We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take a torch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Playa Pesquero

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rafael Freyre
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Playa Pesquero
Save
You added Hotel Playa Pesquero to your Saves list
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Pesquero | Carretera a Guardalavaca, Rafael Freyre 11300, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rafael Freyre
yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Take a torch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We returned from this hotel 20th December.THE only negative we found was that there was not enough lighting at night, so take a torch so you can read directions to everywhere.We had a few problems in our room which we called reception about and who were slow to respond, then we asked to be put through to The Thomas Cook reps. and within minutes our problem was solved, Nancy and Daniel really are your best friends on site, they are so helpful and go out of their way to help you, from the minute you speak to them you know you are in safe hands, make sure you go to their meeting and consult them with ANY problem you encounter.The food was good and varied.Yes we have had better but there are food and drink stations all over the site and you can pick and choose all day long where and when you want to eat.The site is large, so make sure to take comfy shoes/sandals for walking, you walk so far to get anywhere.You might be lucky and find a buggy come along just as you need one but don't rely on it.The entertainment in the reception bar was great, the lounge singers and musicians were really good but that finished at 9 o'clock.Some of the theatre shows were good.The beach is stunning, you really have to experience it for yourself when you lie down and look out to the horizon and see the beautiful rainbow of sand sea and sky colours with an amazing misty lavender hue stretching into the sky, only your eye and heart can capture the beauty.Our room was freshly decorated and they are replacing units in rooms currently, we came back every day to it having been beautifully decorated by Daniana and lovely fresh towels every day.You will enjoy this hotel from the minute you step into the recetion area.

Room Tip: Block 58 looked a good position between the beach and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,560
    1,650
    546
    209
    118
See reviews for
1,612
2,068
134
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (983)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

This was our thrid visit to the Hotel Playa Pesquero and sadly it will be our last. We where last there in 2009 and it is sad to see how the hotel has gone down hill. I know they had the hurricane earlier in the year which was awful, however, even taking that into consideration the hotel more represents a 3* hotel rather than a 5* Platinum which Thomson currently grade it at. We had to change rooms twice, our first rooms had damp bedding, curtains hanging down, light fittings missing & bathrooms which clearly hadn't been prepared for guest. Our second set of rooms were ok, however by the time we'd transfered our luggage from one to another they'd given the room to someone else!!! Our third rooms were ok, but in desperate need of attention. One of the rooms, the shower bar was broken, I reported it 3 times and it was still the same the day we left as it was when we arrived. The food, was at best average, but no where near what it was 3 years ago. At various times within our 2 week stay they ran out of the following..Orange juice, pineapple juice, tomato juice, tonic water, salt, tomato ketchup, cola & fresh towels...not what you'd expect from a 5* Platinum hotel. The staff in the main were friendly and helpful, however unlike our previous visits we did find rude and ignorant staff, mainly the lady that books your al a carte tables and the staff in the Italian resturant in the evening. The hotel appears to be running on much fewer staff as before and as such this creates problems. My wife and I have both recommended this hotel to numerous people in the past, from our last experience I wouldn't recommend it now.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

First of all let's point out some good things about the resort - for this is far more than just a hotel. It is huge and covers a vast area. This may present some difficulties for the less mobile but the buggy type trains provide good transportation around the complex.
Because of its size there is ample room everywhere. The rooms are basic and showing signs of age but are spacious. We never had trouble getting sunbeds either around the pool or the beautiful sandy beach. And the snorkeling is superb. The restaurants also were never crowded and it was easy to get a drink at any of the bars. And they do serve the best Mojitos in Cuba!
The entertainment was, at best, mixed and by the end of the fortnight we were absolutely fed up with the noisy, raucous Latin American rythms churned out at almost every show. Nevertheless, overall it was reasonable.
The staff were friendly and helpful although a little too zealous in pushing for a tip on occassions.
Taking all these factors into account, before considering the food, the resort would be worthy of a 3* to 4* rating.
However, the food - oh the food!
Almost without exception the pre-prepared food in the 2 buffet restaurants was lukewarm at best and cold at worst. Where food was prepared for you at the Wok or griddle type stations this obviously wasn't a problem but the only option at dinner for us veggies was a pasta station, so by the end of the week I felt I was turning into an Italian!
Any vegetables that were available were canned or frozen and the fresh salad range was very restricted and all were bland and lacking in flavour.
There was no realistic hot breakfast option, other than cold red beans or stone cold chips (does anyone have chips for breakfast)! Certainly I never saw anyone go near the huge soggy pile. In the end I had to settle for a continental breakast every morning - although to be fair the choice of tropical fruit was excellent.
The speciality restaurants were only a little better,although in Romantico the resort has made a real effort, but here again choice for vegetarians was very limited and comprised mainly of - yes, youv'e guessed it - pasta!
Lunch offerings were also poor with chips, pasta, pizza and poor toasted sandwiches - all lacking in any flavour.
I was delighted to get home to baked beans on toast (hot) and a nice tasty curry (hot - tasty)!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed at the PP from 28th nov for 2 weeks. Excellent check in with champagne reception. Room very tidy and spacious as we was upgraded to the honeymoon suite which also had a bottle of rum waiting, breakfast in bed and a bouquet of flowers the next day. The mini bar is stocked daily with beer, coke and water. We chose to give the gardeners our soft drinks as they worked tireless in the heat and really appreciate them. The hotel and grounds are immaculate especially considering hurricane Sandy was there 1 month prior. All drinks 24hrs including champagne and branded spirits with the help of a little tip. The food was very good plenty of choice at the buffets although the a la cartes was ok but not the best we've had. The beach pizza hut is very good as are all the pool and beach bars. The beach is beautiful with free water sports with very clear waters. The entertainment on a night is varied some better then others, during the day there are plenty of games and entertainment to participate in and DIXON one of the animation team is a top bloke always smiling and having a laugh great to be around. Make sure you book the bike ride to local village and the eco walk as they sure you true Cuban lifestyle and make you realise how lucky we are. They only downsides to the hotel are 1.The bank exchange tried short changing us and others make sure you check. 2. The maid took money out of our safe as we left it open by mistake but the maid soon replaced when confronted. But dont let these two points put you off we had the best 2 weeks ever and will defo go back as this is one of our best Caribbean destinations

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

We travelled to Cuba as a family of 6 adults and 1 infant. Travel date was 17 nov 2010. This is meant as a general review I don't intend to bore with irrelevant info.
We travelled with First Choice who I found to be excellent throughout, we had no major problems either with the resort the people or health matters.
Before I give my opinions please remember this is Cuba, a communist country which is just coming to terms with renewed contact with all things that are Capitalist. As such it would be wrong to compare with a 4 or 5 star facility in Europe.
We had no problems at all with the food, the buffet was always decent and with a good choice and plentiful supply, the a la carte restaurants always very good with excellent service. But you do have to book in with the front desk as soon as you can to guarantee entrance.
The rooms we had where in block 58 all 3 rooms very similar and very clean the maid was excellent and very helpful, always clean towels, the beds where comfortable, with a TV with lots of football, a fridge which is stocked daily. All in all they where quite roomy comfortable but basic.
The pool and beach are great, can't be faulted lots of facilities, food bars restaurants and waiter service for drinks if wanted.
The bar situation surprised me a little for a resort this size, in the evening there where only 3 bars theatre, reception and the beer garden. As we where on a 14 night holiday, this was a bit monotonous. This then leads onto the entertainment in general, there is a show organised each evening at about 9.30pm these are pretty awful affairs, although as I said at the beginning, this is Cuba. It's mainly fashion shows and dance with some singing, but by UK standards very amateurish. This area of the resort is my only negative point really, but as there was a group of us we didn't let it spoil the holiday.
Also I must point out the situation regarding tips, tips are expected if you want decent service or goods, for instance in the beer garden, you can ask for bottles of Carona, but you won't get the unless you have been tipping well and continue to tip. On the trip to the dolphins via the catamaran we where asked to tip on 9 separate occasions, all a bit aggravating and not wanted. I don't mind tipping but only for good service, not as a requirement, but I suppose this is what you get with the change that is happening to the economic way of life in Cuba.
I would give this resort 7/10 for most things, but only 3/10 for evening entertainment.
Would I go again, probably not, there are many other places to see, am I glad to have been......yes.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I was at Playa Pesquero Hotel on Dec. 8th 2012 ,

My experience with Cuba changed from average to excellent since being at this resort , food was "good" , staff very pleasant and overall resort was very clean .

Not a singles resort , more of new families with babies and young kids or 55 year old couples.
Of course it can t be perfect .

They rate this hotel with a 5 star , I would say they are very close to it.

Room Tip: I was in the bungalow which started with adress 60 .. very well positioned between the beach , the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

My wife and I were at the PP from November 6th to 27th. This was our ninth visit and will not be our last. Each visit shows improvements to every section of the hotel. We arrived just after the hurricane had passed through but apart from missing trees you would not know that it had caused damage. Talking to the gardeners we were told the the large pool was completely full with trees, pool chairs and rubbish. Some of the buildings had lost their roofs and other areas were flooded. There was more sun beds in the sea than in the hotel.
The Cuban staff all pulled together working 16 hour a days and sleeping at the hotel. They drained the biggest pool in Cuba cleared and cleaned it before resealing the tiles. Removed and cut down dangerous trees and replaced pool beds. The furnishings that were damaged with water were all replaced. They really are hard working people and we would like to pass on our sincere thanks for what they done to make it a most enjoyable holiday.
My wife has mobility problems and cannot walk far but this was not a problem thanks to the buggies. When going to breakfast we would phone from the room and within 10 mins they would be there to take us where we wished to go. The drivers would keep an eye open for us and would stop when ever they saw us. I would like to again thank them especially George for the trouble they went to to make it easy to get around. So anyone feeling that mobility would cause problems can go knowing that you will be well looked after.
We had a few small problems but again a call would have someone there quickly and it was put right without any fuss.
The Customer Relation staff Katherine, Tania, Mabel and others will go out of their way to help solve any issues you have. They work long hours to make sure we all enjoy our holiday. If you are returning to the PP you will find staff will remember you and greet you with genuine hand shakes and kisses. They always have a smile for everyone. They have nothing but they have everything when it comes to friendships.
Over the years that we have been coming to this hotel we have seen vast improvements due mostly to the general manager listening to guest and adding and changing. Every one seems to be highly tuned to what their guest want and go out on a limb to supply their needs and all done with a friendly happy smile. If like us you want a restful holiday and like to sit by the pool you can and get what you want to drink without moving. A barman walks around taking your order and delivers it to you. On one side of the pool there is a hotdog/burger bar and crossing over a bridge takes you to a fish and chip bar. My wife is 75 and I'm 76 years old and find the PP a perfect hotel for people of a certain age. We are Anne & George Simeon and would be happy to give you answers to any questions you may have.

Room Tip: For guest with mobility problems ground floor rooms in block 59 & 63 are the nearest to the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Playa Pesquero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Pesquero

Address: Playa Pesquero | Carretera a Guardalavaca, Rafael Freyre 11300, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Holguin Province > Rafael Freyre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rafael Freyre
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Playa Pesquero 4.5*
Number of rooms: 912
Also Known As:
Playa Pesquero Cuba
Playa Pesquero Hotel Cuba
Hotel Playa Pesquero Cuba
Hotel Playa Pesquero Holguin Province, Cuba
Playa Pesquero Holguin Cuba
Playa Pesquera
Pesquero Playa
Playa Pasquero

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Playa Pesquero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.