We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Wedding & Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Playa Pesquero

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rafael Freyre
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Playa Pesquero
Save
You added Hotel Playa Pesquero to your Saves list
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Pesquero | Carretera a Guardalavaca, Rafael Freyre 11300, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rafael Freyre
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mablethorpe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic Wedding & Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2009

We travelled with First Choice & the flight there & back was good. I got addicted to the game Solitaire (Patience), i never completed it. We arrived back from the Playa Pesquero on the 23rd Dec & didnt want to leave, 2 weeks wasnt long enough for me.
We had interconnecting rooms in block 33 with our 2 children, lovely size & are bigger than the standard rooms. The hotel, people, cocktails & the beach were lovely. My husbands brother in-law loved the snorkelling here, he even saw an Octopus!! He was gutted he didnt have the underwater camera on him at the time.
The only negatives i have was the pool was too cold, kids didnt care & some of the food could of been abit warmer in the buffet but i always ate what i put on my plate unlike some!! We ate loads expecially the cakes, i dont like cake but i loved theirs!! The omelettes were lovely for breakfast, & a few other food stations where food was cooked for you while you waited was good. Other family members travelled with us for our wedding & they loved all the restaurants & they can be quite picky people.
We went swimming with Dolphins which was fantastic!! Had to get on teh speedboat to cross to the marina. Watched the sealion show then the dolphin show.
Also went on the Jeep Safari, this trip was so good, on it was speedboating & horseriding amongst other things.
Our wedding was very beautiful & i'd certainly recommend this hotel for weddings. The hairdresser was brilliant, she done my nails for me aswell. Im glad i done the beach wedding, tthe ceremomy, cake, champagne & the band were great. Had our meal in the Romantico, they treated us like royalty. Breakfast in bed the next day, wow!! Aswell as ham, cheeses, bread, coffee, champagne (or sparkling wine) we had omlettes cooked in our room.
Our other family member went on other trips such as on the catamaran for snorkelling & also to Santiago, Both were enjoyable day trips apparently.
After reading alot of negative resorts i was a bit concerned but we went with an open mind & knew about all the hurricane damage & the peoples losses of their homes etc & the Cuban people told us their stories. We enjoyed our stay immensely & would love to return one day, maybe for an wedding anniversary.
I would be very happy to answer any questions you have.

  • Liked — Everything especially my wedding
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,783
    1,805
    596
    229
    130
See reviews for
1,763
2,280
145
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastcote
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2009

Myself and my partner stayed at PP during xmas and new year (just got back this morning).

Like other reviews, I was very concerned before going due to Hurricane Ike hitting the hotel and the not too great reviews I had read.

The hotel is lovely, but does need a bit of a spruce up. We had upgraded to a Superior room, which was nice, but after talking to people staying in regular rooms, the only difference with our room seemed to be the free bottle of Rum (which can be brought for approx 4 CUCs). I dont think it is worth paying the extra. The staff were lovely (even more so if you tip, but even though we tipped often we didnt feel pressured to do so).

FOOD - The best al a carte restaurant was the Romantico. The Asiatic was nice as well (ribs were good )All the rest were fine. The buffet had plenty of food and is the first time abroad where the tea was drinkable! The only problem with the buffet is if you go in peak times it can be very difficult to find a table. We found the staff very slow with the drinks here but they were very busy. They didnt seem to be too keen to remake the tables once used.
For xmas and new year they spit roasted huge turkeys and pigs - delicious!
If you want a late breakfast go to the beer garden. The breakfast was ok and the bacon was crispy but lots of flies. Several times we went to the vegetarian restaurant for lunch. Fried chicken (similar to KFC but no spices) and fries. Really nice. The Beer Garden serves tapas type dishes for lunch. The prawn skewers wrapped in bacon were lovely and if you ask nicely (and tip) they will wrap some up for you to eat round the pool.
The wait to book the al a carte restaurants was terrible (about an hour) I suggest you book all your two weeks worth of restaurants at the same time.

The pool is HUGE anydno mattter what time you went there could always find a sunbed. We kept away from the pool bar end as very noisy and busy. The end by the Grill restaurant was quiet and more space between beds.

As we were there xmas day we obviously wanted to send texts/make calls to family. My partner is with T Mobile and could not get a signal for the first week so couldnt wish his kids merry xmas. We spoke to several people who all had the same problem with T Mobile. I am with 3 mobile and the reception was quite good.

Please find some space in your cases and take clothes, medicines, etc for the local people. The maids, waiters and barstaff make lots on tips so really the people to give it to would be the gardeners, or go into Guardalavaca and give to the people there, I gave mine to a woman who cleaned the toilets. She was really grateful. The cuban people are lovely and even the gardeners make the effort to say hello (we gave one the beer, cokes and juice from our room).

The hotel could do with waiter service round the pool. It is sooo big it can be quite a walk to the bars unless you lay right in front of them.

We were quite suprised to see 3 fights Xmas night and heard of a couple more during that week. We have been to many AI hotels and have never seen a fight in them. This was mainly brits and a couple of canadians. It really spoilt xmas night. If I want to see that at xmas I will stay at home and go down the local :(. After reading one of the recent reviews, maybe it was because the price was reduced after the hurricane. I am not being snobbish or anything, I just dont want to be around people fighting while im on holiday (or anywhere else).

Take mosquito spray (100% deet ordered from the internet was most effective). We saw quite a few people with lots of bites, but if you spray yourself before you go out in the evenings, avoid wearing perfume and aftershave, and get a plug in for your room, you should be ok. We brought something called Aspivenin from Boots and it was a godsend. It looks like a hyperdermic syringe with different attachments. As soon as you notice a bit e you put this on it and it creates a suction around the bite and draws the poison out. (not painful at all). We got a few bites each but none itched or got infected after using this. We got most bites the last couple of days around the pool.

The trip home is very long. We had premium seats there and back which is definitely worth it. If you do this keep your headphones from the outbound journey as we were not told there would be no more for the trip home. Most of the premium seats couldnt watch any films on the way back as Thomas Cook didnt get any more headphones in. The trip back to Holguin airport takes about an hour, then you wait in the airport for about 2 hours. The flight to Varadero takes about an hour (the duty free shop in Varadero is better and you get a bigger choice of cigarettes etc). We then had to wait 2 hours until we boarded the plane again.

We went on the Island Paradise trip which was great. The snorkelling wasnt too great as the water isnt as clear as Mexico, Egypt etc, but when you get to the island it is lovely. The lunch was great and we tried water buffallo and antelope! The trip back on the catmaran was great (lots of rum punches) and the sunset was beautiful. The hotel says it has international drinks but I drink vodka and they have stoli but I think they just pour their brands in the bottle. They only have their coke which was too sweet for me but most people drank it. I drank sparkling wine most of the time which was lovely!

I cant think of anything else that might be helpful at the moment (still jetlagged). All in all this hotel is lovely, the cubans friendly, and the beach and the weather great. It is not as 'luxurious' as other hotels we have been to but if you are looking for sun and relaxation this is ideal.

  • Liked — The pools and the friendly staff
  • Disliked — Mosquitos and cold food
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pompeyUK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2009

our stay was for 2 weeks from 8 dec. the 10 hour flight was long and tedious,but we knew it would be and the flight crew did their best,with lots of food on offer! Gettin through the airport was very fast and efficient.
the reception/lobby area is beautiful and we were checked in very quickly then on golf cart to our room which was very clean n cool and stayed that way all holiday thanks to the great cleaning service. you get the option not to have your sheets changed every day if you wish, to be eco-friendly.
the weather was not quite as idyllic as we expected but this was due( we were told) to the hurricane and is usually sun,sun,sun! however, we only had 2 wash out days. 3 glorious days of sun and the rest of the time sunny/cloudy, but always very warm, be-it fairly humid. the bugs love it by the way! make sure you get a repellent with DEET in it. it really does keep the mosquitos away, though the black fleas still bite.
we were not overly impressed with the specialised restaurants.the Romantica probably has the best atmosphere, the Grill does a great steak and you must try the sesame icecream at the asian!(so much nicer than it sounds!) we preferred the buffet mainly because we didn't have to book. the food there is ok, don't miss the great breakfasts! all their meat and eggs are truly free range and you can tell! only real complaint-very few vegetables, though plenty of fruit.
the beach was absolutely perfect! exactly like the pictures! and the sea too. we didn't experience any rubbish,anywhere!
the staff were polite,friendly and courteous(even when we didn't tip them!) and we didn't experience any 'sob' stories,at any time!
we went on a few trips. the sunset trip was fun(though no sunset due to cloud) the rep is lovely though. take her white chocolate! she's not had it since 1997!
overall we loved Cuba. it wasn't perfect-i didn't want it to be. if you're looking for a typical package holiday with fish n chips and clubbin all night then Cuba isn't for you.
i wanted to go to Cuba because it seemed unspoilt,real and romantic. i wasn't disappointed.

  • Liked — beach, staff
  • Disliked — specialised restaurants
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby,england
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2009

where to start? from the moment we stepped foot into the resort to the moment we left every single detail of the two weeks was truely fantastic.
i was with a wedding party of 15 including 2 children and stayed for 14 nights,
i was lucky enough to have a room to myself and almost got lost in its size! it was huge.
maid service was exceptional and the (magic) mini bar that was re stocked every day was very welcomed after a hot day on the beach.
from the gardeners to the bar staff everyone was friendly and always happy to help,food was always fresh and plenty of it.
the huge hog roast that was cooked down near the beach was brilliant.
i could go on forever about how amazing the holiday was but the only way to appriciate such a beautiful hotel and country is to go.

  • Liked — the stunning beach
  • Disliked — the distance from the airport
  • Stayed May 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2009

Important information for any one going to Cuba it will save you £s and make trips a lot cheaper check exchange rate against Canadian dollar when we went it was 1.70 candian for every £1. The convertible presio which is tourist money used in hotels exchange rate was 1.31cuc for every £1and candian $ roughly worth 65p was fetching 1.48cuc by buying candian dollars you can more or less double your cuc making trips almost half price, we did not do this we took £ and made everything a little costly learn from our mistake.
We booked our hoiday through Thomas cook, our flight out was excellent and the flight crew were the best we have ever had.
Flight home was drawn out because we flew up to Valerado and disembarked for plane to be refueled and cleaned this added 3 hours onto our journey however flight was good when we started back to uk.
Cubian people are very friendly, hotel was very big and the pool was the biggest we have ever seen, very child friendly as it was not very deep it shelved gradually and it was possible to swim in some parts of the pool.
we found getting two drinks each worked for us during the evening as staff were very thin on the ground and had to cue for 20 minutes. Some people got served alot quicker because a big tip helped money speaks loader than words as they say.
Whilst we were there some guests arrived and totally looked out of place they were loud and swore alot and were selling things from their bags to the cubians from there bags, not the usual holiday maker and their was a spate of thiefs we had our towels taken as we left them on our sun beds whilst we went for something to eat other guests had personal belongings taken from therisun bedshotel towels cost around £6 each to get replaced, we have never had anything taken on any other holiday, it is not the kind of behaviour you would expect at a 5* hotel.
We did go out for a walk with the animation team it was very good to see local village farm and the people were very friendly the walk was over in 1 and a half hours just a nice pace.
Restuarant food was not the best and christmas atmosphere was a little thin on the ground comparing it to other christmas holidays we have been priviledged to be on.
Our room was comfortable and clean our maid was wonderful and left us some lovely towel art every day and our bed was very comfortable.Some inconsiderate neighbours families from hell woke us up after a night out and had regular slinging matches embassed to be british and wish that instead of selling holidays to people that had no respect that the tour operators would consider giving these deals to families that would appriate it and in need of a break.
One thing we did notice was ramps to bulidings easy access for push/weelchairs and accessible toiley facilities which was excellent for people with additional needs.
We will not say dont go each person to their own ,some people enjoyed it however it was very average holiday and because snorkling was not as good as we have experienced at other countries we have been ruined by marvelous snorkling as it is an important pat of our holiday as is getting dressed up at night for an evening meal gentlemen staying at this hotel were requested to wear long trousers and a collared shirt in the speciality restuarants however this was not adered to whilst we were there and beach shorts tee shirts were acceptable. we were disapointed after reading all the exellent reviews .
we were exspecting more and for the long journey we feel we will not be going again

  • Liked — comfortable bed
  • Disliked — thefts and slummy inconsiderate guests
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2009

What can I say..... I read a lot of the reviews on this site prior to travelling to PP on the 16 Dec for our Christmas holiday. This was our first visit to Cuba and the four of us travelled for two weeks and I was a little concerned about the comments. This holiday was a replacement for our lost holiday to Florida due to the collapse of XL Holidays.

Our flight with Thomas Cook was delayed 3 hours going out from Gatwick. We had some in-flight entertainment courtesy of a contingent of around 30-40 passengers - children running around the aircraft cabin and causing chaos in the terminal building.... so glad they werent staying at our Hotel!

The hotel was great - room was spacious, we ate and drank well - plenty of choice and well presented -My father is a fussy eater so we didnt use the A La Carte option - but didnt feel the need to have to try any ..... no-smoking section in the buffet restaurant was a good idea. Service we found in the bars and restaurants and for the accommodation was good - always with a welcoming smile. We only used reception during check in and check out and to ask for our room safe to be reset - people arrived within 5 mins of our call, plus we needed an additional bed in one room that was in place by the time we returned from our first evening meal.

The beach was lovely with soft white sand and clear water plenty of loungers that were positioned by a beach assistant if you needed. Shade via some parasols or use of the trees along the shore, no problem with getting a drink at one of the two beach bars. We went out snorkelling a few times and saw fish on the coral reefs, including a close encounter with a Barracuda. There is a slight current so you need to consider this when venturing out to sea especially when swimming back to shore(I am not a strong swimmer). If you have a pair of flippers it makes it easier to get out and back in.

The weather was great with sunshine a light breeze, some cloudy days, a few showers here and there (mostly at night).

Within our party we used the Gym and Games area a couple of times (table tennis, rifle shooting). My partner went to see the on-site Doctor for a chest infection (he suffers from Asthma), so was deteriorating towards the end of our first week and was given excellent treatment for the rest of our stay. The Doctor spoke English, German and French and had to deal with all sorts of problems from insect bites, broken ankles etc. Insect bites - yes you will get them if you prone - I took about everything I could buy before travelling and still got bit! My partner however didnt get any insect bites!

We went on the Dolphin/horseback trip - as it was a sunday the 4 of us were picked up and had an exclusive experience with the horse riding and dolphin swim via a speedboat from the Azur Park to the Dolphin Park. We had the tour at the farm - were shown local plants and a typical cuban farmhouse.

We also ventured out in a horse drawn buggy to the nearby town -which everyone should do so that you can appreciate the local cubans.

The entertainment was very good - we enjoyed the dancers, some of the singers, even the Adam V Eve show the last night. My daughter enjoyed the exclusive salsa dancing lessons - and won a prize on the stage for her dance demonstration.

The Times newspaper has carried some articles this week for the revolution anniversary - which we read on the return flight about the fact that 43% of the GDP is from tourism, and that 1 CUC (tourist pesos) is equal to 25 cuban pasos. for example If you leave a tip of 5 CUC for a maid this could be the same as a couple of months salary. As Cuba is still feeling the affects of the hurricane's over the season as well as the withdrawl of russian aid the population has limited availability of fresh fruit and vegetables, this should make visitors think about any complaints about the aspects of their 'All Inclusive' menu.

As we arrived when it was dark we fully appreciated our journey back to the airport watching the horse drawn carts and old cars and trucks travelling on the main road.

Overall our holiday was excellent value for money and I have some wonderful memories to treasure. 5 Start Cuban rating does equal 3 star european hotel.

We had a three hour delay on our return journey following a short flight from Houlgin to Varadero... before heading back to Gatwick.
A number of the party of 30-40 individuals from our initial flight out to Cuba were refused boarding owing to the issues on the outward bound flight and due to their present alcholic state and behavour! I am sure a National Newspaper might report on this.

  • Liked — Spacious, Clean and Tidy - never crowded in the resort
  • Disliked — Insects, Gym needs updating
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST SUSSEX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2008

This a huge hotel but would be a nightmare if full. We were very disappointed with the food , A la carte resteraunts quite a joke, very small portions and the potato was defintely powdered, We had frozen mixed vegetables and tinned fruit. Very little fresh food
Dodgy stomach most of the week. Rooms of a standard of a 3 star. Badly lit walkways at night can be quite danderous. Staff in general were lovely although reception staff were quite abrupt and not too helpful.
We had a good week because we met some lovely people not because the hotel was anything special.

  • Liked — size of room
  • Disliked — distance from amenities
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Playa Pesquero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Pesquero

Address: Playa Pesquero | Carretera a Guardalavaca, Rafael Freyre 11300, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Holguin Province > Rafael Freyre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rafael Freyre
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Playa Pesquero 4.5*
Number of rooms: 968
Also Known As:
Playa Pesquero Cuba
Playa Pesquero Hotel Cuba
Hotel Playa Pesquero Cuba
Hotel Playa Pesquero Holguin Province, Cuba
Playa Pesquero Holguin Cuba
Playa Pesquera
Pesquero Playa
Playa Pasquero

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Playa Pesquero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.