too much . We eventually leant that if you slam the door hard with the catch out that did the trick . There was everything you needed in the room including coffee maker , iron/ironing board and hairdryer.

When we awoke in the morning I just couldn’t believe the view from our balcony that greeted us .superb .

Beach ‘’ Fantastic . words just cannot describe it . Plenty of sunbeds available .It’s hard going trying to drag them through the sand yourself so let the sunbed man do it for you on the trolly . Things got busy in our 2nd week as school holiday time cranked up a gear. It was getting very busy down there and and I was getting down for 7-7.30 to secure a nice spot under umbrellas and having to drag sunbeds across the sand myself as it was too early for the sunbed man . believe me that is hard work in the early morning July /aug humidity. The week before you could easily have gone after breakfast or any time of day and had no problem.
Every morning started very calm and hot and around 11am each morning you suddenly felt the wind pick up. It was a huge relief from the humidity but the sea would then become fairly rough and unpredictable so beware when you are taking out pedeloes, canoes etc. Lot’s of Cubans on the beach of a weekend . Some people were very wary but I enjoyed watching them . and didn’t feel any need at all to watch my belongings.

Food. & drink: Was suberb .No complaints there. A vast choice in the buffet including live cooking for meat & fish , pasta . The Flambayed Bananas were delicious. Plenty of fruit . loved the fresh smoothies at breakfast .
Again the buffet restaurant got very busy in our 2nd week and people were wandering aimlessly around searching for tables , added to the fact the tables could not be cleared or relaid fast enough gave an air of chaos. . tables for more than 4 were virtually non existent and as a family of 6 we normally had to eat separately of an evening . I did request tables to be moved together a couple of times but was refused. They seemed to have grasped things better in our last couple of days and you were asked to wait at the door for a table to become available or for one to be prepared . Some people wernt happy but I thought it worked much more smoothly and a table for 6 was prepared for us .

There are 2 places for drink and food on the beach ,the best I think being the tented one at the luna end which doubles as the Romantica of an evening . There is also an excellent 24hour snack bar next to the luna pool (Italian in the evening) and a disco (essential for the teens) on the beach 11pm-2am .



We had reservations at the French, international, Italian and Romantica. We also went to the evening chillout dinner at mares Pool.

We enjoyed them all but Our favourite was the French Restaurant which I booked for my husbands birthday . They brought out a cake after dinner and kept us stocked up with champagne during our meal.

Drinks available as part of the A/I package are really good . Rum is free flowing and I have never seen so many concoctions go into a blender at a bar . Coffee was always good and Champagne was available at some bars and A la cartes is you asked. Beer was hit and miss only because half of the time it was served Flat . Not really sure of the reason for that.

On our 2nd week we discovered the spa building. It’s great for a chill around 6pm after you come off the beach or before getting ready for dinner.
It’s a lovely outdoor space with a fabulous raised but underover jaccuzi, a small plunge pool with sunbeds around , a sauna and gym .(No charge for any of this) We became addicted to a jacuzzi around 6pm . lovely and relaxing .You can even take a glass a chilled champagne with you . My son and his girlfriend enjoyed a whole day there one day with a a couples massage (50 cuc), followed by a day lazing about in the sun there and using the facilities . The plunge pool they said was lovely and cool.

Diving :.My husband and 3 sons used Sea lovers on the beach who do 2 dives each day accept a Sunday when they are closed . The first goes at 9am which is the deeper of the 2 and another around 11.30 that is shallower . My family did 2 dives the first morning but they found it too much in such a short space of time and were very tired and pushed on the 2nd one with the extra current to battle on resurfacing . They then just used to do the early morning one which was normally in calmer /clearer sea and not as busy . Padi is not recognised in cuba so you need to be clear and careful with the diving depths you are comfortable with and qualifified to do . They didn’t make any checks on qualifications or experience so it really is down to you to keep a clear head with regards your own safety and insurance . They all enjoyed the diving there and the staff & guides were very good . Prices were very reasonable and included equipment if needed.

To sum up we had a lovely holiday at Luna & mares , made very special by the warm and friendly Cuban people, the fantastic beach and location and relaxed and happy feel . We did get a little bored half way through but relaxed again and by the time we had to go home we could of done with a few more days.Only thing I missed was some English/American Music . Probably would of used the mares pool more if there was a little of that to tap my feet too.
There is no advertising or capitalism in cuba but there was plenty to do if you wanted, with the hotel proving lot’s of trips out to local locations , horseriding , tennis etc but you had to seek this all out . Nobody would pester you to do anything or come looking for you launching into a sales pitch. It’s not often you get that now and it was very refreshing .

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexisRiveron, Director of Sales at Sol Rio de Luna y Mares, responded to this review, August 12, 2010
Dear Guest:

On behalf of all the staff from Luna Mares we want to thank you for posting your experiences in Sol Río de Luna & Mares. We are really happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay.

Please, keep in touch and see you soon.

Best Regards,
Jorge Monte Moreno
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

Although we've visited the Caribbean before, this was our first ever all-inclusive holiday and our first time to Cuba. We had two weeks here with our 12 year old son, starting 21/07/10 and booked through Direct Holidays, at what appeared to be at least a £500 saving on brochure price. Transfers to and from the hotel take about an hour on new coaches with aircon. The main road is mostly straight, traffic-free and of good tarmac. The airport is basic and easy to use in both directions.
Based on previous reviews we had requested a room on the Luna side, because we enjoy a quiet relaxing holiday and for the most part that was definitely true. We were allocated room 6205 adjacent to the Luna pool and it had great A/C. Unfortunately on the first 2 nights we were woken around 0200am by noisy drunks at the 24 hour Luna pool bar, which caused us to move to 5120 which was fine. We heard of a couple of people switching from the Mares side to the Luna because it was too noisy for them over there. We had a peek into a Mares room and saw it was larger and more modern - but be aware it was definitely a lot livelier on that side and therefore not for us. The pool on the Luna side was also deeper and cleaner. By the second week both hotels were reported to be at maximum capacity and peak times at the buffet restaurant were best avoided.
The beach is stunning with pale yellow sand in a cove over a quarter mile long, dotted with seagrape and coconut trees. During the second week the waves heaped-up sand onto the beach towards the east end, which exposed some flat bedrock at the water’s edge, but that could be reversed by now and wasn’t a big problem. There is an adults-only hotel called the Paradisso right next door and we snorkelled by the iron-shore in front of it where there is plenty of coral and fish. Temperatures were HOT and ranged from 30 – 36 degrees Celsius during our stay, but there was always a fresh breeze on the beach by mid-morning.
Food was good wherever we ate and it was easy to eat healthily with lots of fresh fish; mahi-mahi, shrimps and white tuna were all particularly good. We found local chicken and beef a bit chewy, but it tasted fine. Local bananas and mangoes were delicious and plentiful. On arrival we were allocated five bookings for different a la carte restaurants, coupled with two poolside ‘gala’ dinners with entertainment. A few people didn’t show up to these, but we were always glad we did and the staff make a special effort to ensure you enjoy yourselves. It certainly added a lot of variety to mealtimes. Our favourite was the International, followed closely by the French, which has the added bonus of good air-con. We didn’t take in many shows but there was always plenty of entertainment about. You should definitely not miss the pool ballet on the Mares side though. The local ‘champagne’ is available at all times and we liked it. It is Rochamar from Spain. We finished most nights with pseudo-Baileys and ice (branded Saint Clair or Millwood). At lunchtimes we gravitated towards the La Pinta beach café/bar, or the Luna poolside bar/café, rather than the large buffet restaurant. Although there is less choice, they have a real laid-back holiday feel to them.
Organised trips seemed a bit expensive and we ventured out independently – Adelkes is a local man about 30 years of age who wears a pale brown cowboy hat and can be found outside the hotel with his horse and yellow/blue roofed carriage. He speaks great English and is very friendly. He took us the 3 miles or so to Guadalavarca beach and market for 15 pesos and he does other trips too. We used the Hotel’s free horses four times, the Hobie Cats twice (you get your own captain), sea kayaks, pedalos and bicycles. An odd mosquito was encountered in the bushy areas during the mornings. We found the nearby mini-zoo a bit sad and not worth a visit.
The hundred or so staff we met were all warm and friendly. Two older guys I recall - Nicolas at the Azucar bar was a former MIG jet pilot who trained in China, and Arceles at La Pinta was a former Russian language teacher who speaks several languages. We tried our hand at a few phrases in Spanish and it was always well received – please try at least to learn a few words – even simply ‘por favor’ and ‘gracias’. Most people made no effort at all. You do not need to tip, but with the great service we had, we tipped small amounts frequently. Try tipping early on, rather than last thing. We also took small gifts such as good quality razors, bodysprays, toothpastes and brushes, beach-shoes, ladies things…and wish we’d taken more. Don’t forget about the gardeners and security staff. Locals are happy to talk about any aspect of island life, but I would say talking about the USA is best avoided.
Overall we had a great holiday and would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexisRiveron, Director of Sales at Sol Rio de Luna y Mares, responded to this review, August 12, 2010
Dear Guest:

Thanks for your comments on Trip Advisor. All the staff from Sol Río de Luna & Mares will be happy to see you again in our Resort. Please, keep in touch with us. We hope to see you soon.

Sincerely yours,

Alexis Riverón Rodríguez
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

I travelled with my wife son and his girlfriend and we all had a great time. Ignore negative comments some people must be very hard to please. Can recommend the Swimming with Dolphins Trip and Paradise Island Catamaran Trip, quite expensive for 4 'adults' but well worth it let's face it there is nothing else to spend money on other than giving tips with everything all inclusive. Great facilities on beach all free and in it's own cove so feels like a private beach with security. French restaurant and the romantica on the beach were both excellent, difficult to say which was the best, food probably best in French but the Romantica beach setting was second to none -very romantic. The staff are great, very hard working especially the bar staff at 1492 lobby bar. Loved the swim up pool at Mares and will always remember the very pleasant Yula and her lovely smile. We didn't even try the fitness centre -it was just too hot! All in all this was excelent value for money. If I had to recommend any changes I would say that the money exchange booth needs to be bigger or have two people as there were often long queues, and sometimes the quality of the beef in the colon restaurant wasn't the best but when you see the skinny animals in the fields it is of no surprise. Would love to return to Cuba some day and see some more. I would agree that the rep for Thomas Cook Luis Carlos was excellent and very patient. His welcome meeting was very enjoyable- shame there wasn't any refreshments provided though.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexisRiveron, Director of Sales at Sol Rio de Luna y Mares, responded to this review, August 12, 2010
Dear Guest:

We want to thank you on behalf of our staff for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. We already have taken note about your suggestion regarding the money exchange booth. Thanks you. Also, we have talked to Luis Carlos about your excellent opinion.

Best Regards,

Jorge Monte Moreno
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol Rio de Luna y Mares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Rio de Luna y Mares

Address: Ctra. de Guardalavaca | Playa Esmeralda, Guardalavaca, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Holguin Province > Guardalavaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Guardalavaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Rio de Luna y Mares 4*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four -Star All Inclusive Resort with 464 rooms. Located beachfront in Playa Esmeralda, on the northern coast of Holguin province, where visitors will be amazed by the dazzling superposition of blues and greens from the sea, sky and costal shrubbery. This hotel complex is surrounded by extensive green areas and offers a wide variety of services and attractions. Recommended for families, weddings, honeymoons and tourist groups.Guest Rooms464 rooms: 308 Standard, 108 Standard Ocean View, 30 Standard Superior Ocean View, 6 Junior Suite, 4 Suite, 8 Family Suite Ocean ViewDining7 Restaurants (A la Carta, Buffet), 6 Bars ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sol Rio De Luna y Mares Hotel Guardalavaca
Sol Rio De Luna y Mares Resort
Sol Rio De Luna y Mares Guardalavaca, Cuba - Holguin Province

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Rio de Luna y Mares, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.