We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location,best frendly service:)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Rio de Luna y Mares

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Guardalavaca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sol Rio de Luna y Mares
Save
You added Sol Rio de Luna y Mares to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Ctra. de Guardalavaca | Playa Esmeralda, Guardalavaca, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Guardalavaca
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best location,best frendly service:)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

To all staff in Rio Luna Mares Thank you for great time. This was our 3rd time and we will go again.Bin in Cuba many times we found Home in Rio Mares.My hart go to you all during this huracaine,but I know that you will rebuild because you are all working whit smile.Other plases we went if you do not give tip you are not served.Whenever we turn around Mr.Manuel give us eye contact to make sure that averybody is ok.Thank you front desk,cleaning stuff,all bars,kitchens stuff. Everybody have right to right what they fill but I would like to ask them if they live in the huracaine area would they complain? Just think some of us live in the country whit storms and the panic is thare,,,,

Room Tip: For me it is Luna side building #5,6,7 becuse it is more quiet. I go to Cuba for relaxing and secure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,995
    1,449
    448
    147
    84
See reviews for
1,012
1,986
137
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (961)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We arrived on Oct 13th for a week at Sol Rio Luna y Mares.

This was our first trip to Holguin after making many vacation trips to other areas of Cuba. We were pleasantly suprised!

Dear Mr. Vazques: We had a wonderful time, we enjoyed your staff overall, you have fostered a great atmosphere amongst all that work at your resort. We also noticed that every thing was run in a very efficient and effortless manner and both my husband and I were treated like instant family, as if we were always there. We were very impressed with the many delightful food options, my husband was over the moon with the endless array of freshly cooked seafood, especially fish. We also bought 2 lobster dinners which we had at the french restaurant ...and that was truly divine. We also spent hours of relaxing moments in the lobby bar just taking in the great friendly atmosphere and enjoying the occasional cappuccino. This was our first trip to your hotel and holguin, and it will not be your last. Thanks again for your courtesy and for making our time most memorable.
Carol and Wes

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisRopero, General Manager at Sol Rio de Luna y Mares, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Carol C. Thank you for your visit and your great feedback, it was a pleasure to help you during your stay. Best regards. Manuel Vazquez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I have heard that this hotel is one of the better ones, a few years ago. Some people in our group had stayed here before & said it used to be better. Overall our stay was ok but certainly not great. We had a huge group that was there for a wedding & there was very poor planning/communications between the hotel & our Vision2000 rep. I realize you get what you pay for (we had a great rate) & this was their low season. They had less staff working & the service at the bars & restaurants were always slow. The a la carte restaurants were only open half the time & therefore most of the people in our group could not get in. Unfortunately one of the pools was also under construction. There were materials laying everywhere (rusty rebar, nails etc.) that people had to pass or walk through to get to their rooms.
I can say the excursions were fantastic & well worth the money spent.
Hopefully this is just a transition period for them.

Room Tip: if you don't like walking for 5 minutes to get from your room to the main building....let them k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisRopero, General Manager at Sol Rio de Luna y Mares, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear AVTripper. I am sorry we could not get your full expectations, honestly we did not get complains from your group during your stay, your have been alocated in block number 7 because it was the best way to stay together, next morning everyone from your group that ask to be change to the Mare site was done and we had good compliments from all of you on the wedding day. We are working to update the facilities, I hope you come back in the future to give you better service. Kind regards. Manuel Vazquez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Dont no really where to start stayed at the luna mares 10th october-26th october. We went for our daughters wedding which was absolutely beautifull staff could not do enough for us. We even hired the horse and cart directly from fidel whom bases his self by the hotel. We had the wedding evening meal at the romantica restaurant all 17 of us. We went horse riding from the stables this was very good. We went to Guardalavaca via horse and cart with fidel and other horse and cart to the flea market then on to a bar which was an eye opener how poor there living conditions were. We also arranged a trip via fidel to samboca and a restaurant on the way via the old cars excellent trip. We also went to Holguin in taxis which was scary people trying to open the car doors and begging feeling a bit imtimated. Then the fun begins on the Monday the rain starts heavy all day went to bed woke up at 3 am our room on the 2nd floor was flooded and my daughters next door. My clothing was ok because i keep it off the floor because of the creepy crawlies but my daughters clothes, wedding dress and camera were wet the hotel staff could not do enough for us Lena one of the managers got my daughters clothes washed and moved us to the 3rd floor in case of more flooding during the hurricane which did happen again but could not have been prevented due to the weather. Then on the wed we were due to fly home but this was cancelled due to hurricane Sandy. Around 9.30 everyone was told to go to there rooms and stay there until the hurricane had passed, we didnt know what to expect the windows had been taped up furniture stored as best as they could. Then the winds began all 4 adults huddled in 2 single beds the windows, door and room vibrating at one stage we thought they would go through took all our belongings and put these in the bathroom all you heard was the loud deafening roar of the wind glass breaking people screaming items flying about ceilings falling down. At about 5- 5.30 during the eye of the storm we left our room and checked on the rest of the party everyone was ok but scared hurried back to the room before the winds started again debris flying everwhere. The morning after it was total carnage romantica restaurant ruined beach disco gone and 24 hour bar totally trashed, bedroom windows smashed corridor ceilings down lobby ceiling down roofs destroyed trees over everywhere. Cant put into words how brilliant all the hotel staff where they stayed all night leaving there own families alone at home the cuban people are the most nicest people you can meet special thankyou to the hotel manager whom we saw everday and always spoke the food and beverage manager,offalina, lewis the chef, jacamo, and many more staff amazing how they kept it all together even putting breakfast on that morning. The biggest thank you of all goes to Early the Thomas cook rep what a star he kept us well informed stayed with us at the hotel on the night of the hurricane leaving his own family to cope at home on there own sorting. out any issues that we had. His own family had to leave there home in the middle of the night due to flooding. Eventually we were told on the friday that we could fly home but the road to the airport was closed so had to go on a long bus ride to the airport going a different way what total devastation we saw on the bus most houses totally flattened everthing lost banana and sugar plantations totally destroyed everything flattened it brought tears to your eyes. Early came to the airport to make sure we were safe not knowing if he would get home himself as it was a 2 hr drive away, no fue,l power or water these people dont have cars they cant afford them instead if you are lucky to own a horse or hitchhike, they plough feilds using ox's no tractors will these cuban people ever recover. I would not hesitate in going back to Cuba wonderfull place and people. Cuba has not had the same television coverage as america for hurricane Sandy america is a rich country but Cuba so poor just think for amoment how terrible these kind people have suffered and may never recover.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Had a very relaxing holiday in june/july 2012, pool bar with the lovely oferlina, billi boo says hello, the best thomas cook rep NANCY ,any problems go and see nancy, this lady is very special,very very good at her job, the hotel was clean,gardens tidy, pool lovely and not cold at all, sea and lovely beach just down the slpoe, food a plenty, bar staff not the best but find the efficient ones and a small tip will see you right....had a very relaxing holiday with a party of 8, nothing to do out of the complex so just relax enjoy the entertainment in the evenings, long days by the beach/pool,hot weather but a bit humid this time of the year, would go back again and a special mention for the speedboat trip awesome value and great fun, the catamaran was a great day out with the snorkelling fantastic all in all cuba great value

Room Tip: resort holiday with good trips but nothing to do off resort in the evenings, this is a chill out eat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisRopero, General Manager at Sol Rio de Luna y Mares, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear timmytime2012. Thank you for your visit last summer, now it is not so hot. Thank you for the compliments to Orfelina, one of the best in my team. Best regards. Manuel Vazquez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennyloanhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Just back from holiday here and would like to praise the management and staff for all their efforts after hurricane Sandy had struck the island.
To manage to get most of the hotel back with electricity and water within a day was nothing short of a miracle.When you saw the devastation of the area round about the hotel you knew that some of the staff must have been in to work under exceptional domestic pressure but they still managed to come in.The kitchen staff actually managed to distribute tea/coffee/sandwiches to the guests only 3 hours after the hurricane struck,while most people would have been feeling sorry for themselves.
Big up for Urli the Thomas Cook rep,there could be no greater ambassador for Cuba and I don't know what Thomas Cook pay you but it is not nearly enough.
Thanks for a great holiday

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisRopero, General Manager at Sol Rio de Luna y Mares, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear graham c. Thank you for your support, it was one the most difficult days in our lifes, part of the staff had to stay at the hotel for two days withouth the possibility to go home because no transportation, I am very proud of them. Now we are much better with all the facilities in use. Take care. Manuel Vazquez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge ontario
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

went to luna y mares oct 13 to oct 20 weather was amazing over 40 degrees every day and no rainwe didn't do any excursions with our tour company because the hotel have they're own we done something different everyday and roberto was the guide he is amazing they are listed in the main lobby on the mares side.
We were i bit concerned about the food in cuba as it was our first time and people had told us food was not good well this hotel must be an exception all the food we had was very good breakfast eggs anyway,bacon ,pancakes ,sausages ,yogurts and all types of juice fresh squeezed orange juice amazing lunch buffet tons of choice and all good the pizza in the snack by the mares pool you have to try its so good we booked the romantic al a carte and we booked the mexician for my husbands 50th they even baked a cake for his birthday
we normally spent the afternoons in the mares pool as the luna pool was closed genny at the swim up bar makes the best drinks especially bahama-mamas the best she is so nice and always smiling and she remembers everyones names ,rudy at the disco bar at night is really nice to
we went with 2 friends we had rooms 2050 and 2051 on the mares side pool and ocean view rooms were always clean and plenty of towels,bathroomsupplies and watered bottle if you need more you just have to ask our maid yadiris was really nice we talked very day so friendly
we met great people 1 couple we met it was they're 17th time going back
we had so much fun and everyone is so friendly we will be going back next year for 2 weeks can't wait to see everyone again

jan and chris rooms 2050 oct13 to oct20 see you next year same time

Room Tip: we had room 2050 on mares side we had no problem with the noise but apparently the luna side is quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol Rio de Luna y Mares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Rio de Luna y Mares

Address: Ctra. de Guardalavaca | Playa Esmeralda, Guardalavaca, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Holguin Province > Guardalavaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Guardalavaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Rio de Luna y Mares 4*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four -Star All Inclusive Resort with 464 rooms. Located beachfront in Playa Esmeralda, on the northern coast of Holguin province, where visitors will be amazed by the dazzling superposition of blues and greens from the sea, sky and costal shrubbery. This hotel complex is surrounded by extensive green areas and offers a wide variety of services and attractions. Recommended for families, weddings, honeymoons and tourist groups.Guest Rooms464 rooms: 308 Standard, 108 Standard Ocean View, 30 Standard Superior Ocean View, 6 Junior Suite, 4 Suite, 8 Family Suite Ocean ViewDining7 Restaurants (A la Carta, Buffet), 6 Bars ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sol Rio De Luna y Mares Hotel Guardalavaca
Sol Rio De Luna y Mares Resort
Sol Rio De Luna y Mares Guardalavaca, Cuba - Holguin Province

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Rio de Luna y Mares, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.