We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exceeded expectations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Guardalavaca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Calle 2, Playa, Guardalavaca 84170, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Guardalavaca
manchester
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“exceeded expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

had a fab holiday here , considering the age of the hotel , it is in very good condition. I stayed in the villas (block 6) and had no complaints whatsoever. I cant comment on the entertainment apart from the water ballet , which was excellent , as I tend to eat around the time this is on . the staff are great , every single one of them . the only complaint you could have is the food . don't get me wrong , theres plenty of choice & I found the food to be fine , however if you like chips with everything then you could be disappointed .... there are no chips in the buffet , you can however get them at the 24 hr grill bar . I only used 2 of the a la cartes , book early !!! my favourite was the Cuban ( which incidentally is the easiest one to get in to ). the beach is stunning (although slightly spoiled by the number of sunshades on it ). the sea is clear & warm , with virtually no under current , so great for the kids . we came here to get married & it didn't disappoint , yoania will do everything to give you the day you want . all in all we had a great time & although we don't particularly like all inclusive resorts , we liked this one . cuba is a very safe place , so you needn't be confined to the hotel , but the best thing about here & without a shadow of doubt , what will make your holiday special is the other guests . we made so many new friends here , some newbies , but mostly repeat guests , everyone is just so friendly & welcoming . will we go back .... you bet !!!

Room Tip: villas are quieter , pool facing hotel rooms have the 24 hr snack bar in front of them , which is us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,498 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    813
    1,083
    353
    164
    85
See reviews for
709
931
62
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (654)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I loved the place. We have stayed there 2 days and it was memorable. Lots and lots of sports/activities to do, nice bars and great beach. Lots of pretty fishes, clean beach.
The staff was very welcoming and helpfull. Not far from Holguin. I would have stayed way longer than 2 days.
We would definitely return even with kids.

Great place

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My boyfriend and i went for a week vacation at brisas guardalavaca, the first week in april. i wasn't sure what to expect, as I have been to varadero twice before, and this was my first visit to holguin. the resort itself was great - we were on the 5th floor of the main building, with a great view of the ocean. i definitely recommend spending a bit more on an oceanview, (even if you're not in your room often, it just is quite nice and offers a nice breeze). the room was larger than i thought it would be, and was clean and comfortable. the bed was a bit hard, but that really wasn't a problem. lots of closet space (if you're like me and like to have your clothes hanging up, instead of crumpled in a suitcase for a week :).. the maid Mirya was fantastic, as I'm sure most others are.

The food was fine, and i found something every meal to eat. There was a huge breakfast buffet and dinner buffet - and I recommend bringing some CUC down to tip the people. Roberto's pizza, next to the pool, was fantastic.

The a la carte's were fine, nothing too fancy, but are spread out throughout the resort, so it was a nice change of scenery to "go out" for dinner. We didn't spend much time at the pool, but mainly at the beach. The beach was gorgeous! The only downside is that there were not a lot of shaded areas, and you need to go down early to get chairs. They seemed to be making a lot of the thatched umbrellas while we were there, so there may be more in the near future.

All in all, I really enjoyed this resort, and I'd go back here over any of the places I've been in Varadero. I felt the people were very friendly and helpful, and I loved the little promenade that you can take all the way to the market. Met some wonderful people there and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Brisas is about an hour away from holguin airport by coach. Nice hotel, nice rooms in the villas and great beach. I would recommend the villas as the rooms in the hotel are small, well at least in comparison to the villas. The beach is amazing and plenty to do. Id say try the small catamaran on the beach, its free, all you need to do is offer a tip if you enjoy it for about 5pesos. The theme in cuba is TIP, unlike anywhere ive ever been everyone in cuba wants a tip, even in toilets. Not in the hotel, the staff are lovely and dont expect which makes you want to give more but outside is very different. The market is a must and is a 10 min walk along the beach, if your lucky a cuban band might be playing who are usually great however again need tipping.
Havana! Absolutely amazing trip, flew from holguin, picked up a few people in cayo coco but got there within 2hrs. DO NOT carry lighters if you take hand luggage as they will be confiscated! Ask your rep what you can take as its totally different from the UK. The trip was called havana by night and wow was it an eye opener. Our guide was Chris, and all i can say is thank you. So we were meant to fly home and sadly there were only russian aircrafts in havana so we had to take a coach! The journey is approx 16hrs so is not great. Make sure you have extra money in havana just incase this happens.
Whilst in havana the Tropicana show is a MUST its the best in the world and sure anyone would love it!
Holguin by night is also a great trip, small version of tropicana but still good. I felt a bit scared in certain places in holguin and havana as many people do approach you, but now i realised i shouldnt have been, its safe and all you have to say is no gracias.
Back to brisas, daytime entertainment is hit n miss, some days loads some days not much. Evening shows are nice! One thing i believe the animation team did do was interact with new guests, they are very good at looking after canadians and people who spend most of their lives there but for new guests they were rubbish!!!this will not entice people to come back and for the animation team attitude this is why my party will not return!!!! A shame as the bar staff, waitress's are all very pleasant. Id like to say a massive thank you to Nacho, Idi, Roger, Jesus and sandra from housekeeping. I dont know the lifeguard that is usually at the hotel pool but this man was like lightening, saved a child and adult when i was there and he deserves a huge thanks!
The above staff were lovely people, happy and a great asset to your team again a big shame that returning guests get special treatment (of which i have never seen in my life anywhere in the world) everyone should be treated the same.
Had a ride in a chevy and they are worth every penny, if they were in england someone quite rightfully said they would be a millionaires toy!!
Dont believe every story you get told, not everyone is on the breadline and its quite the opposite, cubans do get looked after in many ways so use informed common sense when thinking of any substantial donations.
Oh i almost forgot about the food, its a joke! But not just in the hotel, anywhere we ate in cuba was bland and pretty bad and i eat anything, the pizzas and chips were nice.

So in conclusion cuba will teach you alot if you leave the hotel and use common sense, their culture community and lifestyles are amazing to see and people are very welcoming.
Brisas can improve if they employ new animation teams and chefs who are chefs and not doctors.
Any questions give me a shout

Room Tip: I stayed in a villa which is about double the size of a hotel room. Great views of the gardens and p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

just come back from a 2 week trip and what can I say we were a group of 4 girls and we had best time the weather was perfect the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful rooms were spotlessly clean. Nothing was too much trouble The paradise island day trip is a must and dolphin trip Nacho our favourite waiter never seen us with an empty glass a small tip is really appreciated but not expected def will be returning next year. Def recommend the Italian restaurant

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Fabulous resort in Cuba, we can say nothing bad about the room,staff,food,drinks or atmosphere.
We stayed in the main building, Oceanview 504,very nice and quiet (except one night). Great chambermaid, Mirya.
If you are looking for dead quiet (in May) go to the Villa's. If you want to be handy everything and have a great view, book Oceanview main building.
Book it and you won't regret the experience.

Room Tip: Ask for room 504 in the main building, excellent choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

we went to brisas atleast 15 times and every time it gets better, the manager , public relations are great they will help you with many request,the staff are excellent at all area of the resort ,the food was also very good , we loved staying in the villas ocean view , we will be back

Room Tip: villas are the best area nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel

Address: Calle 2, Playa, Guardalavaca 84170, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Holguin Province > Guardalavaca
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Guardalavaca
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel 3.5*
Also Known As:
Brisas Hotel Guardalavaca
Guardalavaca Brisas Hotel
Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel Cuba - Holguin Province

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel to your Saves list