We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“regards food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Playa Pesquero

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rafael Freyre
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Playa Pesquero
Save
You added Hotel Playa Pesquero to your Saves list
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Pesquero | Carretera a Guardalavaca, Rafael Freyre 11300, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rafael Freyre
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“regards food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

travelled 13/12/12 returned 28/12/12 ... cant believe people complain regarding the food at this place, the choice is amazing, the main buffet to me was the best with speciality chefs preparing your meal if the main section was not suitable ( which i find hard to find ) the seafood restaraunt seving fantastic lobster with champs on the beach ? ? .... i can only assume maybe some people still eat grass and are not familiar with such choice .. give it a go ... get out on the horse and cart outside for a 2 hour trip ... FANTASTIC ALL ROUND VALUE FOR MONEY COMPLEX ! ! ... p.s get to the mojito bar for the cocktails .... quality ....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,783
    1,805
    596
    229
    130
See reviews for
1,763
2,280
145
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Elgin, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This was my first all inclusive, so I wasnt really sure what to expect. Huge resort, which made it alittle overwhelming at first. Lots of families, kids everywhere and the pool area always busy and loud. One pool bar, pool is big has lots of chairs. Beach is definitly the best part of the resort. Always chairs available and large enough to walk and relax. They had two buffets, always same selection, very simple and plain. Bring spices and ketchup! The Italian was the best for Al La Cart. Seafood one not so good, and Romantica is not romantic kids running around etc. We had an issue first night with our room safe, took awhile waiting for them to fix it and when the person arrived they were very rude. BRING A WATCH, there are no clocks in the room or on resort except for lobby front desk. BUGS ARE BAD. Bring bug spray and afterbite, my legs and feet were covered with bites. Not so attractive, & they are still very itchy! They only supply ONE yes ONE bottle of water in your fridge daily. Employees will not hand out bottles, they pour into a glass. Mini fridge is small 2 beers, 2 pops. Pizza on beach, good! Shrimp/ fish and chips near pool, awesome! Overall for first resort, it was alright. Would not go back, unless we had children and got a really good deal. Food in buffets needs improvement. Poor selection fruit and no salad. Hope this helps! Cheers

Room Tip: If you have a late flight home make sure to pack an extra towel for your last day. They do not supp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 2 weeks at the start of December.

The room was lovely - very spacious and the maid kept it spotless, she even wrote us a little thank you note on our last day.

There is plenty to do during the day from water sports and tennis to relaxing in the jacuzzi or booking a massage. The resort is really large but that means there's loads to explore, there are always golf buggies zipping up and down and even the service ones stop and give you a lift if you're tired!

If you take the evening entertainment with a large pinch of salt you'll have a giggle at the very least.

The beach is just gorgeous, definitely worth 5 stars. The water sports on the beach are all free and the catamaran rides are great fun, if you can, ask for Lewis, he's a great guy and knows loads about local marine life and waters, plus he'll make you laugh!!

The food is really REALLY bad. With one vegetarian and someone who doesn't eat Pork we have never struggled. As much on a holiday We booked all the restaurants when we arrived and tried the Grill and the Italian. Both were so bad we decided to cancel all the rest and stick to the buffet. What we could eat was so tasteless and lacked any seasoning or spices. Even if you ask for garlic, you really can't taste the difference. All the tinned veggies were too much to take after a while and the mashed potato is that dehydrated smash stuff, awful!! Eventually we took to making our own fresh rolls in the evenings because there's only so much pasta you can stomach! Also, the cooks use the same utensils for all the veg and meat so when we had our fresh pasta you often had to pick bits of meat out of it! Really off-putting.

Breakfast is by far the best meal of the day - the birds do help themselves to the biscuits which is also not great. The fresh yoghurt and fruits are great.

We booked a few excursions - had a great time at all of them and enjoyed the food more on those than at the hotel! Our trip to Havana was cancelled and we never really got an explanation. We really looked forward to this and it was a great disappointment, but nothing that anyone could do! I would say make sure if you get a refund from Thomas Cook reps that you insist on getting Pounds back if you've paid in Pounds. They tried to fob us off with Peso's which we would have had to pay to exchange back - getting back less than we paid!

I definitely wouldn't go back to this hotel because the food was so poor. We did have a fab time and the facilities are great, the beach is gorgeous, but they really need a drastic overhaul on the menu as there were quite a few people who weren't happy. The people are so lovely and friendly. The only bad service we got was from the bald man at the beer garden. Also, Thomas Cook need to be realistic and downgrade the rating to 4 stars.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had a fantastic vacation. Travelled with a two year old and Playa Pesquero made us feel right at home. They had a parade on Christmas Day with Santa Claus and Mrs Claus, decorated Christmas trees throughout hotel, an activity on the beach for kids with each kid receiving a gift from Santa, pictures with Santa etc. In a nutshell this is my review:

Hotel - provided excellent service. You need anything they accommodate you. I needed warm milk for my child and they brought it to the room quickly. Lots of amenities and activities for everyone. Very safe anywhere on resort and lots of carts to pick up and drop off. Very large resort that doesn't feel overcrowded.

Staff- very friendly, helpful and courteous. They don't pressure you to tip but they are very appreciative of it!

Rooms - we were in building 30. Very clean and renovated room. Close to beach, some restaurants, pool and away from the noise which can be loud at the disco at night. The room was very spacious. We had a king bed with a sitting area, so there is lots of room to move around, and a balcony. We had two rooms that connected which was very convenient.

Restaurants/food - there is plenty to choose from for any picky eater and for kids. Buffet had great selection of everything, restaurant by the beach had good fish and pizza, the beer garden had good appetizers especially the calamari, the a la carte restaurants were also very good. The bet place was the Romantico. We had excellent lobster tail, shrimp and fish. For the a la carte places men must wear long pants or else you cannot eat there! For Cuba the food was good! No one in our party got sick including my child which was great! There is bottled water everywhere and an ice cream parlor with good selection and a nice treat. The lobby bar has great lattes and cappuccinos!

Room service - excellent. They replenished towels and cleaned bathroom and floors daily. They also restocked bar fridge daily with water, coke and beer. Excellent service from Nory!

Beach - the middle beach where boats located is amazing. White sand, clear water, no seaweed, no rocks. If your a beach creature you will be in heaven! The beach to the far left is nice, not as busy but there are lots of rocks. If you bring water shoes you will be fine. This is truly an amazing beach! The staff on the beach are vey helpful and nice and will help with sun beds. There was always beds available when we went. anyone can walk on the beach including locals. They are harmless and don't harass you. They are truly kind hearted people.

Activities - lots to do on beach or by pool. Volleyball, exercise, soccer, board games, free water boating activities ie. pedal boats, kayaking etc.

Pools - are great and huge. I really do mean huge! They have a huge area for children that is shallow and safe and another area for adults which is deep. You never feel congested because there is lots of room. The swim up bar is big and service is quick. Only small recommendation is that it can be cleaned a bit more but we were still able to swim in it.

Kids club - was great. We never left our child but many people did and the staff entertained them. There can be lots of kids at any given time and only 2-3 staff so it's really up to you how you feel leaving your child. We felt our child was a bit too young to leave but others did it. There is an outdoor playground, small swimming pool and sheltered area with toys.

Overall- we were pleasantly surprised because normally the ratings are much higher and when you get there its not as good but this place is truly a 4.5 star. At least that was our experience! We found this to be n excellent resort. Great for children and adults. If you are looking to party not sure if Holguin is the place. I would recommend Varadero! Thank you to all the staff for making this a wonderful Christmas holiday!

Room Tip: Building 30 has renovated spacious rooms with connecting rooms if required.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Large - everything is here. Teen paradise (and safe). Big rooms. Good choice of restuarants. Quiet, beautiful beach tp contrast with the pool. Simply lots of everything including space. The drinks service on beach and by pool is fast and comprehensive. The lunchtimes should not be ignored - partic thatch rest by pool which features fantastic array of freshly BBQ foods every day. DO HIRE A MOPED! Safe, fun and get out about to the 'real' villages.

Room Tip: To the West of the resort near the parimeter fence - nothing there! BUT bear in mind the walk to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

When we arrived there was still a lot of damage from 'Sandy' but they were working flat out to get it all repaired for the Christmas rush.
The staff are such a happy bunch but beware of the buggy taxi's as they are only after the tip. We found similar with the chambermaids.
This is our 5th time here and thoroughly love the place but they are making small changes that impacted on our holiday. the 2 new speciality restaurants are now chargeable but only a small cost. The hotel ran out of cava so no Buck's Fizz or Kir Royals.
In the buffet restaurant the orange juice at breakfast was like sherbet. Also we used to get some nice wines but the Cuban white in the buffet is like paint stripper and no more nicer wines in the speciality restaurants.
However it is still a wonderful holiday with a massive pool and very clean. We will be returning again soon.
The staff in this hotel really make the difference to this holiday. The gardener's keep the grounds looking amazing.
1 tip book your speciality restaurants as soon as you get there.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This was my second time to Cuba in 7 years and there is a reason it took me 7 years to go back. My first experience at a resort that shall remain nameless was pretty bad. The food was awful, the beach was constantly covered in seaweed and you’d think that in Cuba you’d actually get a decent cup of brewed coffee but the coffee served at the resort came out of a machine with the click of a button.

I’ve traveled all over the south including Costa Rica, Jamaica, Dominican Republic and several times to Mexico but Cuba has always been my least favourite. But after a deal I was watching for Mexico went up out of my price range, I settled on the most affordable 4.5 star I could afford in Cuba. I have friends who travel to Cuba frequently and I always thought they were crazy but I decided to give the country a second chance… and I am so happy that I did.

Resort - the resort is quite large with over 900 rooms. Apparently they were pretty full over the holidays but it never felt crowded. They have carts to drive you around but we usually just walked because it was pretty easy to navigate around the resort.

Check in – very quick and friendly staff

Room – good size, decent bed, room electrical is activated with your room key and the safe is electric and free. Small TV but you have access to movies, CNN, Global, TBS, etc.

Food: Snack bar – I recommend the chicken bites with fries and bring either plum sauce or some Franks Red Hot as they only offer ketchup.

Buffet – Breakfast: Decent options for breakfast including the omelette station with lots of choices, the egg/pancake station for freshly cooked eggs and pancakes. They had lots of meats including crispy and regular bacon as well as different types of sausage.

Dinner: the stir fry station is great for dinner, they have beef, chicken and shrimp. They also have fresh grilled meat skewers, beef, pasta and other options. The buffet is big but not too big where the food repeats like other resorts. For dessert, they have a huge assortment of desserts but I highly recommend the crepe station. She makes delicious banana flambé crepes.

A la carte – we only did one a la carte at La Gondola. It was ok. We were pretty happy with the buffet so we just stuck to that.

Beach - beach is beautiful. Even though we were there over Christmas, we never had a problem finding somewhere to sit.

Pool: the pool is huge so there is always somewhere to sit. And they don’t blast the music, which was nice.

Lobby - the lobby is huge with lots of tables and couches. They have a coffee bar where you can get espresso based coffees like lattes and cappuccinos… they’ll also add their version of Bailey’s if you so desire.

Internet – you could buy a 30 or 60 minute internet card that can be used whenever and the time would just deduct every time you login. The internet in Cuba is pretty slow so I would recommend using the internet before 8:30am or after 9:00pm for faster speed.

All in all, my husband and I are very happy we have Cuba a second chance. We would definitely go to this resort again. The food is good, the drinks are great and the staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: We were in the 24 section on the ground floor. Not a bad spot, directly line walk to lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Playa Pesquero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Pesquero

Address: Playa Pesquero | Carretera a Guardalavaca, Rafael Freyre 11300, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Holguin Province > Rafael Freyre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rafael Freyre
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Playa Pesquero 4.5*
Number of rooms: 968
Also Known As:
Playa Pesquero Cuba
Playa Pesquero Hotel Cuba
Hotel Playa Pesquero Cuba
Hotel Playa Pesquero Holguin Province, Cuba
Playa Pesquero Holguin Cuba
Playa Pesquera
Pesquero Playa
Playa Pasquero

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Playa Pesquero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.